We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little museum”
Review of Museo della Musica

Museo della Musica
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.63*
and up
Interpreti Veneziani Concert in Venice Including Music Museum
Ranked #57 of 700 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sweet little museum”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Really pleased we stumbled across this museum of musical instruments. Really interesting and something very different to explore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spiderpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    130
    27
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Venice!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The fact that this is free, is easy to stroll through and shows interesting evolutions of musical instruments over the ages. If you are an expert you will drink it in. If you are mildly interested, you can stroll in and out quickly, having seen some interesting things. Kids of most ages should find something of interest. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A museum housed in The Church of San Maurizio .”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A must stop. And it is free entry. Even if you are not an expert in music you will enjoy to see the Vivaldi music period historical instruments. In the background classic sounds. Besides you will enjoy the building itself. If you are short in time 20 min. will give you the taste of this gem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Racc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should be 4/5, but the service made it a 5!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A very good little museum, free entry, and good information boards about Vivaldi in particular.

We were dithering over which CD to buy at the shop, and the lady put each of the ones we were thinking about on the sound system. If you were there last Wednesday and were irritated by the stop-start music; apologies, it was our fault! We chose a couple and, because my wife's a flautist and they were chatting about music, she gave us a little discount on our purchase. In such a touristy city it's great to find people serving you so unjaded and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“A mandatory stop for musicians”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We found the Church of San Maurizio, that hosts the exhibition " Vivaldi e il suo tempo" on our way back to the hotel. Being a musician I quickly entered in discovering a small gem. The museum is tiny but despite the small size there are a lot of stringed instruments forming an intriguing collection. I spent there almost one hour reading the brief narrative for every, handmade, instrument exposed and admiring how some of them are still well preserved considering their age ( XVIII Century ) . It is not possible to play them but the entrance is for free. Enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo della Musica also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Museo della Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing