We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite!”
Review of Hotel Wildner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wildner
Ranked #181 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just back from a repeat visit here. The Wildner is easy to find and very convenient for the water bus. Like most Venetian hotels, there is no lift, but our cases were taken up the steep stairs for us. This is a B&B without lounge areas, although there is a good (but expensive)restaurant where breakfast is served.
Our room was clean and large enough for a short stay. We ditched the blankets from the drawers and they were duly removed from the room (not needed with nightime temps. of 23c!). The shower room is adequate, though the shower itself has no thermostat, so water temperature needs to be checked carefully before use. Towels were changed every day including on the first morning, even though we hung them up! Book the more expensive front rooms if you want the view across the water, but the roof-scape view from back, upper rooms is fine, and it's quiet. Do not book this hotel if you have any mobility problems, as the stairs are steep, even to the first floor.
The breakfast room is large enough for all the guests (unusual in smaller accommodation), so one does not feel rushed. There's a good selection, though there was no fight for the tinned fruit salad! Coffee is excellent and plenty of fresh ham, salami and cheese were served. If you're expecting more, you need to pay more and go to a larger hotel (and maybe eat less!).
All the staff are pleasant, not pushy, but friendly. We tend not to have questions, as we know the city.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors are hard work. Choose a front room for the view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wildner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 388 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having breakfast in the morning watching the crowds pass by with a lagoon view... beautiful. And what a breakfast! Cold cuts like salami, ham and cheese, bread, cofee, tea, juice, yogurt, cerials. Our room on the first floor had a good view over the lagoon but it would have been even better on a higher floor, so opt for that. The room was fairly big for a family of four. the cleaning excellent with new towels every day.

It was mid june and hot. Don´t miss out on the fact that you can drink water from all the fountains in the city. Fill up your bottles and drink a lot. We spent one day on Lido for the kids to have a day at the beach. It´s a ten minutes boatdrive and a nice retreat from al the people at St.Marcis square. We also went to Burano, a little longer trip but very different from the other islands with its beutiful colered houses. We had lunch at "Ai pescatori" Great food and fantastic staff who amused our kids and treated us so good!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just returned from our week in Italy and spent 1 night in the Hotel Wildner and it was well worth the extra we paid. We were allowed to check in early, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The view of the lagoon was fantastic. Overall a night to remember, if you want to treat yourself stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here in early May 2012. The location of this hotel is excellent, overlooking the basin/lagoon and being less than 5 minutes walk to St Marks' square, and a vaperetto stop being right outside the hotel. We watched huge cruise ships sail right past our window, along with all forms of entertainment on the lagoon promenade below. Although the day temperature was low-mid twenties(celcius), our room (the quadruple room) was incredibly hot and we were not allowed to use the air conditioner at this time of year (common issue I've read not just from this hotel). So we had to fully open all the windows. Not only did we have to open the windows, but we had to pull the sheer curtains to the side as they were thick enough to block the flow of outside air - being on the 1st floor (up one flight of stair to clarify) meant that by doing this people could see into our room. We had to keep them open all night. While we didn't get any mosquitoes or other bugs in the room, if there are times of the year when they are around this could be an issue. I can't quite correlate why it got so hot - it was like there was a nuclear generator under our floor (maybe the kitchen was underneath?). The beds in the room were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the wireless worked well. The front desk was a great help in booking a gondola ride and the restaurant that is part of this hotel is beautifully located (overlooks the basin/lagoon), but was probably a little overpriced for the quality of the food (it was nice... but expensive, as is most of Venice). This was the most expensive accomodation we paid for on our 6 week round the world trip, and while this was in a great location in Venice and generally a nice hotel, didn't quite feel it was the best value.
From a location perspective - you couldn't get much better. From an accomodation perspective, this particular room wasn't that comfortable, and you might want to check if other rooms are cooler.

Room Tip: The quadruple room was very hot unless you had all the windows open - might pay to confirm if other...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booshly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Got to the hotel and was told there was a problem with the room. We would have to stay in the hotel "next door". Ended up dragging our luggage 3 blocks down and 2 blocks off of the canal across multiple stairway/bridges to there partner hotel. We had extra luggage due to the different climates on this extended trip. We were later told by a local that the Wildner is noted for overbooking so that it can feed business to it's partner hotels away from the canal. If you book here, you take your chances.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cityterry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. It was not our intention to overbook. Unfortunately our system was still showing availability even though your room was occupied by another guest for 2 more nights.
On the morning of your arrival we kindly explained to you what happened and we were really apologetic for this situation that doesn’t normally happen. We therefore booked another 3 star hotel only 100 meters away from Pensione Wildner and a member of our staff carried your luggage there. To show you our concern in regards to this situation, we booked a superior room, a higher category comparing to the standard room you have originally booked at our hotel.
We were very surprised to see that you have rated the Pensione Wildner so badly. After your departure we have also checked how was your stay at the other hotel, and they ensured us you had a good stay. Moreover, I would like to remark the fact that we are very careful not to overbook and it was not our intention to do so.

Therefore, we would be delighted to welcome you again to the Pensione Wildner and offer you a complimentary upgrade to a room with stunning views over the Bacino di San Marco next time you come to Venice.

With our Best Regards,
Nicola Fullin
Owner
Hotel Pensione Wildner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Travellers who want to be in the prime location of Venice, in the thick of action, steps from the local water taxi system and next door to one of the most expensive hotels in Venice, this is the place to stay. It is not fancy or plush but how long does one need to spend in your room when in Venice. Too much to see, taste, hear and experience.
Minutes from anything you wish to reach in Venice. Try to stay in a canal front room so you can hear all of the activity and see all of the boats and beautfiul ships roll in and out.
Very friendly family run hotel. Restaurnat was exquisite and they offered food discounts for hotel residents.
Will absolutely be returning to this location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granddamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Wildner for 3 nights in March 2012 and were impressed by the level of service and value for money. We opted to pay a little less and stay in a room without the canal view however, given the location, the water view rooms would be great too. The hotel is within 5 mins walk to Piazza San Marco and around 10mins from Rialto bridge. Access from the train station is easy on the Vaperetto with a stop virtually at the front door. Breakfast was included which was more than adequate and there are ample restaurants very close by. The decor of the hotel is typical of most mid range Venice hotels, so not exactly modern but very clean and well maintained. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT2_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 385 in Venice
902 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,826 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#92 of 385 in Venice
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#63 of 385 in Venice
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wildner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wildner

Address: Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4161 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in Venice
#155 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $122 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wildner 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit Venice and stay in a welcoming 3-star hotel with a 19th-century flair, admire dawns and sunsets over the lagoon from the Riva degli Schiavoni while savoring the selective entrees of a Venetian panoramic restaurant and taking in the charm of Saint Mark's Square?Venice's Hotel Wildner perpetuates its old family tradition to extend cordiality and hospitality to its guests, a wonderful view over Saint Mark's Basin and a romantic restaurant featuring local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wildner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildner Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing