We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #139 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My brother, sister & myself stayed here for 3 nights. Location is perfect! We had a room overlooking the Grand Canal, steps from the Rialto. The staff is incredible. Friendly, helpful. A nice continental breakfast. Yes, there are stairs. Deal with it or don't stay here, but it was worth it. And we are 3 out of shape 55, 62 & 70 yr olds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deyon7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 364 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a ladies trip to Venice. The location is perfect, just a few steps from Rialto bridge. The rooms are just as pictured on the website. The staff speaks perfect English and is very friendly. The breakfast was very nice and served in a delightful room overlooking the grand canal. Light sleepers will want to request a room that faces away from the canal - boats were coming and going all night, deliveries maybe? There are some nice cafes open until midnight just outside the building. The only con is that you have to carry your luggage up a steep staircase, probably about 4 floors. Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Can you handle stairs? This historic hotel is situated directly above the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto Bridge at greatly discounted rates.

Remember the realtors' age-old saying about property value: location, location, LOCATION! In other words, finding hotel accommodations in this part of Venice is like finding an apartment in midtown New York City - you're going to spend a lot of money for a small room and even less amenities. This is particularly true for where Antica Locanda Sturion is located.

The area's proximity to the world-famous Rialto Bridge, its marketplace, and its centralized convenience to all points Venice makes this prime real estate in the heart of the city. Factor in actually being on the Grand Canal's waterfront itself plus high-floor visibility of the same and now you're starting to skyrocket the prices (just like midtown NYC) into several hundred US$ per night for a room barely large enough for your valise and a place to rest your head - horizontally, hopefully!

Here's where Antica Locanda Sturion provides real value. You get the great views and location for a fraction of what you'd expect to pay - the catch? Stairs. About 3 flights worth. No elevator. No porter for your baggage. Just you, your luggage, and 3 flights of stairs. As a result, rooms here fare on average about €100 less that all other hotels in the immediate vicinity. Come on now - after a few days stay, you've saved enough to pay for a fitness club for a year! ;)

So if you're still reading this then you must be up to the challenge or simply a glutton for pain! Whatever the case may be, let's talk about the hotel itself.

Antica Locanda Sturion can trace its history back hundreds of years to the days of the mighty Venetian Empire. Needless to say this is a very old, historic building.

The public areas and rooms are clean, well-maintained, tidy, tastefully furnished and decorated.

We stayed in one of the two rooms accessed via the dining area. They both have their own bathrooms. Remember, especially in the older buildings and hotels of Europe, if a private bathroom is important to you, you need to ask if your accommodation has a private, shared, or hallway bathroom.

I'd say we were height-wise about 4 standard American floors up - these are some tall floors! Therefore the view of the Grand Canal directly below is commanding. Because the walls are extremely thick and old school, you have to actually stand at (or sit in) the windows to see anything. You can gaze upon the Rialto Bridge on the far left of the view. But mainly we enjoyed watching the canal traffic: garbage scows and delivery boats in the morning, throngs of water taxies and water busses maneuvering into the Rialto stop directly across throughout the day, and lines of gondolas into the evening. Now this is the life - sipping on Italian coffee while taking all this in right from the privacy of your own room.

The hotel of about 10 rooms offers daily breakfast service in the dining area of about 6 tables (which serves as a lounge the rest of the day and evening). Breakfast is in the typical European style: a selection of cured meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, Nutella. For all you Americans, don't expect the hot, hardy, heart-clogging breakfast buffets in this part of Europe that we're so used to. However, you do get your fill of carbohydrates to get you through your busy morning.

Hotel service was conservatively friendly and English-speaking making it really helpful when you have questions.

One final note: don't bother with the pushy waterfront restaurants on the ground floor. They're much too expensive and you're paying for real estate more than food quality. There are so many choices throughout Venice (about 750 actually - no joke). Yes, yes, yes, if you simply must dine along the Grand Canal (which smells like poo when the water settles down at night, by the way) in view of the wonderful Rialto Bridge, then you must pick one of these few options. At least make an informed decision - read their menus (and prices), observe the food coming out and customers' enjoyment (or lack thereof), demand to sit where the view is, and ask how long the wait is. Would they be willing to hold your spot while you go do other things instead of waiting right there? Remember, depending on the exchange rate you may be spending over US$200 for this dining experience. And don't ask this hotel staff - they're working in cahoots with the restaurant downstairs.

If you're looking for a terrific meal nearby, visit OSTERIA AE SCONTE about a 5 minute walk across the bridge in the general direction of San Marco Polo. If you can only try one restaurant in Venice, that would be my absolute "must do" recommendation for Venetian seafood. See my review on Yelp as well.

So, for a terrific, convenient location in the heart of Venice, and you don't mind working off those pounds on the stairs to save a boatload of money, try Antica Locanda Sturion.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuuKaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 4 days at this hotel in september 2012. It's a typical venetian charming hotel with a fantastic view of the Grande Canal from the window in the breakfast buffet. The stairs up to the reception has been mentioned by nearly all visitors, but isn't stairs and bridges what walking around in Venice is all about? We returned home quite fit... The breakfast itself was a bit disappointing. There were few choices and it always took time to refill the small serving dishes. We also sensed this kind of saving money in the pressure and temperature in the shower. However, the room was always clean.
So what is the main issue with this hotel? It is the LOCATION close to the Rialto Bridge just 20 meters from the sunny side of the Canal Grande and nice restaurants. We could not ask for a better place to stay in Venice because we were able to walk to every part of the city. Even on arrival by bus in the outskirts of the city, there was no problem walking with our luggage to the hotel.
The staff was OK, but no more. Their English skills differed quite a bit from person to person, but we experienced no problems.
Bottom line: next time we are in Venice we will look for a location like this, maybe even choose the same hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are number 1 and 2 next to the breakfast buffet and overlooking the Canal Grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegian_couple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel cannot be beaten for the view (just by the Rialto bridge), or Venetian styling. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the hospitality is excellent. Breakfast is delightful. Just beware of the three flights of stairs which, after a day walking around Venice, are a little exhausting!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtCafeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel is located on the Grande Canal, near the Rialto Bridge, so it has great views and is a good starting point to exploring Venice. A major drawback is the stairs, no lift, so to get on 3ed floor, especially with luggage can be a big problem. Venetian style rooms, rather clean and very romantic. Breakfast OK, but for that price you can expect a higher standard. You have to wait long for bringing the missing products or even to ask for them. Service rather distant, too little caring towards guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 161traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in Aug 2012. We had Room#2 next to the breakfast lobby. The room was exactly as advertised. Bathroom was nice and spotlessly clean. The AC was a bit weak - but we found that the case everywhere in Italy - living in the Middle East probably has spoilt us in this regard :). 65 or 69 or 78 step? We had read about it too..frankly it didn't bother us that much. Yes, old people, people with mobility issues might have an issue - but be warned, Venice involves negotiating steps everywhere.

The steps are small and you only feel a li'l out of breath towards the top. This is a historic property dating back to 1490's, one of the 24 surviving locandas! The bellboy helped us with our luggage when we checked in.

The location is excellent - on the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto. The Rialto Vaporetti stop is a short 3-4 min walk. You can reach San Marco's in around 10 mins on the Vaporetto. The importance of location is particularly important if like us you have to take an early morning flight. It was easy for us to walk to the Rialto Mercado stop (a 5mins walk from the hotel) and take the Vaporetto at 4.32 am. We then took a bus from P. Roma. It saved us from calling for an expensive water taxi.

While checking out at 4am in the morning, the night shift manager, Mentu himself helped us take our luggage down. He almost walked us all the way to the Rialto Mercado Vaporetti station - we are grateful for his help. The staff is friendly and helpful, they make you feel at home. Helen at the reception printed out our boarding passes for us. We were unsure how to get to the airport the next day so early, Helen sorted it out for us -at her advice we took the early Vaporetti to P.Roma and a bust to VCE, saving a lot of Euros which we would have spent had we taken the water bus. Mentu the night manager helped us take our luggage down himself and even walked us a part of the way to the Rialto Mercado stop - thanks for all the help.

We didn't have any issues with noise in the breakfast room. There was a bit of noise from the Vaporetti pulling in and out of the Vaporetti stop opposite,banging into the landing docks, but after a full day of walking around Venice it was easy to drift into sleep and we slept well :)

Breakfast spread was adequate, Eggs would have been nice were they available.

It's beautiful to watch the sky turn golden with the first rays of dawn, all this from your room over the canal. There are a lot of pizzerias and restaurants nearby serving good quality, fresh from the oven, cheap pizzas - giving you good eating options.

I loved getting up early and roaming around the canals and streets of Venice. It is a little pricey, but the location cannot be any better. I did check out other hotels nearby but didn't like them. The Locanda is near enough the Rialto and all the "action", but at 100 m or so, removed enough from the noise of the crowd and holiday makers, making it a quiet place to stay. I will always prefer to stay in the old Locunda whenever I am in Venice and choose room #2 over the Canal. The hotel has a lovely ambience,warm and welcoming. It is old but you get a fresh feeling soon as you step inside. The library has a good collection of books (if you have the time to read). Overall a wonderful experience, wish we had more time in Venice, which means we will be back soon enough and staying at the Antica Locunda Sturion again!

Room Tip: We stayed at Room#2 next to the breakfast room, great view of the Canal, Rialto bridge. Sunrise over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indygo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#182 of 385 in Venice
669 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#114 of 385 in Venice
909 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 385 in Venice
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
#87 of 385 in Venice
720 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
936 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#82 of 385 in Venice
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 679 | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $72 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Antica Locanda Sturion," probably Venice’s most ancient hotel still running, is a cosy small Venetian House featuring just 11 rooms. Its decor, the ancient style furniture and the Venetian red damask and brocade make it special, creating a truly traditional unique and cosy feeling. A welcoming place from the past with superb and very impressive views on the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the two Superior Rooms and the beautiful Breakfast Lounge, which is also: - a reading room with a tiny yet well-stocked library boasting a number of books in various languages.- a living room for an afternoon break and taking photos of the magnificent sunsets on the Grand Canal. You have just to take a look in the evening or early morning to breathe the magic of Venice and take a dip in the past and its atmosphere. Truly a breathtaking view! This Boutique Hotel is a small and well-established family business run by Nicole, Manuela, Helen and Flavia, who will do all their best to provide you with specific suggestions and advice for an unusual and intriguingly unique approach to our town. And in all our old-style rooms you will find the kettle to prepare a good cup of tea or coffee with complimentary cookies to rest after a long city tour. In a nutshell the right place to breath a truly Venetian and romantic atmosphere. As there is no lift to reach the Locanda, situated on the top floor of an Ancient Palace on the Grand Canal, we want our Guest to be aware they have to climb a long stairs, but our bellman Giuseppe will be happy to help you carrying upstairs your heaviest items. The hotel is smoke-free. Recall that the hotel offers breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free) Features:- Gluten-free breakfast for Celiac.- Bar- Breakfast buffet: 08:00 am to 9:30 am- Kettle with Tea & Coffee & Biscuits in all rooms- Check out: 11:00 am- Check in 02:00 pm on- Our restaurant "Bistrot de Venise"- Our Residenza Bistrot de Venise flats- Our 3 star Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero in St. Mark's area Facilities:- Breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free)- Library in several languages, dedicated to Venice’s history and art.- Parking, special Garage agreement in Piazzale Roma- 10% discount at TripAadvisor & Michelin Top rated "Bistrot de Venise"- Internet Point: complimentary- Free Internet Wi-Fi: complimentary- I-Pad: complimentary use for our Guests (if available)- Fax service- Classical Music Concerts: schedules and booking- Tourist information of any kind- Tour of Murano glassworks and the Laguna islands, schedules and booking- Baggage room- Paid transfer service on request. Let us lead you to the discovery of Venice’s most secret and hidden spots:- Top secret Venice; an unusual walk with an authorized guide- Exploring Venice by Night; a night walk with an authorized guide- A full day on a "Bragozzo" boat, including lunch on board and various excursions- Discover the vineyards on the Laguna islands with Rebecca- Pescaturismo (recreational fishing) with Burano’s fishermen and Rebecca- Guided eno-gastronomic tours in the Prosecco hills- Introducing Amarone wine: guided oenological tours- Venice’s Cuisine and Historic Wines with Sara (guide –sommelier )- Meet Venice’s last true craftsmen with Valentina and Rebecca- Mysterious Venice: ghosts and legends; a walk with an authorized guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Sturion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing