We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would not recommend this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Agli Alboretti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Ranked #174 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would not recommend this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Yes, the rooms are small and the breakfast modest, but the reason to not stay is because the rooms were simply not suitable and the reception staff was unaccommodating. My family of 5 had reasonable expectations after reading reviews, but did not expect a "bad experience". Unfortunately, the old bed mattresses were not comfortable enough to get a restful sleep. Furthermore, we were unable to shower after a long day of touring Venice because the "hot" water was not temperate enough to put your body in, which is unacceptable at any hotel in my opinion. Additionally, they would not cancel our second night's reservation, even though there was no way we could stay another night. There are so many lovely and interesting hotels in Venice, the Agli Alborettii is DEFINITELY NOT one of them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MMargaret1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Agli Alboretti, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear MMargaret1971

Although we always read and treasure our guests’ comments (and we are well aware that we are perfectible) we have to say that this will not be the case with this clients’ review.
Not surprisingly in reviewing our Hotel these clients (that we have easily identified) do not mention the fact that they had reserved our (only) room for 5 people for a weekend and, without any previous notice, have arrived at the Hotel one day before the booked arrival date and pretended to leave the day after because they had planned to go to Rome, without paying the late cancellation penalty in compliance with the applicable cancellation policy. More precisely, the day after their anticipated arrival they have first tried to leave the Hotel from the fire exit to avoid the reception hall and, when stopped, they have refused to pay even the night they have stayed with us by stating that it was already paid – which was not the case - so we have been forced to contact the credit card company to charge the due amounts.
We sadly notice that they do not even mention that, even if they were not expected, we have timely prepared a room for 5 people to properly host them and, on the contrary, they point out problems with mattresses and hot water that, while they were here, were not in any way mentioned to us not only by them but by any other guest.
Therefore we feel that the only problem has been that, notwithstanding we have done our best to properly host them even if they had arrived on the wrong day, they have made a complete mistake in their booking, if not changed at the last minute their holiday plans, and pretended to cancel their reservation without any previous notice and without complying with an agreed and perfectly standard cancellation policy. In this respect we cannot blame ourselves for anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
56
102
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want a flashy or boutique hotel this is not for you. It's a friendly family run hotel. Rooms clean and well enough appointed. No views but in a quiet part of Dursoduro,right behind the Accademia Galleries only about 100m from the Accademia bridge which must be the most pleasant part of Venice to stay. Breakfast limited but fine . Only real quibble was the rather cramped bathroom and very cramped shower cubicle. I would stay there again.y

Room Tip: No fitness centre.didnt need room service.unable to enter NA !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Agli Alboretti, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Julian S

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family the next time your travels bring you to Venice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I used to go to this hotel for years but now i am not sure to go again.
Last time I went, I was given a tiny (single) room much smaller than the room I had staid in the previous year. It looked more like a closet than like a normal room. Even not a place to put my luggage ! The mattress was also deadly hard and the bed tiny.
Amazingly, this small room was more expensive (138 euros) than the bigger one (100 euros). Why ? Because according to the manager, prices vary according to the number of bookings ! What a stupid policy... As if we were responsible for other people's bookings !
I also noticed that the quality and cleanliness of the rooms have decayed over the last few years. The hotel now needs some renovations (the toilet seat in my bathroom had gone yellowish for example...).
Well on the whole, not a good experience.
And though the breakfast is nice and the location great, it is not enough to go there again. There are plenty of other good hotels in Venice !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank friendofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Agli Alboretti, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay.

The room you have been given is smaller than others although other clients find it cozy and expressly ask for it.

It is true that not everybody has the same taste and had it been possible we would have been more than happy to provide you with another one, but unfortunately since we were fully booked no change at all could be made.

About our pricing policy, it's a common practice to vary prices according to high or low seasons and during week ends.
Such practice has been increased all over the world by the online booking systems.
Anyway there's also a favourable side for clients who can now find very special offers during low seasons time.

Please note that in January we are going to carry out extensive refurbishing works, although we intend to mantain the atmosphere and the style that has always caracterized our hotel.

We hope you will be again our guest and we will do our best to make your stay satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend during the November Aqua Alta. Small hotel rooms a bit poky but well run with nice staff. Has a restaurant which we didn't try, breakfast was good but we couldn't get down to Breakfast for 2 of the days due to the flooding. That said the flooding was much worse nearer Campo Saint Marco than here. Water went down after about 3 hours so that was the worst of the inconvenience for us.

The location is great and very easy to get to from main rail, and coach terminal by vaporetto or even on foot if you haven't got too much luggaege to haul. Ten minute walk from Camp San Marco.

The only dissapointing element was we left a sealed vacuum pack of "Pata Negra" ham in the fridge in our room and when we called the hotel on the same day we had left were told nothing had been found.

Room Tip: High enough up so flooding is not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

we booked this hotel one hour before boarding our plane to rome. we had no idea what to expect we got the name from one of the lonely planet travelling books. when we arrived in venice by train from rome. we made the absolute right choice to get a 3 day unlimeted vaporeti pass. the directions to the hotel were great is just steps away from vaporetti stop accademia just steps away. the location is great not far from st marks the vaporetti rides were totally enjoyable quiet neighboorhood and a great european breakfast. wake up call, clean and very decent size room totally worth the money please book it you will not regret it remember go for an unlimited vaporeti pass you will have fun in venice. rosa and george krause from new york city upper eastside neighborhood

Room Tip: we had a nice room facing the street it was quiet on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is very easy to get to (Aliglaguna, linea blu from Marco Polo airport - to Zattere - then a 5 min straight walk to the hotel - time 1.5 hrs) and well located to potter around Venice on foot and without too much of a fight from the hoards of tourists!
The check in procedure was extremely slick and quick and the staff were helpful - handing out a guide to the city, map and what's on guide.
I booked a single room which was very comfortable, warm and clean - with plenty of ship style storage (drawers and cupboards under/behind the bed) - and a small but perfectly usable bathroom. The hot water in the shower was a little patchy by varying a little too much! The room was small but still contained a wardrobe, fridge (with a complimentary beer and coke!), coffee/tea making facilities, chest of drawers and 3 chairs.
The breakfast is simple but adequate (hard boiled eggs, ham, bread, croissants, jam, cereals) with a choice of fruit juice and freshly prepared coffee.
The area of the hotel does suffer from acqua alta (high water) and as such it's either best to check the moon/tides/acqua alta calendar or simply pack your wellies and enjoy sploshing around! The one drawback of this is that when acqua alta is in full force the smell of sewage appears - however there was nothing visible!
A very reasonable rate for Venice - I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MistiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute (i.e. with only a few minutes to browse reviews, etc.) and we could not have been happier with the results.

Our arrival in Venice was in the midst of a downpour and subsequent high-water flood situation so the hotel turned out to be a perfect oasis. We did make the mistake of getting off at the San Marco water taxi stop instead of the Zattere. Zattere is literally a 1 minute walk down one single street to get to the hotel. The San Marco stop, not so much....

Anyway, we somehow ended up getting a suite, even though I'm not sure that's what we paid for. It was definitely beyond our expectations. The decor was an outstanding classic Venice style, and our room had all the amenities that we could have wanted, including some complimentary beverages in the fridge, what I consider to be a rarity. The breakfast was modest but acceptable given the price of the booking. Internet connectivity was reliable (something that had been a problem for the last 3 Italian hotels we had booked) and fast enough....and included.

I think when we return to Venice for a longer stay, we'll almost certainly consider staying here again. This hotel checks all the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#145 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#181 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#232 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#266 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#32 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agli Alboretti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Alboretti

Property: Hotel Agli Alboretti
Address: Accademia 884 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in Venice
#132 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Alboretti 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the elegant "Sestiere" (neighbourhood) Dorsoduro Agli Alboretti is a fine family three star hotel meticulously run by Mrs. Anna Linguerri, helped by a dedicated staff, some of whom have been working here for many years. Enjoy the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of an ancient Venetian house, placed in a strategic position to visit the most interesting sites of Venice. The hotel is in front of the Accademia Galleries, very few minutes from Guggenheim Collection, St. Mark’s Square and Rialto bridge. It is near public transports for the City, the airport and the islands (Murano, Burano, Torcello) and therefore easily reachable also from Piazzale Roma (car and bus terminal) and railway station. All the 23 rooms at disposal are furnished in 19th century or navy style and have been recently redecorated. They are fitted with private services, satellite TV, wireless Internet connection, mini bar and air conditioning in Summer. They overlook either the large street Rio Terà Foscarini or some private inner gardens among which the courtyard of the hotel where, in Summer, breakfast is served. A lift makes easy to reach the four floors of the building and the terrace on top where guests can sit and relax. The curious name "Agli Alboretti" comes from the "small trees" that were planted along the street Rio Terrà Foscarini at the end of 19th century when the canal was filled in and transformed into a street. Venetians are not accustomed to have trees along the "calli" and they started to call it "the street of the small trees." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Agli Alboretti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agli Alboretti Venice
Agli Alboretti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing