We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed stay in Hotel Riva”
Review of Hotel Riva

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riva
Ranked #315 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed two nights at the Riva with two sisters. We went to the hotel from the train station by vaporetto and followed Rick Steves' directions, so it was easy to find. Just be sure you get the vaporetto in the direction toward St. Mark's. The hotel is quite close to St. Mark's Square. We are senior citizens, so the lovely marble stairs, even with our small suitcases, were a challenge. However, when we got to our room, it was worth it. The view out the window of the canals and the gondoliers made me feel like I truly was in Venice. The room was not large, but it was adequate. The furnishings were attractive and the room and bathroom were clean. I thought the Riva was a lovely, small hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BKB629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Hotel Riva is in a good location and the staff was courteous and friendly. The room we had was on the 4th floor and it was difficult carrying luggage up four flights of stairs (no elevator). It was also warm and humid when we visited so I was drenched after that exercise. The room was tiny. We shared a common bathroom with three other rooms. It is not air conditioned but they did provide a fan. The room overlooked one of the canals; this was fun but also added to the noise as power boats also use the canals. My wife and I like more comfort and something less rigourous. At 100 euro, however, it was a bargain for Venice. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Choose one of their air conditioned rooms and on the lowest floor possible; preferably first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location close to St. Marks right on a canal.Our room was huge, but others in the group were average except for the shower door which was very small.There is no lift so get ready for stairs, and breakfast is nothing special,but for the price your paying, enjoy a role and a few cappuccinos and have a great dinner. Also staff is very helpful!

Room Tip: Get room with air,its the same price and needed in summer.Also bargain with taxi drivers,prices are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arcoccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our stay in Venice was made that much more enjoyable by our perfect room with a view at the Hotel Riva. The location is ideal, truly in the middle of things while being tucked away on a little corner where two canals converge. The two canals must be on the main gondola track as we were regularly serenaded by the musicians going by our window. We were very fortunate to have a corner room over the canals, the views were just perfect! Our friends at home cannot believe the photos we have taken from our hotel windows. The furnishings of the hotel are eclectic and anitque, and our room, while small, was clean and quiant. Our only complaint would be the rolls and coffee offered at breakfast, not so good. Skip it and realize that given the reasonable price of the hotel, you're getting a deal.

For us, the location and view are key We are aware that given the age of the city, there will most likely be stairs to climb, but we requested a room on the first floor and only had one flight to climb. Request it if you just can't be bothered climbing stairs or have someone in your party who might have difficulty.

Hotel Riva was a great Venice find with perfect location and views that cannot be beat! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a cute hotel very close to St. Marc's square. The location was perfect. The hotel staff and owners were wonderful. The rooms were very clean, with comfy beds. We had requested a/c but didn't get it. There was a fan in the room and the nights were cool enough for sleeping, so this didn't end up being a huge problem. "Breakfast" was water bread with butter and jam. Come to find out, all the bread in Venice is like this for some reason. Oh, well. On the upside, there was great coffee and lots of it! We would certainly stay here again. You can get up in the morning and have coffee while watching gondoliers row their way past you. Bliss!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAH2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

It's hard to say whether or not the hotel is good value, as everything in Venice is hyper-inflated. We did appreciate the location, which was great, and the owners were unbelievably nice and gracious. It smarts to pay so much to haul your own suitcase up several flights of narrow stairs and to eat nasty store-bought rolls with nutella for the 'Italian breakfast' every morning. If you start your trip here, it will only get better. If you end here, adjust your expectations. It's cool to have a canal view, but then you also get canal noise. How many times are you willing to hear 'Volare' being sung to tourists in a gondola?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennielee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Charming hotel, in lovely canal-side location. It is a long ways from the train station, but an easy walk to/from Piazza San Marco so definitely take the vaporetto with your luggage. The room and bathroom were very very tiny, though I suspect everything is in Venice. The rates, while more than we paid throughout the rest of Italy, were the lowest I was able to find in Venice. "Breakfast: was the same dry dinner rolls every morning which gets pretty dull, but it’s nice to at least be able to have a cup of coffee and grab a serving of nutella before you head out into the day. Love the first impression of walking into this homey but elegant lobby with gondaliers right outside the windows.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank UnsheepishlySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
No photo provided
Castello
Furlani apartments
Furlani apartments
#333 of 387 in Venice
2 reviews
Castello
No photo provided
In Centro - Grandiben
#309 of 387 in Venice
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Messner
Hotel Messner
#328 of 387 in Venice
5 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,934 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva

Address: Castello, 5310 | Ponte dell'Angelo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Venice
Hotel Riva Venice
Riva Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing