We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good effort but not quite there”
Review of Hotel San Samuele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Samuele
Ranked #95 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The staff do well with their resources, however, when you are doing your holiday to Venice, you want something that enhances your experience, and unfortunately this hotel does not achieve this.

The first receptionist was lovely and accommodating, as were the housekeepers. However, the service was let down by the presence of an unwelcoming and unaccommodating gentleman who was not only rude, but informed me that they do not provide a personal service at this hotel when I asked for boiling water for a hot water bottle. I found the way he spoke to me exceptionally rude and as a result, we checked out a day early.

The rooms are very basic, however quite clean and nice enough. Unfortunately, the shared bathroom is literally a single shower and toilet provided for seven or eight rooms (not several facilities as I thought with most guesthouses/hostels). Also, the hotel is nowhere near San Marco's Square, especially if you don't know your way around Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not posh but quaint, clean and comfortable. Room was a decent size for 3 and en-suite bathroom looked fairly new. No air conditioning but they provided fans which worked just fine. Great location and convenient - very close to San Samuele water bus stop which will take you anywhere you need to go in Venice. Staff is very friendly. Great value. Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for this beautiful review an for recommending us so warmly.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that the bathroom, the fans were fine.
Our location is one of our strenght, we are close to the vaporetto stop and also to St.Mark’s square which you can reach also walking.
Your words convey a lot of enthusiasm and satisfaction, which is also our.
Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have stayed at San Samuele on a number of occasions over a ten-year period, and have always been very happy there. It is ideal for a short break - nothing fancy, but it's clean, nicely decorated and in an excellent position. It's easily accessible from either the San Samuele or San Angelo vaporetto stops. Our recent trip (August 2012) was no different - we had rooms at the front which were light and airy, with beautifully-kept window boxes to add a bit more colour. The staff are very friendly and very happy to help. Although there is no breakfast at the hotel, there are some nice bars a short walk away at San Stefano which serve all you need for a continental breakfast. In short, it's excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Stephen,
we are glad that your journey in our hotel has been pleasant and that you returned many times in our hotel, always finding the good quality and the value that rapresent us.
You described very well our strenght points: the location, the value and the staff. These aspects are very important for us.
Thank you so much for all words you spent for us, we’ll wait you open arms for your return.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Superb value, excellent service. very friendly staff. I am a frequent leisure+business traveller and have stayed in over 150 hotels across the world. I have no reservations in saying that this hotel is one of the best values in Venice. A few words of praise about the hotel. First, the location of the hotel is fantastic - just a few steps from two major water bus stops - San Samuele (line 2) and San Angelo (line 1), few meters from Accademia and about a km from St. Mark's square. It is located in a beautiful but quiet neighborhood. Campielo Morsini (large piazza or square) is just a few steps away with lots of dining and fast food options. Upon our arrival the person at the front desk gave us a quick overview of things to do in Venice, where to find good and relatively inexpensive food, how to get around easily, etc. - overall extremely valuable "insider" information. They also gave us a free upgrade to a triple room from a double with extra bed (3 of us were staying), which was a nice gesture. The room was super spacious (about 250 sq ft) with two large windows - lots of light and fresh air. Also had lots of storage; bathroom was very clean; there was daily room service and change of towels, if requested. The hotel staff always greeted us and were ready to help with everything. Before ending the review, it would be worthwhile to mention that this and most hotels on the islands of Venice are budget hotels - meaning they will not have a/c, swimming pools, bar, etc - amenities that are usually available in 4 or 5 star hotels. If you are looking for a great value hotel with great service which is just a few paces from the major attractions in Venice, this is the place. Overall, Albergo San Samuele made our stay in Venice exceptionally memorable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL0BETR0TT3R_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for this fantastic review and the time you spent to write it.
We are very happy to read your stay has been successful.
It’s a pleasure to read that you consider our hotel one of the best values in Venice since you stayed in so many different hotels across the world. It’s a fantastic compliment for us.
We agree with you about the position of our hotel: we are close to the waterbus stops and at a short distance to St.Mark’s Square and many highlights of Venice.
Our staff is always at your disposal and give all the information you might need during your stay, with some “insider” tips.
Thanks also for recommending us so warmly.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

when rating an inn type hotel one must remember not to compare to large chain hotels so that is why I would give this place 4 stars for a Venice inn. The location was just a few minutes from the S.Samuele water bus stop. The hosts spoke pretty good English and gave us detailed directions how to get to the hotel, drew us the routes to attractions, shopping' etc. When we arrived we were very hungry but were told most places were not open at that time but Renalto called a place right around the corner and made a reservation and when we arrived the waitress was waiting outside and welcomed us in. Check out was before our train departure time so they checked our luggage and we explored a few hours more. We stayed in room 10. The room was ok but the bathroom was BRAND new.
My cons for this inn - i believe for security reasons they made us bring the key to the desk upstairs each time we left which seemed strange. There was no A/C and the temp was in the 90S F but they did provide a fan.

Room Tip: Room 10 had a brand new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for this beautiful review.
Reading that you consider our hotel as a 4 stars hotel is a fantastic compliment for us since our hotel has just one star.
Our strategic location is certainly helpful and the magic of this wonderful city does the rest.
There are so many things to do and places to visit, and we love to suggest our guests and give them advices to explore the city.
It’s a real pleasure to us to share our love for Venice with all our guests.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I selected this location based on the reviews I read, and we were very happy wih my choice! The location was a very short and direct walk from the vaporetto stop on San Samuele, with a delightful corner bar just steps away from the front door, perfect for late night nightcaps and early morning coffee, and a small store opposite if you prefer to prepare your own. Walk to Plaza San Marco was about 10 minutes (if you don't windowshop or wander for the fun of it although that is really what you should do in Venice). Very clean and comfortable room, even in July the lack of an AC was not a problem - windows open and a fan were enough to sleep well. The bathroom appointments were fine, much better than I had feared based on a couple of other reviews, and better than the 3 star hotel we had just stayed at in Florence. Wakeup calls were a polite knock on the door, reception is staffed 24 hours a day wth very polite and helpful employees.

Room Tip: Only negative - no lift, so ask for the lower rooms if this would be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Debbie,

we are happy that you chose our hotel for the reviews that our guests left in Tripadvisor. It’s a pleasure to read that you were happy with our choice and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is one of our strenght, as well as the fantastic staff and the cleaning of the rooms. We always provide a great service, but mantaining our prices competitives.
We put so much passion into everything we do and we always give the best for all of our guests and your feedback gratifies us once more.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in July and had a great stay. The owners are lovely and are very helpful and attentive. The room was very comfortable. Location was perfect short walk to all major spots. Great value for money Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arielle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Arielle,
we are delighted to read that your 3 nights stay in our hotel has been very pleasant.
Thanks for this beautiful review and for recommending us.
We really appreciate all your compliments, for the rooms, the location, the value and the words you spent for our work.
Thanks again.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#127 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 387 in Venice
465 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#106 of 387 in Venice
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,034 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#108 of 387 in Venice
633 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#102 of 387 in Venice
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Samuele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Samuele

Address: Salizzada San Samuele | San Marco 3358, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $52 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Samuele 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albergo San Samuele is located in the heart of Venice, near the Rialto bridge and the Accademia and very close to the Palazzo Grassi. It is just five minutes walking from St. Mark's Square, in a quiet central position. Hotel San Samuele provides a friendly atmosphere with pleasant simple clean budget rooms many of which are sunny, with fans in summer. The rooms are quiet and overlook a typical street or an inside small court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Samuele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Samuele Hotel Venice
San Samuele Venice
San Samuele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing