We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff - good location”
Review of Hotel San Samuele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Samuele
Ranked #99 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

when rating an inn type hotel one must remember not to compare to large chain hotels so that is why I would give this place 4 stars for a Venice inn. The location was just a few minutes from the S.Samuele water bus stop. The hosts spoke pretty good English and gave us detailed directions how to get to the hotel, drew us the routes to attractions, shopping' etc. When we arrived we were very hungry but were told most places were not open at that time but Renalto called a place right around the corner and made a reservation and when we arrived the waitress was waiting outside and welcomed us in. Check out was before our train departure time so they checked our luggage and we explored a few hours more. We stayed in room 10. The room was ok but the bathroom was BRAND new.
My cons for this inn - i believe for security reasons they made us bring the key to the desk upstairs each time we left which seemed strange. There was no A/C and the temp was in the 90S F but they did provide a fan.

Room Tip: Room 10 had a brand new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for this beautiful review.
Reading that you consider our hotel as a 4 stars hotel is a fantastic compliment for us since our hotel has just one star.
Our strategic location is certainly helpful and the magic of this wonderful city does the rest.
There are so many things to do and places to visit, and we love to suggest our guests and give them advices to explore the city.
It’s a real pleasure to us to share our love for Venice with all our guests.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 503 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I selected this location based on the reviews I read, and we were very happy wih my choice! The location was a very short and direct walk from the vaporetto stop on San Samuele, with a delightful corner bar just steps away from the front door, perfect for late night nightcaps and early morning coffee, and a small store opposite if you prefer to prepare your own. Walk to Plaza San Marco was about 10 minutes (if you don't windowshop or wander for the fun of it although that is really what you should do in Venice). Very clean and comfortable room, even in July the lack of an AC was not a problem - windows open and a fan were enough to sleep well. The bathroom appointments were fine, much better than I had feared based on a couple of other reviews, and better than the 3 star hotel we had just stayed at in Florence. Wakeup calls were a polite knock on the door, reception is staffed 24 hours a day wth very polite and helpful employees.

Room Tip: Only negative - no lift, so ask for the lower rooms if this would be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Debbie,

we are happy that you chose our hotel for the reviews that our guests left in Tripadvisor. It’s a pleasure to read that you were happy with our choice and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is one of our strenght, as well as the fantastic staff and the cleaning of the rooms. We always provide a great service, but mantaining our prices competitives.
We put so much passion into everything we do and we always give the best for all of our guests and your feedback gratifies us once more.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in July and had a great stay. The owners are lovely and are very helpful and attentive. The room was very comfortable. Location was perfect short walk to all major spots. Great value for money Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arielle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Arielle,
we are delighted to read that your 3 nights stay in our hotel has been very pleasant.
Thanks for this beautiful review and for recommending us.
We really appreciate all your compliments, for the rooms, the location, the value and the words you spent for our work.
Thanks again.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Comfortable and charming rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, excellent location in a quiet neighbourhood and still very close to the main attractions. Definitely good value for money in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Mathias,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, which can spread such satisfaction and enthusiasm in few lines.
We are happy that you found in our hotel a great value for money combined with a helpful and friendly staff, an excellent location and comfortable rooms.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

With a lighter suitcase and in cooler weather I would have loved the San Samuele. The location, basically around the corner from the Piazza San Stefano and the bar/gelateria Paolin, near the Academy Bridge, is simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binchois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review.
It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel for the position and the cleanliness; reading that you consider us fantastic is a great reward for our work.
We inform you that we are restoring our hotel and we’ll put an elevator, our staff always accompany the guests to their assigned room and help with the heavy luggages.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Anyone who has tried to find decent budget accommodation in Venice will realize the difficulty! So I was aware of possible limitations, when booking this hotel and found that it was as advertised.
The location is the best feature (as described elsewhere), the entrance is unprepossessing (typical of Italian hotels of this standard) and the access, without lift, is difficult for the less fit .
However,we received willing assistance with our baggage, from the receptionist. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, throughout.
The rooms vary in size and the allocated room was unsuitable for 2 people...........no space for suitcases and since the over-sink shelf had no glass, nowhere to put one`s washbags! Although fan provided,this would probably be inadequate in summer.
We asked for a larger room and were moved next door the following day. This was on the corner of the street,with 2 large windows and was reasonably furnished. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and quiet.
We used the nearby shared bathroom which was immaculate with good supply of hot water.(There is a sink in the room,but only tepid water)
The location could hardly be bettered ,with nearby access to the Grand Canal and the vaporetto services There are many nearby cafes and restaurants to choose from...........and a delicatessen, only metres away.
By Venice standards,reasonable value for money. An excellent base.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dehCheshire_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guests,
We are very pleased that you chose our hotel and that you found excatly what you expected when you booked your stay.
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and for the enthusiasm that gives us, thus rewarding our work and the passion that drives us every day.
We inform you that we are restoring our hotel and we’ll put an elevator to help the guests with their heavy luggages.

Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our three night stay at Albergo San Samuele was very nice. The hotel is walking distance from St. Mark's Square and easily accessible by two vaporetto stops. The rooms are very simple - don't expect anything fancy - but sufficient for a short trip to Venice. I would definitely recommend staying in Venice rather than on the mainland. All of the day-trippers leave in the evening, leaving the city quite quiet at night. We enjoyed waking up in the heart of Venice each morning and beating the crowds. The hotel staff was helpful in giving us advice for traveling around the city. Be prepared to walk up several flights of stairs each time you leave the building.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Luke,
We are delighted that your stay was so enjoyable.
We really appreciate your compliments, especially when you write about our staff, we are always helpful and try to give all the informations you might need during your stay.
All your words reward our work and all the passion we put every day.
We inform you that we are restoring our hotel and putting an elevator in the hotel.
Best wishes.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#120 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#96 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#107 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Samuele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Samuele

Address: Salizzada San Samuele | San Marco 3358, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $56 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Samuele 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albergo San Samuele is located in the heart of Venice, near the Rialto bridge and the Accademia and very close to the Palazzo Grassi. It is just five minutes walking from St. Mark's Square, in a quiet central position. Hotel San Samuele provides a friendly atmosphere with pleasant simple clean budget rooms many of which are sunny, with fans in summer. The rooms are quiet and overlook a typical street or an inside small court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Samuele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Samuele Hotel Venice
San Samuele Venice
San Samuele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing