We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Hotel, Close to Everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #54 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel, Close to Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel Al Piave was an amazing find. My only regret is that we only had two nights to enjoy it. It is on the narrow Ruga Giuffa, mere meters away from Piazza Santa Maria Formosa and Querini Stampalia Museum. It is probably only 500 meters or so from Piazza San Marco, but you feel like you're a world away from the tourist crowds. You're more likely to have to dodge locals carrying bags home. It is so peaceful and quiet at night, but restaurants and shops are plentiful only a block away. But then, everything is close in Venice.

Access is easy from the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop, with only the tiny Calle Castagna bridge to traverse with your luggage. Total distance is maybe 300-400 meters.

The staff at this lovely hotel is family, and they are rightfully proud of their establishment. Our room was on the ground floor across the tiny lane from the desk. It had been recently totally refurbished for use as a handicapped accessible room, although we did not have need for that. What a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    287
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
222
407
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our family was traveling with three rooms for a special trip to Italy. My wife developed a medical situation and upon arriving at the hotel we mentioned that we needed urgent medical care. Ilaria jumped into action and showed us how to get to the hospital and even provided a personal element which we won't mention but was of great help. She got our grown kids out the door and sightseeing since they could be of no help at the hospital. Great, Great service and a nature, real level of concern. Can't say enough about them.

Also, the rooms and breakfast were very nice and the location superb. Cleanest, most well run hotel of our two week, three hotel trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDHtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here in early October 2012. I chose this place based on its location and price.

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. They helped us to our room and insisted on helping us establish places to eat as they said that they didn't want us to end up at places with dirty kitchens. We appreciated the info!

Getting here is probably the trickiest part. It isn't the easiest as it is not on a main 'street'. It is about 5-10 minutes from St.Marks Square. We took the blue line water bus from the airport to the St.Marks bus stop. From there it is not a bad walk but can be cumbersome with a lot of luggage as you must travel over the alleyways and over bridges.

HINTS:
From the airport or train station, it is about a 90 minute trip using the water bus and about 7 Euro per person. If you use a private taxi, it is less than half the time but also more in cost, about 70 Euro. The water taxi can bring you significantly closer, only a minute or so walk from the hotel compared to the bus. It is your preferance. We took the water bus to the hotel, and the taxi from the hotel to the train station. Both efficient, just varies in time and cost.

Pros To Hotel
*Nice rooms. In typical European fashion they are not large, but we had a large bed, small terrace, and a bathroom with well working plumbing and good water pressure
*Friendly/helpful staff
*Short walk from St.Marks Square
*Many places to eat nearby
*On a quiet alleyway that is less traveled
*Good breakfast in morning

Cons to Hotel
*it can be hard to find, especially if you are coming from the water bus. Be sure to take the directions off the website from you, they are very helpful
*if you have difficulty moving around or lifting, the distance may be an issue if you plan to walk with luggage. There are several small bridges to pass over
*There is no elevator, only a small staircase to the rooms

We would stay here again for sure if returning to Venice. We had a great experience met with friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Crazynello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We moved to this hotel after leaving the Ca Malipiero. The location is almost equal between San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. The room we took was in a recently remodeled building across a small alley from the main building. The room was on the fourth floor (401) and was simply delightful. Very quiet, ac if desired and very nicely decorated. There was a lift from the ground floor and a flight of stairs to reach the room. The room was quite large with a great bathroom, two windows with shutters and a large comfortable bed. The ceiling had what appeared to be original beams that had been reinforced. The breakfast room was located in the main building and was pleantiful. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the room we had which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissouriRetired08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My only problem with this hotel was that when I decided I wanted to stay in Venice for an extra day, they were unable to extend my booking because they were fully booked :-( What they did instead was to call other hotels in the neighbourhood until they found one that had a room at a reasonable price, they then carried my luggage for me to the new hotel. Needless to say the family who own the hotel and all their staff were just lovely. The hotel itself is in a great location, a very short walk to San Marco and close to Rialto Bridge. I had a single room which was very small but hey, I was in Venice and out all day, the room was clean and the bed comfortable, breakfasts were great with lovely strong, fresh coffee. Definitely highly recommended and also a reasonable price for Venice which is not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My friends and I enjoyed a stay here September 2012 Great Central location for exploring the city. Wonderful value for price, the breakfast was exceptional. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, even to the point of making multiple trips to get all of our luggage to meet the water taxi that would take us to the train station. The hotel maintained its old world charm yet provided the luxury of completely updated bathrooms.

Room Tip: Should offer a not applicable on fitness room and pool. Since there is no elevator recommend rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniehamilton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights while exploring Venice with our 8 year old son. We (4 of us) shared a 'family' suite - two bedrooms and one bathroom.

Hotel is excellently situated. well run and clean. As usual with central European city hotels it is cosy, and no lift so aim for lower floors if you struggle with stairs.

Good breakfast (son loves scrambles eggs) and very helpful staff. Minutes walking from St Marks etc.

The Hotel also has a couple of local apartments and we overheard some people staying in one saying it was spacious....maybe!

Overall a great place to stay and reasonably priced for a good central hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpIntlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#55 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#22 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#77 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#45 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Property: Hotel Al Piave
Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing