We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #144 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on-line using trip advisor. It turned out to be a Gem. Great location, walking distance to all attractions. Walking distance to the train station. About 1/2 hour with 5 bridges. Local stores for wine etc. We were in the annex which is about five minutes walk to the lobby along a couple of allies. Our room opened onto a beuitful canal that the gondoliers toured along, one we used because when he went down our canal he was singing. Thats another story. Use this hotel its a great place

2  Thank King_coyle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Grazie infinite, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 935 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is not a property we would stay at again. Not that it's bad, it's just not great. The room, in the Annex, was nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. It's in a great location, relatively close to Rialto Bridge, San Marco and the Grand Canal vaporetto.

However, there was foul smell eminating from the floor drain in the bathroom. We were able to exclude if from the sleeping area by closing the bathroom door and opening all the windows. That shouldn't be necessary. The breakfast was very basic and we chose to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toucantango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,
thanks for your post.

Venice is a very special city with water underneath. So sometimes it can be possible that there is some small, but it doesn't depend on us, because for us the cleaning is very important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The price-quality ratio was good for it being a hotel in Venice at this peak of the year. We booked a double room and the price (including breakfast) was of 90 euros from May 8th to May 9th. Santina the receptionist was great! Booking and confirmation was prompt. The only problem was that I felt the service was a bit unfriendly.
My train to Venice arrived late on the day of my check in, I called to ask if they could hold my reservation because I wasn't going to arrive on time and since hotels in Venice book very quickly and usually accept walk ins I wanted to avoid any cancellations. The man in the reception responded in a very sarcastic matter which bothered me.
The other person I was traveling with forgot to bring a passport and once again the man in the reception desk (not sure if it was the same one that answered my call earlier that day) was not very friendly about it.
Overall it is a nice, decent hotel with a great location and value worth your money but the service could improve a tad bit and be more welcoming to their clients.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeOdysseyTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review.

As we write when our guests book their room, our cancellation policy is 3 days before the arrival.
About the ID, for us is very important to know who is staing with us both for our clients sicurity and also because the italian low require the identification of all the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in September 2012 and found this Hotel and the staff excellent, it was great value & in a great location. We LOVED Venice and this hotel was perfect. We had great little restaurants and bars within a short walk and found we were not far from anywhere we needed to be. Breakfast was basic but fine and set us up for heading out in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louloucakes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are happy to know that we participate to make you feel at home in Venice, Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My family of 6 stayed here for two nights. Clean, comfortable and GREAT shower. Perfect location and very helpful, friendly staff. Walk from train station ~25 minutes. Highly recommend! Only drAwback was the street noise on Saturday night.

Thank lauri c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
many thanks, your opinion is significant to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the annex with our two boys. We were in a tiny room all together, but it was clean and our bathroom was very nice. The huge bonus is that it is so cheap and the location is fabulous. You can't beat it for price. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included but it isn't so appealing. It does fill the gap if you are on a super budget. There are plenty of places nearby to eat if you prefer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zowiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear guest,
we appreciate the time you spent on us and the nice words you used

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My parents and I stayed in this hotel overnight recently and had a great experience. Super affordable, helpful staff and great location. The restaurant underneath the hotel is fantastic as well. Great Pizza, good inexpensive wine. The downloadable map on tripadvisor doesn't show its correct location though so make sure you know where you are going before you get to Venice. I thought from reading the reviews that the breakfast was free, but it is not and probably worth going somewhere else. Wifi is included and worked great. All 3 of us stayed in the same room and had plenty of space.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Adam,
Thanks for your positive post.

Normally breakefast is included in the price if you book directly from our website or if you call us and book directly with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#169 of 384 in Venice
530 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#91 of 384 in Venice
575 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#146 of 384 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#130 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 384 in Venice
362 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 384 in Venice
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#127 Family Hotel in Venice
#151 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing