We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practicality over the posh....”
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Serenissima
Ranked #98 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Practicality over the posh....”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Serenissima was a GREAT find!

As we all know, little time is actually spent in one's hotel room but I'm happy to say that I found my room (and the adjoining bathroom) clean, comfortable, and bright - and best of all, it was very affordable. The location was really convenient and the breakfast served in the morning was delicious.

(I was actually surprised on the spaciousness of my room.)

I highly recommend this hotel, not only for the details listed above, but for the very friendly and helpful staff. I couldn't have asked for more on my budget. (I paid one hundred and twenty Euro per night in September 2012.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustMeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    299
    78
    12
    6
See reviews for
112
293
61
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a wonderful place! Rooms are small, but very clean....breakfast a creative array of croissant sandwiches, bruschetta, and brioches, plus yogurt, coffee, etc. Wonderful location near San Marco, and very helpful staff. No elevator, but we had help with luggage.....stayed here with a Rick Steves Tour and we would go back on our own should the opportunity arise! Central location near Rialto and plenty of shops & restaurants; ATM located right outside hotel.

Room Tip: No water views here but very quiet except for Saturday night revelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We are quite happy to find this affordable price hotel, in a strategic location near San Marco. The room is unfortunately still in the 60s and kitsch.. And no electric socket near the bed. Only one in the toilet (maybe they do that to economise the electrity) . They took the TV directly from Lumiere museum (haha) and the bedding was so old fashion. The positive points are : calm, no noise, speed wifi, and friendly personnels.

Negative point: strange water evacuation noise in the night . And the presence of a huge dog in the hotel (reception)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bristol, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was 1) close to the Rialto bridge 2) close to San Marco and 3) it was very reasonably priced.

We were very pleasantly surprised to be shown into our SPACIOUS room - big bedroom, hallway with closet, good-sized bathroom - overlooking a little square.

The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, the staff downstairs was helpful (they let us leave our luggage there most of the day while we toured around Venice, having arrived in the morning).

The breakfast was pretty good, too. Our only complaint was that we had to wait a bit for a table. They had placed a single traveler at a table for 4.

The only drawback to this hotel, and it's minor, is that there's no elevator so one must take up the luggage. However, the reception staff did that for us.

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat! We stayed in another place a few days later and it was nice enough but no where near as nice as this hotel, and it cost more!

Room Tip: I believe there are only a few ensuite rooms, be sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is the ideal hotel if you want to be within easy reach of almost everywhere you want to go and without spending a fortune on the "basics". It is a family-run hotel and so retains its intimate nature, even to the point of meeting the imposing grandmother every day and tripping over "Sleepy", the vast golden retriever who keeps a watch on the door! The only thing I would fault were the single rooms, which were very basic (although the bathrooms were fine). I saw inside the bigger rooms which were much nicer and much better furnished - and had some type of view! However, all in all, excellent value and a very pleasant experience. I will go back, I hope!

Room Tip: Ask for a double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank didichipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good things:
> Very polite and friendly staff (speaks english well)
> just right in the middle of Rialto and San Marco, 5-10 minutes walk, depends how many times you get lost
> Good breakfast, just enough too start the day
> Big room for a European standard

Not so good things:
> Towels smell
> You have to do some sort of "magic twist" on the doorknob before it opens when going inside your room.. when i asked the guy in the front desk how to open my room, he said: "you have to twist it to the left, then pull slowly, before pushing it. if it doesn't work, try twisting to the right"
quite irritating when you're tired and just want to rest!
> there's only one electric socket in the room, and located inside the shower. errr

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThrowbackTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service is fantastic, (great english) and very helpful, with a porter available to carry your bags to your room in this charming building. The location is perfect, you're not on the edge of the canal but tucked away in a laneway but it was quiet, and easy short walking distance to the square and the bridge. The breakfast was a highlight with a great array of food available and a lovely old lady busily preparing the food and bringing out the coffee etc. Room was perfectly fine. Great air-con and nice big windows. This is a real genuiene, charming hotel and we actually have nothing negative to say about it! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_advice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
795 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#96 of 385 in Venice
421 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 385 in Venice
1,383 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#61 of 385 in Venice
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Property: Hotel Serenissima
Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#134 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#144 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing