We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Alcyone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alcyone Hotel
Ranked #266 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Loveland, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife has asthma and fragrance allergies. When we checked into the Hotel Alcyone and went to our room the fragrances from cleaning products and other sources of fragrance were overwhelming. We couldn't stay there. They offered no help in finding us another place to stay and refused to refund us any of our stay. We booked three nights and they charged us for all three. The staff was very discourtesous and unhelpful. We asked several times over a period of three days to speak to the manager, but he or she was never there. We found a great place to stay at the hotel right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    182
    133
    69
    60
See reviews for
70
298
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just returned from a three night stay in Venice. We stayed at the Alcyone Hotel.

The Positives :
The location - its just a 200m from the San Marco and 200m from the Rialto Bridge so in terms of being central to where it is all at it really couldn't be bettered.
Breakfast - when the staff were finished gossiping with each other the basic Italien breakfast was very good including freshly baked croissants.

The Negatives:

Our room 110 was small , pretty unclean , exposed wires from overhead lights , lights not working ,mould on tiles , cold and the heating did not work , one pillow each and no offer of additional pillows. Barely a coathanger and zero closet place. The TV had four channels and one of them the BBC worldservice had no sound. Our friends room had the same issue. The staff couldn't care.

It was just so dark. You almost had to feel your way around the bedroom and the bathroom was in permanent darkness.

The hotel just smelt bad ; bad drains I guess - but did the staff care ? Not at all. Just a shrug of the shoulders saying thats Venice. Well we went into other hotels and restaurants and they didnt stink...

You know if you read all the other reviews about Venice hotels you gain the impression that all these quirks about Hotels in this city just go with the territory - small rooms , Venetian style decoration , small staircases. That's just Venice so to speak...
Sorry but I dont buy that. I think its just a combination of laziness , arrogance and ignorance - havent they ever visited anywhere else in the world? I'm British and we have programmes like Faulty Towers so I know we're not perfect! But when you stay at a place thats costing a bucket load (at least to us) and you're on holiday expecting to have a good time the least you could hope for from a hotel is a modicum of enthusiastic energy and intent to please from the staff and at least to keep the hotel clean and bright.
Sorry I couldn't recommend it other than the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night with my girlfriend in this hotel and it was a nightmare. Room and toilet were disgustingly dirty....I ask the reception (if reception can be called) and they say that's its standard because they don't care about cleanness as soon as the only have "spot" turists...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simboloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel Alcyone is a very short walk from the Rialto bridge at the Grand Canal. The water buses and taxis are easily accessible which means not far to walk with your suitcases, no stairs to climb, no canals to cross. it's also an easy walk to San Marco square. Shops and restaurants surround the area. Gondolas glide past the back door to the hotel making breakfast in the cantina a delightful experience.

Room Tip: there are NO elevators, so aim for the lowest floor possible. Rooms are small so adding an extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We loved this little hotel, it was so clean and the location could not be better. Nice breakfast in the morning, right next to a canal, Gondolas start coming past at 9am! Venice is such a beautiful city, we stayed here 4 nights and would definitely stay again. Lovely rooms, very quiet, only downside is that the bathrooms are a bit small, but its hard to find En-Suite rooms in Venice at this price point. Oh, and there's no lift, didn't bother us as we travel light, but a few people had shocked looks on their faces that had cases almost as big as they were!
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved this little hotel which is just around the corner from Rialto Bridge & close to St Marks Square. Take a Canal room & you'll be serenaded by passing gondolas singing haunting operatic pieces as they pass your window - priceless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CGinEspania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and the hotel overall is very nice. The rooms are small and our window was away from the street, hence there was little light. But if you want to explore the city, it doesn't matter.

Breakfast was alright, fresh fruit and some bread, cereal and good coffee.

For the price it's ok, the walk from the San Marcos square is short and you are right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krushaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#178 of 385 in Venice
318 reviews
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#145 of 385 in Venice
773 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#225 of 385 in Venice
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#120 of 385 in Venice
758 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#205 of 385 in Venice
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcyone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcyone Hotel

Property: Alcyone Hotel
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4712, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcyone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alcyone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcyone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing