We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, very best free wifi and a/c in venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #171 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best location, very best free wifi and a/c in venice”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Don't let the 3 flights of stairs tarnish your view on this one. There are also two apartments on the lower floor, but once you make the first trip up with the luggage you are home free. This hotel is clean, the Air Conditioning is fabulous - you can adjust to your own prefernece (and we like it very cold so it was great), and the internet never disconnects. We had 4 devices hooked up and never an issue. We got a great price and the breakfast room looks out onto the canal (two rooms do as well). Free breakfast included (typical Italian so good by their standards - great croissants). The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and accommodating in every way. This hotel is literally right off of Rialto BRidge. Great view, and walking distance to everything. We had switched from another hotel and were very happy with everything here. Hair dryers in rooms work very well, no laundry service, but that is common in Venice. There is a drop off laundry nearby (across Rialto called Gabriella's. 985 San Marco is the address.)

Bath rooms are great size for Europe, rooms are great size for Europe, and while this hotel has venetian charm you still feel that you have modern amenities. One more thing - even when the hotels advertise that they have satellite in Europe they mean they have twenty channels instead of the 18 with cable. Only two English speaking channels in all of Europe, except the UK of course.

No wash cloths in the hotels in venice. and no good food anywhere. the best you will find is a small place called Mamo but even theirs is mediocre. All cofee is instant - seems to be that way in both Paris and Venice) If you want good food in Italy, you need to go to Florence.

Also be aware that the people of Venice depend upon tourism for survival but they hate us, and pretty much let you know it, outside of a few places (and this hotel is one of them, along with two restuarants, Mamo's, and one on canal same side as hotel that has sign on the door free WIFI, only two decent places to eat, and that are polite.
All in all best experience in a hotel in venice.

Room Tip: To me all the beds are hard in Europe so if you want comfort you will have to go back to US
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    120
    41
    15
    12
See reviews for
74
170
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location, close to the Rialto bridge. Stayed for 2 nights in July 2013. Breakfastroom very charming with a fantastic canal view. Breakfast ok. Recommend this hotel if you wish to stay in the most busy part of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Located close to the Rialto bridge it is easy to find. Don't pack too heavy because you have to cross the beidge and then go up 3 floors to get there. Once inside the nice Venetian style rooms are very accomodating. Mini bar is well stocked and fair priced. Breakfast is also very good and you enjoy the nice view then. Recommendable. On another note do not eat in the restaurant right in front of the hotel, cheap prices yes, but bad food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have read reviews from people not in the canal view rooms and they were less positive. My experience was great. The room was beautiful. I booked it solely for the great canal view and it did not fail to deliver. Fantastic views and a beautiful room. The AC worked fine and the breakfast was lovely.

The desk help could have been better, though. We "booked" a gondola ride through the front desk (through more hassle than it should have been). When we arrived to the gondola slip that was pointed out to us by the desk clerk, they had no record of the reservation and no idea who Antica Locanda Sturion was. We easily booked it on our own but it added a layer of stress to the experience.

If you want a beautiful room with a fantastic view. This is it. Just make sure you book Room #1 or Room #2.

Yes, there were many stairs but we don't mind stairs. A porter helped with the bags going up but not leaving.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have a canal view and are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alrewas staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and could have spent much longer. The breakfast Room overlooks The Grand Canal and The Rialto Bridge & with the generous provisions of the continental breakfast we were more than happy to linger! The staff went out of their way to be helpful which was great, especially on the 1st night when we arrived really late in the evening after a long day. The room was beautifully furnishd with every attention to detail. All much appreciated. There are a lot of stairs, however it's worth the effort!

Room Tip: There are rooms directly overlooking The Grand Canal if you are happy to pay the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this charming hotel on our first trip to Venice. We had booked a basic double room, but were lucky enough to be upgraded to apartment 685 a few doors up which was very spacious! That aside we saw the double room which we would have been more than happy with for our stay. The continental breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice and the small dining room situated overlooking the Grande Canal and Rialto Bridge. Location was perfect by the Rialto Bridge, with a short walk to San Marco. There were plenty of water bus stops right outside if you wanted to venture further afield.
In no way a negative, but this hotel is located on the 4th floor therefore be aware of the steps (a small price to pay for the view up the canal!)
We could not fault this hotel and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_nisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want a quiet romantic break in Venice you will do well find find a better location than the Antica Locanda Sturion. It is right on the Grand Canal and quite close to the Rialto bridge, really in the heart of Venice. It hasn't got all the facilities of the more international hotels, but it depends what you are looking for and how much time you are expecting to spend in the hotel. We were very fortunate in having one of the two bedrooms that overlook the Grand Canal (out of nine), although the breakfast room has lovely view over the Rialto. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the rooms clean and well presented. The only downside was the long flight of stairs to the third floor reception (no lift), but that shouldn't bother most people. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an atmospheric holiday in Venice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#177 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Locanda Leon Bianco
#204 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#95 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#124 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#102 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#63 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca

Property: "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 679 | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Antica Locanda Sturion," probably Venice’s most ancient hotel still running, is a cosy small Venetian House featuring just 11 rooms. Its decor, the ancient style furniture and the Venetian red damask and brocade make it special, creating a truly traditional unique and cosy feeling. A welcoming place from the past with superb and very impressive views on the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the two Superior Rooms and the beautiful Breakfast Lounge, which is also: - a reading room with a tiny yet well-stocked library boasting a number of books in various languages.- a living room for an afternoon break and taking photos of the magnificent sunsets on the Grand Canal. You have just to take a look in the evening or early morning to breathe the magic of Venice and take a dip in the past and its atmosphere. Truly a breathtaking view! This Boutique Hotel is a small and well-established family business run by Nicole, Manuela, Helen and Flavia, who will do all their best to provide you with specific suggestions and advice for an unusual and intriguingly unique approach to our town. And in all our old-style rooms you will find the kettle to prepare a good cup of tea or coffee with complimentary cookies to rest after a long city tour. In a nutshell the right place to breath a truly Venetian and romantic atmosphere. As there is no lift to reach the Locanda, situated on the top floor of an Ancient Palace on the Grand Canal, we want our Guest to be aware they have to climb a long stairs, but our bellman Giuseppe will be happy to help you carrying upstairs your heaviest items. The hotel is smoke-free. Recall that the hotel offers breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free) Features:- Gluten-free breakfast for Celiac.- Bar- Breakfast buffet: 08:00 am to 9:30 am- Kettle with Tea & Coffee & Biscuits in all rooms- Check out: 11:00 am- Check in 02:00 pm on- Our restaurant "Bistrot de Venise"- Our Residenza Bistrot de Venise flats- Our 3 star Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero in St. Mark's area Facilities:- Breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free)- Library in several languages, dedicated to Venice’s history and art.- Parking, special Garage agreement in Piazzale Roma- 10% discount at TripAadvisor & Michelin Top rated "Bistrot de Venise"- Internet Point: complimentary- Free Internet Wi-Fi: complimentary- I-Pad: complimentary use for our Guests (if available)- Fax service- Classical Music Concerts: schedules and booking- Tourist information of any kind- Tour of Murano glassworks and the Laguna islands, schedules and booking- Baggage room- Paid transfer service on request. Let us lead you to the discovery of Venice’s most secret and hidden spots:- Top secret Venice; an unusual walk with an authorized guide- Exploring Venice by Night; a night walk with an authorized guide- A full day on a "Bragozzo" boat, including lunch on board and various excursions- Discover the vineyards on the Laguna islands with Rebecca- Pescaturismo (recreational fishing) with Burano’s fishermen and Rebecca- Guided eno-gastronomic tours in the Prosecco hills- Introducing Amarone wine: guided oenological tours- Venice’s Cuisine and Historic Wines with Sara (guide –sommelier )- Meet Venice’s last true craftsmen with Valentina and Rebecca- Mysterious Venice: ghosts and legends; a walk with an authorized guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Sturion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing