We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and a GREAT location”
Review of Hotel San Samuele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Samuele
Ranked #100 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Albergo San Samuele. The location of the hotel was awesome. We were close to the waterbus stop and 10-15min walking distance to all the major attractions we had wanted to see during our stay. Upon arriving, we were greeted warmly and were given a map and explanation of the city and how to get to the places we wanted to see. We were also given suggestions on where to eat and go out for the night. All of which made the trip that much more fun and enjoyable. The staff also welcomed our dog and were very accommodating. Overall, we couldn't have picked a better hotel that was affordable, centrally located, with a helpful and welcoming staff. We would highly recommend staying here on a trip to Venice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsaymk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

THANK YOU sooo much for the lovely note you left us, it was great having you here and hope you'll join us again soon.
Thank you for the lovely description you gave about the hotel, its great central position not too far away from the major attractions everybody wants to see on their trips.
Thanks for the kind words you reserved to our staff, it's amazingly rewarding when you know you've done your job well! Thank you.

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Samuele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 487 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I were pleased with our choice to stay at Albergo San Samuele in Venice! It was a convenient short walk from the vapporetto stop and had restaurants and shopping nearby plus was close to St. Mark's Square. We travel light so didn't have trouble carrying our bags up 2 flights of stairs since there is no lift. Being October it was not crowded so we never had to wait for the shared bathroom or shower. Our room #6 had corner windows overlooking the street with evening noise from the corner restaurant which closed early enough to not be a problem for sleeping. The rotating reception staff were very helpful and they had coffee ready each morning. The free Wifi worked consistently well in our room and there was a computer in the reception are for guest use. We would stay here again and highly recommend this location for visitors to Venice!

Room Tip: Room #6 had 2 corner windows with a nice view of the street below.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear MaryLou,

thank you so much for the lovely note you left us.
It's always a great pleasure to know that our hotel and the services offered met our guests expectations.
Thank you for the kind words you reserved to us. Hoping to welcoming you soon again,
we remain.

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Albergo San Samuele in Venice. It's just a short walk from the San Samuele vapporetto stop and within easy walking distance to St Marks Square and other points of interest. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room with private bath, was very nice with a lovely Murano glass chandelier. If you stay there, don't miss the chance for a gondola ride with Venice's first female gondolier, Alexandra Hai. We highly recommend Albergo San Samuele, and hope to visit again someday. Dory - Meridian, ID, USA

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottndory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Dory,

thank you so much for the lovely note you left us.
It's always a great pleasure to know that our hotel and the services offered met our guests expectations.
Thank you for the kind words you reserved to the hotel staff. Hoping to welcoming you soon again,
kind regards.

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. Stayed seven nights, in the city for the Biannual art exhibits, traveling with an academic colleague. Great location, especially for arriving with luggage, only a few minutes "rolling" from the boat dock. You must be alert to building numbers to locate the doorway, only a globe light sign with the hotel name on it high overhead. Once established it is an easy colorful walk to wherever. Carry your map! We had room #6, double with two twin beds, wash sink in corner, no AC, but a large fan was provided- we did not need it. Fair size corner room with two large windows on two walls. Some late night street noise from cafe below. No pesky bugs in the air. This room was a shared bathroom.(2-3 rooms?) However, I experienced no problems with access when I wanted it, in fact, never did come face to face with other guests. I ended up feeling comfortable enough to walk the few steps back to our room with only a towel around my waist. I thought the very small bathroom was kept in clean condition, with a new or replacement floor towel to take care of the water spills. Yes, you can occasionally hear the other guests in hallway or their rooms. And since I talk with a loud voice, I am sure they could hear me too. Hotel is more a Euro pensione type establishment, located on upper floor in an old building occupied by other tenants? No lift, so you must navigate some steep stone stairs to the reception hall. Revolving staff was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival they gave us orientation with map as to where to go and their own on-target recommendations. The hotel does not serve breakfast, but did have a coffee pot perking in the morning. Refrig for guests to store munchies. Free use of house PC computer in tiny seating area. Free WiFi in all rooms. Plenty of places to eat within minutes. Did a lot of walking and boat travel on 72 hour passes. One day just rode the boat route around the entire island, and out to the Lido, just to look around, and to see and get an overall view of Venice. I plan to return to the San Sammy in two years on my next biennale visit to Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airstreampilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

we love it “San Sammy” so much, nobody had ever named us like that and we looove it! Well we all would like to say a big thank you for this great note you left us, for having had lovely words to describe our job and the services offered by the hotel. You perfectly described the way the hotel is, easy going, clean, in a friendly context. We would love to have you here with us next time.. and next time you'll find a brand new lift waiting for you!
Kind regards

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

You can't beat the location. The bed was very comfortable and overall it was a cute place to stay.

But I have to say, the room I had was TINY! Also, the door was very noisy. I felt bad, every time we opened the door it was incredibly loud and it echoed through the hallway.

The bathroom that several rooms have to share was a decent size, but it had some problems. The shower door doesn't close all the way. Because of this, after each person showered, water would end up all over the floor. It created a huge mess in the bathroom. Also, its a shame that so many rooms have to share a bathroom. by the time we were able to actually have a turn in to shower there was no more hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Stephanie,

thank you for the note you left us, although we regret we could not be of more help.
We perfectly understand that sharing a common bath with other guests is not the easiest thing but we really do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. Sometimes it happens that when all rooms are booked people have to queue a bit but we never had problems with hot water.
Thank you for pointing out the problem with your room door, we've already fixed it as well as the shower one. Thank you for that.
We hope you enjoyed the city, the hotel is in a central quiet position and at a stone's throw to the major attractions and monuments.

Best regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long wkd, wanted somewhere in Central Venice that was clean without spending a fortune and this fit the brief.
Hotel is in excellent location 10 mins to St Marks Square and 20 mins to Rialto bridge ( if don't get lost which we did often)!
Near to San Angelo and San Samuele vaperetto stops so great for getting around.
Booked a room with a private bathroom, was charming and clean but basic, if you are expecting a luxury boutique you will be dissapointed but if want a homely base near all the attractions it is great. Staff were extremely helpful, they have a hairdrier avaliable on request, and you can use fridge in reception, they also provide ice and bucket on request free of charge-perfect for Prosecco in your room.

from airport is an hr transfer on yellow aguililara (16 eur one way) and 2 min walk from San Angelo stop.

Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and cafés for breakfast. Venice is expensive but if stay away from main tourist areas can eat reasonably.
Recommend street food such as calzone/ pizza slices etc,and for 5 eur had amazing fried fish and rosemary potatoes from a stall near the Santa Maria gloriosa die Frai. Also ate near here one night at an Italian restaurant called Frai.
everyone drinks Spritz ( Prosecco and aperol topped with soda water- delicious) and found a great bar called caffe in the square near st Barnaba ( just over academia bridge), where most drinks were 2-3 eur.
I would recommend buying a vapoetto ticket (18 eur for 12 hrs) and can just hop on and off, unless you get one heading for the islands ( lido or Murano) they all go up grande Canale and around Venice so is nice to stay on and see the city from
the water. Even if get on wrong one, they are frequent so not really an problem.
Visited Murano ( get vaperetto from San Zacharia stop near st Marks) was nice but not much there, just a smaller quiter version of Venice).

We booked before leaving home tickets to the opera at the Scuola grande do San Giovanni evangelista. was well worth it, and a lovely evening out, so well worth looking if any concerts on while you are there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Iluvcyprus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for the lovely note you left us. It's always a great pleasure to know that our hotel and the services it offers meets our guests expectations. Thank you for the kind words you reserved to the hotel staff. We're happy you had the chance to visit all major monuments and islands also enjoying a concert at the Scuola Grande di S.G. Evangelista! We really hope you'll visit us again some day, in the meantime,

kind regards

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

First of all, some of the previous reviewers (the negative) ones need to get with it! Some are saying this is a long way from San Marco?!! It is literally a 2-3 minute stroll to the centre of San Marco Square!! We stayed here 3 nights in early October. This is a small hotel (more like a B&B if honest) and was very reasonably priced in what is generally a very expensive city. The staff here are incredibly friendly and speak very good english. There was no lift and no one to help us with our bags on arrival which was a little disappointing, but once in reception the lady gave us a map and tips for getting around, invited us to use the communal fridge, plates/cutlery, breakfast bar and showed us to our room. Throughout our stay they were happy to help and make reservations at restaurants etc.
Our hotel room was an ok size and adequate for the price. We had a private bathroom which was nice and was a good size with good shower pressure (almost too good!). The bed was a good size and very comfortable as well. Our room did not have a good view and was poorly lit (Room 8). Also....i'm not sure if the hotel is aware of this, but our room was directly across from what seemed to be a busy office/reception and we had absolutely no privacy due to the curtains/drapes being see-through! We feel this needs to be rectified. The cleaners were excellent and not only cleaned the rooms, but also tidied everything up which was nice. They also offer a laundry service and did a full load of clothes for us for 10 euro, which was MILES cheaper than taking them to a dry cleaner!! The main negative of our stay would have to be the noise. The walls were very thin and despite a number of signs in the hotel asking people to be quiet after 11pm we still found people being very noisy in the corridors, but this was not the worst part.......While we were staying there was some sort of construction work going on in the building and we get woken every morning at about 8am to the IMMENSE sound of drilling and hammering. I mean REALLY REALLY loud!! I am sure this is not a permanent thing, but it did make mornings in the room very unpleasant. Overall it was a good stay and the staff provided excellent service. If the noise could be be improved we would most definitely stay here on our return to Venice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Campelo/Salizzada
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for the kind review you left us, and we wish to apologize for the noise that disturbed you so much during your stay. We had building works going on and unfortunately, despite making all efforts, drilling and hammering were, as you said, quite annoying. Sorry for that.
We are very happy instead to read that your holiday here was a success, that you enjoyed the services offered, the friendly staff and had the chance to visit all major attractions.
Sorry about the lift, next time you decide to book at Hotel San Samuele, you'll find a brand-new lift waiting for you!

Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#102 of 385 in Venice
428 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 385 in Venice
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 385 in Venice
609 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 385 in Venice
804 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#143 of 385 in Venice
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Samuele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Samuele

Address: Salizzada San Samuele | San Marco 3358, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#112 Family Hotel in Venice
#119 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $61 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Samuele 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albergo San Samuele is located in the heart of Venice, near the Rialto bridge and the Accademia and very close to the Palazzo Grassi. It is just five minutes walking from St. Mark's Square, in a quiet central position. Hotel San Samuele provides a friendly atmosphere with pleasant simple clean budget rooms many of which are sunny, with fans in summer. The rooms are quiet and overlook a typical street or an inside small court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Samuele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Samuele Hotel Venice
San Samuele Venice
San Samuele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing