We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel al Piave was a great place”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #61 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Al Piave was a great location, only a few blocks from St. Mark's but was off the beaten track making it quiet. The room was excellent, great shape & clean (we stayed in a 1 BR suite since single rooms were booked). The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was terrific and included eggs & bacon as well as cereal & pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Piave
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 909 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great stay at Al Piave. Claudio (at reception desk) was VERY kind, courteous, and helpful in getting us around Venice. The room was quaint...but perfect for us in celebrating our 25th anniversary. Breakfast was delicious...location was within easy walking distance of most places... we would by all means stay here again if we return to Venice. We highly recommend...and say a special word of thanks to Claudio!!!
Bob and Libby Cunningham--Louisville, Kentucky

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice folks, good breakfast, pretty good location 5-10 minute walk from St. Mark's and St. Zaccaria vaporetto stop, room clean and everything worked well. However, room was small, bathroom and shower were tiny, and windows overlook courtyard where (sometimes) noisy guests enter their rooms (though not much of a problem after 11pm). Also, no elevator, so we needed to haul our bags down the tiny staircase for our early departure. Overall, pretty good value, but don't go here for luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judgemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our group of three couples reserved rooms at Al Piave for three nights in late September.

Pros:
Very good location near the Santa Maria Formosa piazza. We loved being up early, walking the canals, and watching the area wake up while groups of children walked to school.
The staff is exceptionally helpful - from recommending restaurants to helping arrange to mail a package to arranging for a private water taxi and a luggage porter on our departure. We loved the recommended Ristorante al Giardenetto da Severino which was around the corner.
The breakfast was very nice and had a nice selection of choices. .
There is an ATM close by although at certain times of the day it was out of cash.

Cons
The rooms are very small and the shower was even smaller in comparison. There is no elevator although a porter is available to transport luggage.
The directions provided by the hotel are somewhat difficult to follow as the route takes some twists and turns that make one question decisions along the route. It is important that each person can handle his/her own luggage as there are several sets of steps along the way.

Summary
Once you get settled, the hotel is very convenient to explore the wonders of Venice. We took the Secrets of the Doge tour, took vaporettos to Murano and Burano - both very enjoyable, took a gondola ride for 6 persons, and participated in a barcrawl recommended in Rick Steves book.

I would recommend and would return based on the location and the excellent staff.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms on the side of the hotel are quieter than those that face the front, on an alley...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Clean room, we'll appointed and a great continental breakfast. Location is good with a short 10 minute walk to St. marks square and Rialto bridge. Very nice court yard and staff were friendly. Rooms were small but by Europe standards normal. Just a warning that hotel did not have an elevator and three floors with a narrow stairwell.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had only booked a standard room and we weren't expecting much, but we were delighted with what we got! It had Venetian character but was modern, spacious and had everything we could wish for. And more - it was suitable for elderly or disabled people, being on the ground floor and the bathroom had assistance rails (however there was a small stepped bridge to cross from San Zacaria so not wheelchair accessible. But then not much of Venice is!). The room also had a mini kitchen! We booked on-line directly with the hotel and the manager was very keen to make sure everything was booked correctly - a few emails were exchanged to clarify our booking, which I appreciated.
The hotel was situated ideally for easy access from the vaporetto and to St Mark's Square and the Grand Canal.
A very enjoyable experience.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mojavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was relatively easy to find after a short walk from the ferry. Rooms were clean and decorated nicely. The family that own the hotel are wonderful too. Breakfast was included in the morning and was simple but good. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 384 in Venice
1,041 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 384 in Venice
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 384 in Venice
1,579 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#25 of 384 in Venice
908 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $145 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing