We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!”
Review of Hotel San Samuele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Samuele
Ranked #92 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had never been to Venice and had no clue how it all worked. But this hotel was just a minute walk from the vaporetto stop and very easy to find! Both the proprietors were really lovely women and they gave us so much help - everything from showing us how to get around on the map, to where some good local restaurants were, to how to catch a VERY early flight home. They were fantastic! Our room was lovely, as well. Private bathroom, a window that opened up onto the street below, a quiet fan to keep us cool, etc. the room was very clean, as well. We'd definitely book with them again!

Room Tip: We had room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkats_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

what a terrific review you left us! :)
THANK YOU, this note made our day! We're happy your first time in Venice was a successful one, we are happy we helped you making it a success, we love giving our guest all possible good information to get around the city, restaurant advice and so on. We are extremely happy you felt like home and that your room was as comfortable and clean as you expected it to be.
We will be happy to have you here again,
many thanks,
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 503 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here very tired after a music festival in Croatia so just wanted to settle in get a shower as soon as possible and was very happy we could find the hotel fine and the room to be ready on arrival, staff were very friendly too and gave some good information on places to see and eat in. I would stay in this hotel again, Venice is absolutely amazing. Great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you so much for this lovely review you left us. It's always a great reward reading such positive notes. We are happy to read that you had a great time here at the Hotel San Samuele, which is nothing fancy but has all what guests need, which means also a friendly staff helping with a map!
We've been delighted to have you here, and hope to see you soon again! Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was at this hotel back in 1999 and had booked it again this year based on what I remembered, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it even better. Firstly, the location is great because it's a short walk from the vaporetto stop. The hotel itself is cute, charming, safe, and clean. The owner/staff are friendly and helpful! The street was quiet but we were still only a short walk from everything we wanted to see and do. The price was great too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Marco,

it was a pleasure having you as our guest, we really appreciate your lovely note and we love the ecpression: this is what I needed! So kind of you.
We would be honored to having you here soon again,
kind regards

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel staff are very helpful and very friendly. The bed was confortable, room was immaculate. Location is good as you are just 1/2 block from the vaporetto-water bus. Hotel was nice but lacked air conditioning. We had a fan. That was our error. Because it is Venice, the room lacked light. The streets are so narrow you just do not get a lot of light.
The hotel was good.
The trip was ruined by the purse snatcher, which are rampant and everyone seem to think its no big deal thus you will see purses on the ground where the thieves have discarded them. I am not niave. But there were four of us who never saw the guy in the ridiculously expensive restaurant nor did the restaurant staff who dont care because there is so much stealing. The vaporettos are overcrowded and the pickpockets love to rip you off on there as well. The crowds in Venice are thick and the criminals are everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trackstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
so sorry your holiday was ruined by these poor people who seem to have nothing better to do. Unfortunately thieves pick-pocketing are big problem in Venice, above all in overcrowded vaporettos and some particularly trafficated streets.
Thanks for the kind words you left on the hotel, we were happy you enjoyed our company and the services offered. Hoping in a new occasion to welcome you, kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was in a pretty good area, nice and quiet but still near bars and restaurants, but no views of any canals.
Overall the stay was great, most staff were friendly although the man working there in the afternoon could have been friendlier. For example once we asked what to do with glasses we wereborrowed /where to leave them and he reacted as if we were hassling him greatly , taking them off us without saying anything when we were just trying to be polite.
Anyway, most other times staff were overly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funbar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this note of yours and for having appreciated the services offered, the great hotel location and the lovely area surrounding it. We would like to apologize for the guy who seems not having been that polite to you, we are sure he didn't mean to be, still we are sorry for the inconvenience.
Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed only one night in august. I've got a lovely room (no 11) with its own bathroom (other rooms have access to shared bathroom). The hotel is close to Piazza San Marco (just 10-15minutes walk). The room appeared to be newly renovated, and the bathroom as well. Everywhere in the hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Rember, the room no 11 is excelent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
many thanks, this is a lovely note. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you'll visit us soon again.
Best regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is small and not very roomy. The beds were a little stiff and there is no air conditioning, just an oscillating fan.

The hospitality was accommodating to our schedule. We did not arrive until close to midnight but called ahead to warn them of our travel plans. When we got there they let us in and gave us a key to our room.

Overall, just an OK hotel (I have experienced worse). It suited our needs for a small private bathroom and shower, a bed, and a little security. The price you pay is more than what you get. Not a value hotel, but all of Venice is a little pricey.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Njmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear guest,
thanks for this note you kindly left us. Let us state anyway, that despite not having very large rooms, with no air conditioning at the moment, all services offered are usually highly appreciated, from fair rates, to clean and tidy rooms, to staff politeness. All in all, this pricey Venice, offers good quality and lovely places to stay. Have a good day,
Hotel San Samulele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#118 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
830 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#104 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#94 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Samuele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Samuele

Address: Salizzada San Samuele | San Marco 3358, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $56 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Samuele 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albergo San Samuele is located in the heart of Venice, near the Rialto bridge and the Accademia and very close to the Palazzo Grassi. It is just five minutes walking from St. Mark's Square, in a quiet central position. Hotel San Samuele provides a friendly atmosphere with pleasant simple clean budget rooms many of which are sunny, with fans in summer. The rooms are quiet and overlook a typical street or an inside small court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Samuele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Samuele Hotel Venice
San Samuele Venice
San Samuele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing