We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in Venice”
Review of Hotel Wildner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wildner
Ranked #189 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This lovely little hotel was everything we expected it to be. The position 20 yards from the waterboat stop was superb for us, having driven to Venice and parked in Piazzale Roma. Having breakfast watching the hustle and bustle of Venice was a great way to start the day.
The hotel is quite small and has no communal rooms or lift but we had no problem with either. We intend to go back next year and maybe we will opt for a slightly larger lagoon view room, although the peace and coolness of the rear rooms was very relaxing after a hot, busy day.

Room Tip: The rooms are not large but quite acceptable and comfy. If you are no good with stairs this is not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in late July. We found getting to the hotel from the airport easy by using the alilaguna ferry.

TheOur room was very small, but thats all we required, as we were there to sleep only.

Breakfast was excellent with the nicest croissants.

W

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleggy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

With the "bus" (vaporatto) stop right in front, there is no need to carry your suitcases up and down the stairs of the many bridges that cross the canals of Venice. And the 4.2/5.2 lines that go to the train station stop right in front of the door. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor, from 8-10A. Our stay was in July 2013 for 3 nights. We had a triple room, with a view of the Canal and San Gregorio church (150 euros). Basic room with shower,, but view from windows is amazing, location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoTravelNowCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in July 2013 celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, the hotel is located 30 metres from the waterbus stop, a very short distance to St Marks Square, the hotel was clean and the staff were fantastic, always willing to help. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The bedroom had a kingsize bed and an air condition. We plan to visit Venice again and we will be happy to stay at the Pensione Wildner Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked the Pension Wildner in December 2012 for my wifes 50th birthday celebration and we stayed for a long weekend in June 2013. All the way through from our initial contact with the Wildner they were superb every question, e-mail and request was always handled with courtesy and efficiency. You couldnt ask for more the location is superb 10 mins walk from St Marks Sq and all the other major attractions. The public bus service that runs from the airport also has a stop right outside the hotel so no wheeling cases for miles and getting lost. Our room was a quadrouple so slept 4 persons (2 single / 1 double) and it had Lagoon facing views which was beautiful to watch the cruise liners leaving the harbour every day. On the last evening we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a delicious meal far better than anything we experienced on the other 2 nights we had out. I must also mention the Receptionist Elvio - he was just amazing. He handled our booking from the beginning, sorted a private taxi transfer from the airport and back, booked our Gondolo Ride and even escorted us to the boat on our last morning he was just superb throughout the whole stay. I thoroughly recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice you'll find more expensive but you wont find better than this !

Room Tip: If your part of a family ask for one of the Quadrouple Rooms with Lagoon View. They come with 2 sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this on it's location and were not disappointed, on arrival by water taxi we didn't have many steps and we were checked into our 3 bed room on the 3rd floor, no lift but we knew that in advance. The room was large enough for 3 adults and spotlessly clean, we booked a canal veiw - and what a view - it was stunning and we found our selves just staring out the window. Breakfast (taken overlooking Grand canal) was fine, only critism is that after being shown to a table, is was ages before a plate of meat and cheese came over & we had to ask for hot water for tea, as there's only coffee on the buffet table. We had to ask every morning for hot water and on our last morning had to go and ask for the meat and cheese. Waitress seems to want to go about her tasks not serve the customers, feel we should have been asked if we wanted water, cheese and ham etc when we had been seated, shouldn't have to GO and ask.
Also the cereal was uncovered, we noticed the cheeky sparrows coming in to dine.
We had the safe key at no charge, which is very unusual. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and would definitely stay here again when in Venice.

Room Tip: Always pay the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel because of it's central location. It is located just a few steps from the San Zacharia vaparetto stop. The only down side was there was not an elevator and we were on the third floor which can be tough after a long day of touring. Our room overlooked the canal and we could not have been happier with the view! The room was a decent size for Europe and the bath room was manageable as well. We ate at the hotel restaurant on our last night and wished we had tried it sooner. Everything we ordered was so yummy! I will say that the hotel and restaurant were pricier than we were used to, but we expected that in Venice. The hotel was definitely worth the splurge. The staff was delightful and always willing to help. My favorite thing about this hotel was getting up a little before sunrise and walking the short distance to St. Marks Square and enjoying the beauty with not a soul around - aaahhhh how I miss Venice!!!

Room Tip: Splurge for the canal view rooms - it's so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetterKDeltaair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#104 of 387 in Venice
951 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#102 of 387 in Venice
693 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#17 of 387 in Venice
1,558 reviews
Castello
Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#15 of 387 in Venice
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wildner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wildner

Address: Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4161 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $129 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wildner 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit Venice and stay in a welcoming 3-star hotel with a 19th-century flair, admire dawns and sunsets over the lagoon from the Riva degli Schiavoni while savoring the selective entrees of a Venetian panoramic restaurant and taking in the charm of Saint Mark's Square?Venice's Hotel Wildner perpetuates its old family tradition to extend cordiality and hospitality to its guests, a wonderful view over Saint Mark's Basin and a romantic restaurant featuring local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Wildner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildner Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing