We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot to tour Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #165 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston Bean
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Spot to tour Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We chose the Locanda Sturion both because of its location right next to the Rialto Bridge, and because we wanted a room that would accomodate all four or us (Me, my husband, and two adult children 22 and 18). We booked a family room on the top floor overlooking the Grand Canal. It was wonderful, spacious and clean. There was one quenn bed, and two singles and it was very adequate for the four of us. Breakfast was also included and plentiful. The front desk spoke English very well and couldn't have been more helpful. The only drawback was the climb to get to the front desk. We had heard about the stairs and were prepared. They were really not bad, but after touring all day by foot, I must say that I was not thrilled to climb them! Overall, a very pleasant stay and I felt better having the kids in the same room with us in a foreign country.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and make sure to get a room facing the canal. It was so nice to look out early i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brainylanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    120
    39
    15
    12
See reviews for
74
168
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I knew there were a few stairs, but this was absolutely ridiculous! After climbing 69 fairly steep steps with an overhang, making it next to impossible to pull up your suitcase behind you, you might end up with one of the 2 rooms, that are an additional 12 steps up. With no bellman or elevator, I would say NEVER AGAIN! Of course she offered us room 9. When I told her that I would take any room other than that she asked why, which I told her got a very bad review on tripadvisor. She said that there were no other possibilities. Well, dark, small, and just a dab of a smell in the room (actually a double and a little tiny closet room with a twin). The one nice thing was that the view of the canal from the breakfast room was fantastic, and breakfast was your usual continental breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I should have listened to the reviews!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palmspringsdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda_Sturion, Proprietario at "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Guest we know that our Locanda is out of the standard because of the many stairs we still have to climb day after day since 1976 but no elevator is allowed because it is an historical site, so we wish to apologize for the bad service you received but want to inform our future Guests that from 1st March we have Giuseppe our bellman who is going to take care of heavy bags . Once upstairs, with a gorgeous view of grand Canal you may tell your friends to have spent some days in the oldest hotel of Venice: Locanda Sturion is the only one left of 24 Antiche Locande founded in the XIV century by the Doges and famous painter Vettor Carpaccio shows it on his painting Miracolo della Croce 1494 - Gallerie dell'Accademia, Venezia.
Sorry for inconvenience.
La Direzione
Sergio Fragiacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

i've read about the stairs from many reviews here before i decided to book, so i was quite well prepared -- or so i thought. when i arrived, however, i was a bit shocked (not in a good way) to see what kind of stairs i had to climbed up. it's ridiculous, really. not so funny when you just got there and not in your best condition (i was travelling alone and venice was my last stop, so i was tired, worn out and had two luggages full of stuffs from crazy shopping).

it was a hot summer day, i walked up the 4 flights of stairs with two luggages, and when i got to the front desk, the lady informed that the room they provided me with was located in an apartment few houses away from the hotel. i appreciated the apartment (quite spacey with clean bathroom and kitchen) but was quite dissappointed as i wad expecting the experience of staying at the hotel itself -- from what i read, the hotel was a classic and that's the reason why i was willing to ignore the fact about the crazy stairs and its not-so-cheap rate. the apartment smells weird, but i think that's quite common in venice considering the water environment and whatnots. it's a bit spooky though, especially as i was totally alone in the building (when you travel solo it is nice to know that there are othet people staying in the building). breakfast is standard but i dont know if the hotel has rooms with balcony or not (lesson learned: find out if the hotel has balcony, since i see almost no point of staying at hotel on Grand Canal if you cannot really enjoy the view).

having said all of the above, my stay was not bad. the hotel is perfectly located near rialto bridge, many good restaurants and shops aroind the corner. you need to cross the bridge to take vaporetto from rialto stop (which means another stairs journey) so better take it from san sebastian (but bear in mind there is no ticket machine at san sebastian so you need to buy your ticket elsewhere).

overall, venice was a pleasant experience. the food is amazing: fegato, polenta, black risotto. im pretty sure its much better to go there during spring or autumn, it was 37 celcius degree when i was there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calamity_dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel is beautifully located, service and breakfast were lovely. Clean, friendly, beautiful views. And stairs that go on forever before you reach the front desk! NO elevator! If you're athletic and in excellent physical condition, it's not an issue. If your anything less, it can be a challenge, but well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Specify a room overlooking the Grand Canal!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyWalkEatSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I got this room from booking.com for 150 euro a night instead of 300 a night , thinking i got a deal but all i got was mildew in the bathroom(room 9) and a tiny tiny room that had an odd smell. I had read the other reviews and it sounded good, so i must have gotten the one bad room in the lot. Location good ( even though i prefer staying closer to San Marco), and breakfast good but that's about it. Don't underestimate the 4 flights of steps, I am very fit but those could be a killer for someone with alot of suitcases or not so fit-

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gigioRome_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

It seems that rooms in Venice are expensive. With this in mind, the rooms seemed to be fairly reasonable for the price. The breakfast was nothing special and there are a lot of steps from the bottom to the top. If you are in good enough shape to do the steps, then everything will be in walking distance from this hotel. The Rialto Bridge can be seen from the dining room and at least two of the rooms. There is one room located near the bottom of the stairs, with the rest at the top. The rooms and hotel were clean when we were there. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The outside wood shutters are not for decoration. They actually close and provide both privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP_Traveling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is right on the Grand Canal near the Rialto Bridge with lots of local shops and markets. The only downside of this hotel is that the majority of the rooms and reception area are on the third floor only accessible by stairs. Be prepared to lug your bags up and down and to walk up and down to get in and out of the building. Great for those wanting to keep fit but unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues. We were offered a room on the first floor but it seemed to be the only one. The hotel is very clean, well-appointed and staff are very friendly. Rooms have modern bathrooms and air-conditioning. Wi-fi is provided but seems to be limited to reception area. Getting around is best done by ferry and we bought daily tickets at 18 Euro which gave unlimited travel for 24 hours. Walking is tedious because walking in Venice is like walking in maze and is therefore quite indirect and you are likely to get lost and have to back track many times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#178 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Locanda Leon Bianco
#205 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#93 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#124 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#102 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#61 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca

Property: "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 679 | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Antica Locanda Sturion," probably Venice’s most ancient hotel still running, is a cosy small Venetian House featuring just 11 rooms. Its decor, the ancient style furniture and the Venetian red damask and brocade make it special, creating a truly traditional unique and cosy feeling. A welcoming place from the past with superb and very impressive views on the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the two Superior Rooms and the beautiful Breakfast Lounge, which is also: - a reading room with a tiny yet well-stocked library boasting a number of books in various languages.- a living room for an afternoon break and taking photos of the magnificent sunsets on the Grand Canal. You have just to take a look in the evening or early morning to breathe the magic of Venice and take a dip in the past and its atmosphere. Truly a breathtaking view! This Boutique Hotel is a small and well-established family business run by Nicole, Manuela, Helen and Flavia, who will do all their best to provide you with specific suggestions and advice for an unusual and intriguingly unique approach to our town. And in all our old-style rooms you will find the kettle to prepare a good cup of tea or coffee with complimentary cookies to rest after a long city tour. In a nutshell the right place to breath a truly Venetian and romantic atmosphere. As there is no lift to reach the Locanda, situated on the top floor of an Ancient Palace on the Grand Canal, we want our Guest to be aware they have to climb a long stairs, but our bellman Giuseppe will be happy to help you carrying upstairs your heaviest items. The hotel is smoke-free. Recall that the hotel offers breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free) Features:- Gluten-free breakfast for Celiac.- Bar- Breakfast buffet: 08:00 am to 9:30 am- Kettle with Tea & Coffee & Biscuits in all rooms- Check out: 11:00 am- Check in 02:00 pm on- Our restaurant "Bistrot de Venise"- Our Residenza Bistrot de Venise flats- Our 3 star Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero in St. Mark's area Facilities:- Breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free)- Library in several languages, dedicated to Venice’s history and art.- Parking, special Garage agreement in Piazzale Roma- 10% discount at TripAadvisor & Michelin Top rated "Bistrot de Venise"- Internet Point: complimentary- Free Internet Wi-Fi: complimentary- I-Pad: complimentary use for our Guests (if available)- Fax service- Classical Music Concerts: schedules and booking- Tourist information of any kind- Tour of Murano glassworks and the Laguna islands, schedules and booking- Baggage room- Paid transfer service on request. Let us lead you to the discovery of Venice’s most secret and hidden spots:- Top secret Venice; an unusual walk with an authorized guide- Exploring Venice by Night; a night walk with an authorized guide- A full day on a "Bragozzo" boat, including lunch on board and various excursions- Discover the vineyards on the Laguna islands with Rebecca- Pescaturismo (recreational fishing) with Burano’s fishermen and Rebecca- Guided eno-gastronomic tours in the Prosecco hills- Introducing Amarone wine: guided oenological tours- Venice’s Cuisine and Historic Wines with Sara (guide –sommelier )- Meet Venice’s last true craftsmen with Valentina and Rebecca- Mysterious Venice: ghosts and legends; a walk with an authorized guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Sturion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing