We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FLAWLESS ...”
Review of Hotel San Samuele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Samuele
Ranked #99 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Obviously when your trip is not paid for by your employer, there is no harm to watch for your budget, especially when you're visiting a city known to be pricey such as Venice. Doing just that, I ended-up at the San Samuele hotel.

Well, this hotel offers all the major requirements you may be looking for and then some more. Its location is unbeatable, the 12 rooms have different sizes, so don't worry, you will be accommodated based on what you wish for and with your budget in mind.

Hot tea and coffee are made available for the guests in a common area. Books about Venice, the Venetto are also available as a courtesy for your use during your stay. They are in several languages. If you have not bought a Venice guide yet, do not even bother doing it.

Wifi is available in your room at no additional charge, and you even have a Desk Top computer in the common area for your convenience.

Last but not least, this hotel is manned by an exceptionally Customer Service - oriented team. Judith, the owner, a true hospitality professional and fantastic polyglot, along with her so-friendly team reserve a personable, cheerful and warm welcome to every guest. On your day of arrival, As soon as you reach the hotel to check-in, you're already a member of the family.

Judith is a wealth of information and, either she or one of her Reception Desk crew, will provide you with plenty of useful information and hints that will ease your visit to this amazing city.

Here is a quick hint they shared with me ... Alex Hai, the first ever female gondolier will offer (if you book through the San Samuele) a deal you do not want to miss. Don't do your gondolier tour before you talk to them at the reception desk. I did it and I loved it! Alex was full of information about Venice!

I shall return.

Noureddine
from New York City

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zimbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Noureddine,

thank you so much for the lovely, accurate and detailed review you left us!
It's one of the nicest ones we've read so far and we're so happy because you've perfectly described the atmosphere you breath once you become a “member of the family”. Yes, we love sharing information with our guests, making their stay as much enjoyable as possible. We love to give tips on what's hot to see, the perfect gondola tour to take, we are happy to offer wifi free connections and a laptop for anything guests may want to know.
Thank you again.
Hoping to see you in the future, we remain
kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Samuele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank 1957_Jon_C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned to UK after spending 3 nights in the Hotel San Samuele and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reasonably priced hotel in a great location for a short break. Although the hotel is in a quiet area it is within easy walking distance of many attractions such as St Mark's Square, Rialto Bridge and Accademia. It is also well located for access to Vaporetto stops and there are plenty of reasonably priced cafes, bars and restaurants on the doorstop so if you have explored all day you don't need to venture too far for dinner or breakfast!
Our double room with en-suite was simple and compact but extremely clean and comfortable with ample hot water, towels and heating. There are no frills such as in room coffee/tea making facilities or fridge which would have been a bonus but are not really necessary for a short stay. However, complimentary tea and coffee was available in the reception area during the reception opening hours and customers have access to a fridge and microwave if needed. There was also free Wi-Fi which worked very well.
Apart from the great location the other great thing about our stay at the San Samuele was the helpfulness and friendliness of the hotel staff. They made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to provide information about local events, restaurants and tips on the best and quickest way to get to certain places. For the price we paid we felt we got great value from this hotel and would definitely return there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
it was such a pleasure having you at the San Samuele Hotel, thank you so much for the kind review you left us, because it not only underlines the fact that the hotel has a perfect central location, with most attractions within a walking distance, but mostly because you've rewarded our job, our way to deal with guests which is exactly as you've described it.
We love making your stay a complete success and we try to give all possible news and information that can help and ease the guests' stay.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

It's not only about the rooms or the hotel, that is a very nice place...I would like to say thank you to all the incredible staff that work there, that has made my overnight in Venice fantastic, troughs little helps and a very lovely service..they made it magic, of course I will book there again!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Il_Pirata_Innamorato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Andrea,

thanks so much for the lovely note you left us, it's such a rewarding comment!
We're happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and will be delighted to have you here soon again.

Best regards

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Albergo San Samuele in Venice, January 2014. Convenient location in San Marco, clean rooms and common areas, and Judith (owner) and Lucia were very helpful. Lucia spent at least 20 minutes telling us about the surrounding areas, giving advice, and marking a map for us. Thank you!

The facilities are adequate, but we did have to deal with some minor problems - leaky shower door, room door didn't latch correctly, low water pressure in sink.

WiFi worked well, and it was nice to have 2 small common areas in the hotel to relax, read, and eat outside of our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Dane,

thank you so much for this note; we are happy to read that you had a great time here at the Hotel San Samuele, despite a few little things that did not work properly.
We've now fixed the shower, no more leaking and managed to fix the door which now closes perfectly.
Thank you for letting us know, that helped a lot.
We've been delighted to have you here, and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had a fantastic time here. I am on an extended trip, so I didn't want to spend a whole lot of money on a room, which is easy to do in Venice. The location of the San Samuele is fantastic. It's right in the heart of the San Marco district and exceedingly close to the Galerie dell'Accademia. The San Samuele is not fancy, by any means, but it has exactly what I needed. A comfortable bed, a nice bathroom and really good, free wifi. Plus the staff, Judith and Lucia, were so wonderful. Judith took at least 15-20 minutes to tell me about suggestions on where to visit, where to eat, when I checked in. It was the personalized attention that made this stay so worthwhile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loneostrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you so much for this enthusiastic note you've left us, we really appreciate it.
We are happy to read that you had a great time here at the Hotel San Samuele; as you said it offers all sorts of services, like the free wifi connection, a guest might be interested to have.
We love our job, it's always a pleasure helping someone getting to understand the city, its services, how to move in it, what to see or eat, so, we are happy to understand we've done our job the right way. Thank you.

Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very good accommodation, friendly staff, close to St. Marco Sq. Walking distance to the St. Marco Sq is about 10 minutes.
The area is very nice, close to restaurants, shops.
I would recommend this accommodation for everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Kristell,

Thank you so much for this kind note you've left, we really appreciate it.
We are happy to read that you had a great time here at the Hotel San Samuele, which is nothing fancy but has all what guests need, which means also a friendly staff helping with a map!
We've been delighted to have you here, and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#130 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 384 in Venice
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 384 in Venice
610 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 384 in Venice
806 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#146 of 384 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Samuele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Samuele

Address: Salizzada San Samuele | San Marco 3358, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $62 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Samuele 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albergo San Samuele is located in the heart of Venice, near the Rialto bridge and the Accademia and very close to the Palazzo Grassi. It is just five minutes walking from St. Mark's Square, in a quiet central position. Hotel San Samuele provides a friendly atmosphere with pleasant simple clean budget rooms many of which are sunny, with fans in summer. The rooms are quiet and overlook a typical street or an inside small court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Samuele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Samuele Hotel Venice
San Samuele Venice
San Samuele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing