We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #145 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel Bernardi was a pretty good value for Venice. It's on a quiet street a little ways back from a main busy one. Not too far from the train station and major sites. The rooms were basic but clean. Wifi worked well. Only complaint was the walls were thin and sound came thru the walls. The people were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janahn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Manager at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate your post and your nice words about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    399
    156
    41
    31
See reviews for
184
394
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very happy with this hotel. It's just off the main street, about 15-20 minutes walk from the train station but also very close to the nearby water bus stop.
We had a room in the annexe (not the main building) and it was quite new, clean and pretty big for a European city. Considering the prices of other hotels in the area, I was looking for a catch as to why this was so reasonable but I couldn't find one- just good value!
Also the restaurant just across from the main hotel entrance is very good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Manager at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
all my staff and I want to thank you for the time you spent on us and for you positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for 3 nights and we had a nice experience overall. The staff is very friendly however they did not know how to recommend any good places to eat which was a little frustrating since they are locals. It's a little difficult to find because it's hidden but it's not impossible either. It's not a luxury hotel but it's nicely decorated and everything was super clean which we absolutely loved! Only bad thing was that it was very noisy, you could literally hear everything. It's relatively close to everything, just a 10 minute walk from where the main attraction area is.

Room Tip: pick the top floor, I'm guessing it'll be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmguzman_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for the time you dedicated to our hotel and thank you too for your positive words.
We are sorry about the noise, we are located in a very calm area,but Venice, as you know, is very old, and build in wood, it is very difficult to create full insonorisation, but we weill try our best to improuve it.
About the staff we always try our best to give our opinion about pubs and restaurants, we do care aboout sugesting places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and I really should gone up a notch. The place was what you’d expect given the price and location in Venice. The main thing (and this is not the hotel’s fault) was sharing the bathroom. If you’re backpacking through Italy, then this place would have been fine. But if you’re hedging between this place and somewhere else given the expense of Venice, then at least consider somewhere else. Again, I am well-travelled and this is not a major fault of the B&B. They cater to mostly back-packers/more modest travellers (which we are).

But there were a few things which we didn’t like. First, they never checked our ID when we asked for a room key. And I only saw the same person at the front desk twice (meaning I’d never seen the person before and they just gave me the key). Now I understand that this policy is fine the vast majority of the time (I’m not paranoid and fully understand that a thief wouldn’t come in to a hotel and ask for a random key in the hopes of scoring something big). But we just didn’t like this out of principle. It’s not much to ask for something, even a name, when the hotel front desk is giving a key to a room. Another thing was the noise. We were given a room facing the alleyway of the hotel entrance. There was a wine bar right across and it was fairly noisy until about midnight. Not a big deal, but was a bit annoying. And finally, one of the hotel staff gave us a recommendation to a restaurant that was unquestionably bad. She gave us a very believable schpeel about how she eats there, the staff are nice etc. She also told us to tell them (i.e. the restaurant staff) that the hotel sent us. But “only so that they treat you well. We [the hotel] don’t get anything”. We actually didn’t tell the restaurant, but they had the worst food we ate in Italy. Now we have traveled all over the world and will eat anything (and I don’t say that lightly). The food was certainly edible. But the pizza was literally the same quality as bowling alley pizza in the US. It’s funny because I was thinking it was like bowling alley pizza and my wife simultaneously thought it was like roller skate arena pizza (independently).
Along the lines of food, there is actually an outstanding local restaurant right across the little alley. It’s called Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi and was the best place we dined in during our trip in Venice (check them out on Trip Advisor).

Overall, expect what you pay for. As others have mentioned, this is Europe and small rooms are the norm. There was nothing wrong with the place and worth the price. Don’t ask for the staff’s restaurant recs (we recommend you download the Trip Advisor city app, which has excellent recs). And consider paying a bit more if you’re on the fence about this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for posting your opinion.

About the ID checking, we do check all ID and Passpotrs of all our guests (and even of they friends if they want to enter in our structure and they are not sleeping in), and, according to the Italian law, we write down all the relevant information. So we do know who is located in each room.
Moreover some clients would find rude or annoyng if they were asked their id each time they come in.

About our recommendation, we try our best to suggest nice and good places. We reccomend places where we go eating each time we go out, because we want our guest to feel satisfied at 360 degrees.
We are very sorry if you didn't like your meal, but "de gustibus non est disputandum" probably we have different tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

After the 2. night, we had to moove to an other hotel (Leonardo) becouse only we remained int he hotel, and the owners did not want to heat the hotel for only one room. OK, we understand, they told to give us a superior room in their other hotel near to this, and they will take there our bags. At the end we had to carry the bags, the room we got, was terrible stunk of cigarette smoke, so we could not sleep at all that night, although the windows were open..(in november) next thay we had to ask an other room, and moove again. Under the 5 nights we transfered 3 times. IM NOT SATISFIED WITH THIS SERVICE.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsa323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank you for the time you spent on us.

We are sorry if you had to mouve twice.

The first time, in order to thank you because of our need to close the main hotel we gave you a very nice and spacious superior room in our annex (at the same price of a standard room), which is often prefered to our main hotel,

about the second time we are sorry too, we have very strict roles about not smoking in our rooms, but sometimes some guests do not respect them and we can't control them while they are in the room. What we could do to solve the problem was to give you immediately another big and bright superior room, which is what we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

In fairness, almost everywhere is walking distance in Venice. But still, nice room, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Had an outside bath but it was only for our room. Recommended for someone visiting Venice on a budget. It was much cheaper than most places we looked at online.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Manager at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Dean,
many thanks for your post. We are happy to read that you apriciate our location, room, and breakefast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was very cheap and is located quite close to the Realto bridge - which is a really good location. I got a room on the ground floor and it just smelled really bad I think because of all the flooding water. The smell was so strong and so bad I wanted to leave the room every time I got into it. Staff at the hotel were quite rude and not very friendly. Breakfast wasn't very impressive - not much to choose from at all. Bathroom was shared and extremely tiny. The furniture in the bedroom was made of wood and was very old. This also created a lot of smell and unpleasantness. I guess this place is really sufficient if you're looking for a bed to sleep in that is in a good location and doesn't cost much.

Room Tip: I heard from other travellers that the rooms upstairs are quite okay and don't smell as bad. May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Gill,
thank for your post.
You are right, our singles rooms at the ground floor are for who wants to have a ceap place to sleep in venice.
We advise our guests that this kind of rooms are very small and at the ground floor. The room costs less than the hostel but you do not have to share it with other guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#109 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#246 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#110 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexander Hotel
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#97 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#180 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Property: Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#128 Family Hotel in Venice
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing