We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, charming staff, good breakfast and price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Serenissima
Ranked #97 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, charming staff, good breakfast and price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is the ideal hotel if you want to be within easy reach of almost everywhere you want to go and without spending a fortune on the "basics". It is a family-run hotel and so retains its intimate nature, even to the point of meeting the imposing grandmother every day and tripping over "Sleepy", the vast golden retriever who keeps a watch on the door! The only thing I would fault were the single rooms, which were very basic (although the bathrooms were fine). I saw inside the bigger rooms which were much nicer and much better furnished - and had some type of view! However, all in all, excellent value and a very pleasant experience. I will go back, I hope!

Room Tip: Ask for a double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank didichipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    260
    68
    12
    5
See reviews for
98
247
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good things:
> Very polite and friendly staff (speaks english well)
> just right in the middle of Rialto and San Marco, 5-10 minutes walk, depends how many times you get lost
> Good breakfast, just enough too start the day
> Big room for a European standard

Not so good things:
> Towels smell
> You have to do some sort of "magic twist" on the doorknob before it opens when going inside your room.. when i asked the guy in the front desk how to open my room, he said: "you have to twist it to the left, then pull slowly, before pushing it. if it doesn't work, try twisting to the right"
quite irritating when you're tired and just want to rest!
> there's only one electric socket in the room, and located inside the shower. errr

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThrowbackTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service is fantastic, (great english) and very helpful, with a porter available to carry your bags to your room in this charming building. The location is perfect, you're not on the edge of the canal but tucked away in a laneway but it was quiet, and easy short walking distance to the square and the bridge. The breakfast was a highlight with a great array of food available and a lovely old lady busily preparing the food and bringing out the coffee etc. Room was perfectly fine. Great air-con and nice big windows. This is a real genuiene, charming hotel and we actually have nothing negative to say about it! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_advice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The remarkable thing of this hotel is the excellent location and the very good rate. In relation to the location, it is literally at walking distance from the two most important landmarks of Venice: the Piazza San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto (approximately three blocks because the hotel is geographically in the middle of both). In those places there are stops of the vaporetto, the water bus system of Venice.

The staff was very friendly form the very beggining, allways prepared to assist the guest. The check-in process was very fast and pleasant.

Our room was small but very nice furnitured. Paradoxically, the bathroom was very big and comfortable. The problem we perceived was with the shower. Not having a curtain or something to contain the water, it was a bit problematic to have a shower avoiding a big mess.
As all the buildings of the area, it is very old but well maintained.

The rate includes a breakfast, served in the first floor. There are good pastries, juices and good products for a good starting of the day.

An important thing for some potential guests is that the building do not have an elevator. From the front desk there are stairs to the first floor (it could be a bit long for some). In relation to the luggage, the staff assist the people during the check-in and check-out.
We would certainly return to this nice hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the hotel do not have any elevator. If you have some problems with that, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SM-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good hotel old fashioned but in agood way rooms were basic but all you would want .No good for people with walking difficulties as no lifts.location wise it is perfect 5 mins from st marks square and 7 mins to rialto bridge.Staff were friendly and all spoke good english,would recommend without hesitation in fact when i go back next year guess where ill be staying..... yes here again.

Room Tip: 3 floors no lifts so lower floor better for some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sld d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Serenissima! The hotel staff was helpful. They went out of their way for us many times. I felt very at home. The rooms were comfortable. The location is excellent. It is a small , quint hotel with endless amounts of charm. We can't wait to go back to Hotel Serenissima.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, on the street side. It was a charming room. I loved seeing the sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights over the Venice marathon weekend. This is an excellent and well located hotel right in the centre of Venice. The rooms are spotless and the hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank runjonnyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#110 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#108 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#73 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#138 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Property: Hotel Serenissima
Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#134 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#144 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing