We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most expensive restaurant I've ever been to”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria dalla Zanze - CLOSED

Trattoria dalla Zanze
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most expensive restaurant I've ever been to”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I agree with all the negative reviews here. We went to this restaurant because of the recommendation from the hotel front desk and we were in for a big surprise when the check arrived. They charged 4 euros per person as cover charge. A bowl of soup, 7euros, a small plate of pasta, 15 euros. Six of us with 2 bottles of wine and each had a plate of pasta and a soup totaled 230 euros (automatic tip was also added in the bill).
We wouldn't have minded even if the service, the atmosphere, and the quality of food were average. All of them were mediocre at best.
I just hope someone who reads this would not make the same choice as we did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    32
    21
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We went on the recommendation of a local guide. Not the greatest meal I've ever had. We had a fish platter to start which was ok. We followed up with two different pastas. Neither one was spectacular. What was, was the bill. It was the most costly meal in Venice with the least amount of satisfaction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Profitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cute little place but be careful of the add ons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The food was good but either the owner didn't speak english or was just adding to the bill. It was more expensive than it should have been but we were tired and it was close to our hotel. I wouldn't go back on my next trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank eviowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
606 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“No Smiles Here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Ate here with my wife and we won't be back. It was recommended by our hotel, and we were starving, so didn't take the time to look harder. We should have. Not a smile on a face, from the waiter to the cooks. The food was below average. Too salty. Skimpy on the shrimp. And too pricy. In a less heavily trafficked location, this trattoria would die.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Trattoria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Upon check in at our Hotel in Venice, the front desk recommended this Trattoria. It was within close proximity to our hotel, no water taxi needed to get there. Our hotel call ahead so they were expecting us. When we arrived we were the only people in the restaurant...the service was great. The food was average and a bit pricy. The trattoria was clean and had authentic charm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria dalla Zanze also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing