We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Venice staying at this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Wildner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wildner
Ranked #202 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our visit to the hotel was wonderful! We arrived by water bus and the hotel was between two stops which made it very convenient. Our room faced the water and was very spacious and clean. The restaurant downstairs was fantastic! Not only was the food wonderful, but the waiters were fun and attentive. The breakfast (included with your stay) was nice and we appreciated that it was only for hotel guests. Also the location was just perfect, off the grand canal and only a couple min walk to the doge palace area. Highly recommend and would stay there again in a heartbeat

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have only good things to say about Hotel Wildner, the staff were very helpful prior to our arrival.. We have a special needs daughter, she struggles with there are loads of stairs, I contacted the hotel prior and they made the first floor available to us, much appreciated!! The room are adequate, not the Ritz, but comfy all the same!! The meals were lovely, the aphmosphere perfect.. Right in the tourist area, the vibe was wonderful!! Would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Wildner offers a good price/location value. If you want more, expect to pay more in Venice. It's so easy to locate from the water bus, but if you want to avoid the bridge, use the 4.1/5.1 and 4.2/5.2 rather than the 1 or 2 which go down the Grand Canal. We were welcomed by Michele, who speaks excellent English and is more friendly and helpful than the other younger man in reception.
Anyone booking this hotel must surely realise that the cheaper rooms don't overlook the lagoon, as it is made clear on the websites, but they're quieter as a result and we slept well.
Our room had new furniture and bedding. The rooms aren't particularly small, especially for Venice, but the huge pieces of furniture made the room seem more cramped than previously. The shower room is adequate, with a hairdryer that works better than in many an Italian hotel. Plenty of towels are provided and cleaning is of an excellent standard.
The Wildner is essentially a B&B with no lounge area. The restaurant operates separately at lunchtime and evenings. The breakfast room is plenty big enough and has a wonderful outlook across to San Giorgio. I do wonder why tinned fruit salad is ever served, though fresh fruit salad was offered on one day. Each table is served a plate of ham, salami and cheese on arrival at the breakfast room, which is a sensible way of reducing waste or greed! Breakfast service is efficient enough, but unfriendly.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at the Wildner for seven nights in June. The location was lovely (what a view from the breakfast terrace) and the staff was very helpful, especially Michele, the young man at the front desk. He really made the stay for me, with his warm, friendly personality and willingness to help with various transportation issues.
My room, however, was rather basic for the cost but I understand that it was high season in pricey Venice and the exchange rate is rather hard these days on Americans.
The included breakfast buffet was a treat with excellent croissants and good coffee, not to mention that special view.

Room Tip: I could not afford a room with a view, but those with the means should opt for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Picked this place at the last minute based largely on location and price. It is definitely a budget hotel, but in a great location, on the water in San Marco, so you are 20 meters from the water. Rooms are small but functional and clean. We had a large bed that was two singles in a king frame. The shower was the largest of the four hotels we had during our trip. There is no elevator but the staff will carry your bags up the stairs; we were only on the 1st (2nd in US terms) floor so it was not an issue, but the stairs could be an issue for many. There is no fridge or minibar so there is no way to keep anything cold. There is a restaurant on the 1st floor so you can get a cold drink for a price. The staff were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view would be much preferable to the dark room facing another building that we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebel-Yell-Delray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Best Place to live @ the riva degli schiavoni, overlooking the lagoon and close to the Piazza San Marco. Good breakfast included, stylish Rooms and friendly Service @ a reasonable Price Level, the Pensione Wildner is an Institution in our Family for the last twenty years

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We originally booked here for a 2 night stay but because of a mix up in dates we had to rebook (very quickly!). Staff from the hotel- Micele- was extremely helpful, organising a night for us in a nearby hotel with the 2nd night back at the Wildner. It's a great spot, being on the main walk facing the Bacino Di S Marco. We had a room with a view of the lagoon, double glazed windows (quite a bonus since it's so busy here), and while the room was smallish for 3 (our 15 year old granddaughter was with us) it was still quite adequate. The hotel is about 5 mins from St Marks Square and about 3 minutes from the nearest water transport stop. We travelled from there directly to Marco Polo Airport (about 1hr 10 mins). All in all, it's a terrific location as you're so close to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#76 of 387 in Venice
1,964 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#108 of 387 in Venice
697 reviews
San Polo
Al Theatro Palace
Al Theatro Palace
#175 of 387 in Venice
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo del Giglio
Palazzo del Giglio
#99 of 387 in Venice
328 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#37 of 387 in Venice
1,542 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#100 of 387 in Venice
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wildner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wildner

Address: Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4161 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $121 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wildner 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit Venice and stay in a welcoming 3-star hotel with a 19th-century flair, admire dawns and sunsets over the lagoon from the Riva degli Schiavoni while savoring the selective entrees of a Venetian panoramic restaurant and taking in the charm of Saint Mark's Square?Venice's Hotel Wildner perpetuates its old family tradition to extend cordiality and hospitality to its guests, a wonderful view over Saint Mark's Basin and a romantic restaurant featuring local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Wildner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildner Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing