We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Serenissima
Ranked #91 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This hotel is a great bargain. Our room was small and clean. The bathroom was small but clean as well; just big enough to get ready, and certainly not suggested for those traveling with small children due to the lack of a tub. Friendly staff, GREAT central location, good price/value, cheap internet. Hotel does include breakfast, though its not anything spectacular, which is typical for Italy.
SUMMARY: Those wanting a good value hotel in an ideal central location should book here. Leave your American expectations at home and remember that Italy boast wonderfully charming old buildings :-)

PROS:
- Great central location (very short walk from the Rialto vaparetto stop) and half way between San Marco and the Academia
- Includes breakfast
- Inexpensive internet (only 6 Euros for 24 hours, which are only counted when you are logged into the network)
- Friendly and helpful staff

CONS:
- No elevator/lift.
- No other cons really, definitely not recommended for those with small children

** Note: I gave the sleep quality a 3 of 5 stars because I personally found the bed to be stiff and uncomfortable; however, I have a sleep number bed at home so my opinion is very tainted.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aliciak_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 643 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

We saw this hotel in a guidebook and booked over the Internet. Confirmation was quick and rate was very reasonable. We heard that Venice can be very expensive, so we were not expecting too much from the hotel, but were pleasantly surprised by its humble charm. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room (#154) was nicely furnished; headboard, table, and armoir painted in light blue and accented with flower pattern. Very quaint. Bathroom was surprisingly spacious. Room looked out onto inner courtyard that was very quiet.
Breakfast was simple, bread rolls and croissants with coffee/tea and selection of yogurt.
Location was excellent! Very convenient to all attractions. 5 minute walk to Piazza San Marco and Rialto Bridge. Close to restaurants and boutiques.
Would definitely stay there again!!!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Triggersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Went to Venice to sight see and needed somewhere central just to lay our head. Hotel Serenissima was recommended to us and fitted the bill perfectly. Its small and clean. Unfortunately two single beds pushed together and beds a little creaky, but all was clean and a perfect location. Breakfast was simple and nice - fresh coffee and breads. Perfectly central to St.Marks and Rialto. Everything in Venice is so expensive. We paid 100euro for 2 B&B. Elsewhere this would have been expensive, but in Venice it was the most reasonable and central we could find.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitni2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Location is the primary reason for staying at the Hotel Serenissima. It's right in the middle of Venice, so you can walk anywhere. It's a very old building, but the rooms are very charming, quaint, and clean. Unfortunately, it was very hot when we were there and the air conditioning couldn't keep up with the heat.
The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The only drawback is the homemade breakfast is limited to bread products.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashingtonTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Venice is expensive, but this hotel gave us an affordable option for a quadruple room. The hotel is cozy, but the room was small for four people. Nevertheless, it was good value for the money we paid, particularly when I compared to the options we had.

The great thing with this cozy hotel is that it's in the middle of everything. A five minute walk from San Marco Square and a five minute walk away from Rialto Bridge.

We wanted to experience Venice for a few days before we continued to Slovenia, and Serenissima gave us the opportunity to do so at an affordable price. Breakfast was nice and included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swede1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

What a lovely hotel! We loved our stay, we loved the location, we loved the breakfast, we loved the staff....not much more can be said! What a bargain, and what a perfect escape from the hoards of people (and the heat). A couple small tip:, wake up early and take a small rest at midday. You will see and accomplish much more! Also, for meals, walk an extra 5 or 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle to find a restauraunt. There is exceptional food in Venice; you just have to find it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank amandalynn0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Stayed here for two nights while on our Rick Steves' 17-day Italy tour. A perfect location in Venice, just steps away from San Marco and Rialto. Small and traditional, but clean and comfortable. Besides, you're in Venice! Who cares if the bathroom is small and you have to walk up stairs to your room! Breakfast was included in our stay and it was fine. But don't linger at the hotel--get out and enjoy this magical city.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoLucky2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#97 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 385 in Venice
1,413 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#124 of 385 in Venice
614 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#56 of 385 in Venice
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#133 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#143 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $106 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing