We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice. Not isolated, but off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Ranked #14 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent choice. Not isolated, but off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and daughter and I stayed here for a week recently (March). The location is ideal, in a quiet area but just a short walk from most major sites. The staff and facilities are excellent. Breakfast is fairly broad, and the staff are incredibly helpful (with dinner recommendations, event reservations, etc.) without being obsequious in any way. The rooms are airy, with high ceilings, and are well appointed. Our beds were very comfortable. It was a bit cool to make good use of the garden and patio, but in warm weather it would have been a lovely place to relax. I can think of no negatives at all, except that rooms seem to be priced at the upper end of the range, and the fact that if you are arriving or leaving for the airport at inconvenient hours, a private water taxi is essential. The vaporetto ride from the airport to Zattere is long and slow.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_dendrocacalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensioneaccademia, Direttore at Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for time spent to share your impressions with Tripadvisor travellers community. Thanks for your kind words very important to us.
Hope to welcome you again in Venice, -
The Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    138
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
87
251
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A well located small hotel, very quiet but located close to the Grande canal with canals on three sides, close to the Accademia bridge & vaporetto water bus stop, minutes away from Zattere stop for the Aliliguna airport water bus.

Handsome building with great facilities, well equipped and comfortable rooms, extensive breakfast choice, elegant furnishings with caring and efficient staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view. Room 24 had four windows overlooking three canals !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have just returned from spending 11 wonderful days in Venice at Pensione Accademia. Winter is my favorate season in Venice, and it has become a yearly tradition for me to spend several days in February/March in this fabulous city. I always return to Pensione Accademia, which I now consider my home in Venice.

This beautiful pensione has a great location, far enough from the crowds in Saint Mark's Square, yet within walking distance to any place you may want to go. All the staff are friendly and helpful and always make me feel at home. My room is wonderful with a view of the Grand Canal. The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious, while the atmosphere in the breakfast room makes it easy to talk to other guests. As does the sitting room with a fire place where it is great to return after a day of sightseeing to have a hot cup of tea.

I highly recommend Pensione Accademia to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Venice.

Carol from New York

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolcantore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensioneaccademia, Direttore at Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
We really appreciate your kind words: we are always trying to satisfy our Guests requests, day by day, and try to give them our best support in any situation.
Wishing to see you again Venice,
The Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just got back from a perfect 4 nights at this really special hotel. So difficult to sum up everything that made it so lovely. It was like stepping into a forgotten world of elegance, grace and good old fashioned service. The location is spot on, far enough away from San Marco to avoid the high prices and crowds but close enough to be there in jiffy. The concierges were friendliness personified, nothing was too much trouble. A particular treat for me was 'plonking' down in front of the log fire, drinking the complimentary fruit tea after walking non stop around what has to be the most amazing city. The trip was my surprise christmas present.......the best present ever!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxydoxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I wanted to be charmed by this hotel but it fell short for a number of reasons. Some of the front desk staff were simply worn out answering what must've been rather repetitive questions over the years. It showed as did the hotel. I realize that it has a certain charm and élan but scuff marks, worn out carpet,minuscule single rooms( at not minuscule prices) don't add to the experience. I think the plethora of signs, mostly in English( implying?) were annoying if not ridiculous, especially the one suggesting that one not eat the plastic fruit next to the actual fruit!
The Dorsoduro is the best quarter in which to stay....close by, convenient to water buses and local restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackoSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Once we found this place and ran the obstacle course to get to it we were greater by a friendly helpful desk clerk. He was more then helpful in getting us our room a bit early and back out the door to enjoy our stay that morning. The included breakfast was more then enough for this hungry American and some really good coffee to get us started. A roaring fire welcomed us back to the hotel in late afternoon to enjoy a spot of complimentary tea and peanuts. Our room was plenty big enough however if someone was loud in the hall we could hear them quite easily. That was made up by the church bells in the morning when we threw open the shutters and enjoyed the courtyard.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 10 it was right on the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensioneaccademia, Direttore at Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your review we highly appreciated: your comment is important to us!.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Warm regards from all the Guys at Pensione Accademia,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in one of the quieter areas, but is perfectly located. The Peggy Guggenheim, Accademia, Academia bridge, and modern art gallery are all very near by. My room was tiny, even by European standards, and the bed was the narrowest I've ever paid to sleep on. The breakfast was quite nice. There are some decent, non-touristy restaurants near the Zattare boat stop, which is also near by. Most of the desk staff were friendly and helpful, although there were one or two who were not. However, I sensed that many Venetians were not at their best during the stressful Carnivale week.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadaCabaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#19 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege

Property: Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Address: Ponte de Le Meravegie Dorsoduro 1058 | Fondamenta Bollani, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Accademia, the 17th century ancient villa surrounded by breezy, charming and relaxing gardens near the Gran Canal. We offer to our guests a peaceful stay and an excellent service brought to You by the long legacy of the Salmaso family. The perfect place in which You can live the true venician atmosphere in the earth of the city. A gentle and thoughtful staff ready to fulfill every kind of request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing