We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find-But Worth the Search”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #60 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here in early October 2012. I chose this place based on its location and price.

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. They helped us to our room and insisted on helping us establish places to eat as they said that they didn't want us to end up at places with dirty kitchens. We appreciated the info!

Getting here is probably the trickiest part. It isn't the easiest as it is not on a main 'street'. It is about 5-10 minutes from St.Marks Square. We took the blue line water bus from the airport to the St.Marks bus stop. From there it is not a bad walk but can be cumbersome with a lot of luggage as you must travel over the alleyways and over bridges.

HINTS:
From the airport or train station, it is about a 90 minute trip using the water bus and about 7 Euro per person. If you use a private taxi, it is less than half the time but also more in cost, about 70 Euro. The water taxi can bring you significantly closer, only a minute or so walk from the hotel compared to the bus. It is your preferance. We took the water bus to the hotel, and the taxi from the hotel to the train station. Both efficient, just varies in time and cost.

Pros To Hotel
*Nice rooms. In typical European fashion they are not large, but we had a large bed, small terrace, and a bathroom with well working plumbing and good water pressure
*Friendly/helpful staff
*Short walk from St.Marks Square
*Many places to eat nearby
*On a quiet alleyway that is less traveled
*Good breakfast in morning

Cons to Hotel
*it can be hard to find, especially if you are coming from the water bus. Be sure to take the directions off the website from you, they are very helpful
*if you have difficulty moving around or lifting, the distance may be an issue if you plan to walk with luggage. There are several small bridges to pass over
*There is no elevator, only a small staircase to the rooms

We would stay here again for sure if returning to Venice. We had a great experience met with friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Crazynello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 926 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We moved to this hotel after leaving the Ca Malipiero. The location is almost equal between San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. The room we took was in a recently remodeled building across a small alley from the main building. The room was on the fourth floor (401) and was simply delightful. Very quiet, ac if desired and very nicely decorated. There was a lift from the ground floor and a flight of stairs to reach the room. The room was quite large with a great bathroom, two windows with shutters and a large comfortable bed. The ceiling had what appeared to be original beams that had been reinforced. The breakfast room was located in the main building and was pleantiful. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the room we had which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissouriRetired08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My only problem with this hotel was that when I decided I wanted to stay in Venice for an extra day, they were unable to extend my booking because they were fully booked :-( What they did instead was to call other hotels in the neighbourhood until they found one that had a room at a reasonable price, they then carried my luggage for me to the new hotel. Needless to say the family who own the hotel and all their staff were just lovely. The hotel itself is in a great location, a very short walk to San Marco and close to Rialto Bridge. I had a single room which was very small but hey, I was in Venice and out all day, the room was clean and the bed comfortable, breakfasts were great with lovely strong, fresh coffee. Definitely highly recommended and also a reasonable price for Venice which is not cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My friends and I enjoyed a stay here September 2012 Great Central location for exploring the city. Wonderful value for price, the breakfast was exceptional. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, even to the point of making multiple trips to get all of our luggage to meet the water taxi that would take us to the train station. The hotel maintained its old world charm yet provided the luxury of completely updated bathrooms.

Room Tip: Should offer a not applicable on fitness room and pool. Since there is no elevator recommend rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonniehamilton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights while exploring Venice with our 8 year old son. We (4 of us) shared a 'family' suite - two bedrooms and one bathroom.

Hotel is excellently situated. well run and clean. As usual with central European city hotels it is cosy, and no lift so aim for lower floors if you struggle with stairs.

Good breakfast (son loves scrambles eggs) and very helpful staff. Minutes walking from St Marks etc.

The Hotel also has a couple of local apartments and we overheard some people staying in one saying it was spacious....maybe!

Overall a great place to stay and reasonably priced for a good central hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpIntlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you planning to stay in such a fantastic city as Venice is and want to enjoy of really middle ages atmosphere and not to pay more than 200 Euros per night for the nicely decorated (really Venetian style) room - make a reservation at Al Piave. You will never forget such a beautiful experience.
It is located right in the middle of best Venice area, very close to Rialto and the same distance to San Marco, but - not in the tourist' walking ways.
The interior is amazing, the service is above super ( Claudio is one of those who makes this service such a high level: kindly responsive, polite and extremely helpful, the cleanness is also
at it's best and breakfast is unbelievably good (usually, the breakfast is very ordinary at the hotels).
We have been staying at Al Piave for 8 nights and I would say they were my best days and nights of the year. Probably, because of Venice is my love forever but having such a hotel with such a service you are going to start to love Venice even more,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexTUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Al Piave was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was great and so helpful with ideas of where to go and what prices were good for paying for a Gondola ride. They made reservations for us for dinner, arranged a private taxi from the hotel to the airport early in the morning. They spoke with other couples also needing a private taxi to the airport and coordinated with the taxi driver and the other couples, which helped reduce the cost from $130/ couple (single couple) to $40 a couple with 4 couples. The morning that we left, they had packed a breakfast bag for us to take with us on the water taxi, filled with juices, water, bananas, cookies etc. It was a wonderul treat and so thoughtful of them at 5am!!!
It was clean, had A/C, quiet, had free wifi which was a treat to find especially that is actually worked and we could recieve emails!! Directions to the hotel was great and so helpful. The continential breakfast was delicious with the fresh cresents, scrammbled eggs, fresh fruit, cappacino's etc.We would stay there again and will recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajuns44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,109 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,081 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 385 in Venice
922 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $131 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing