We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making it a special trip - don't miss it!”

Acquolina Cooking School
Ranked #5 of 37 Food & Drink in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marika's warm, functional kitchen equipped with the most modern technology, you will have the pleasure of preparing both typical venitian dishes and more, using the fresh herbs grown in the garden of the beautiful old venitian villa: villa inespartecipate actively in the preparation of ravioli, tagliatelle, risotti, local specialty of fish and meat, vegetables and dessert.each class last for 4 hours and finished with tasting of the menu prepared. Maximum 10. Folder with recipes is given to each partecipant
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Making it a special trip - don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Now, that's been my second 'Acquolina' cooking class on Lido island with Marika.

Loved it, once more. This time I've brought a friend, cooking away the day - preparing Venetian classics in this beautiful surrounding.
Marika is a very friendly and professional host, showing everyone how to make pasta, chop fresh tuna and clean the shellfish.

Marika shows how easy it is to cook a proper Italian meal with seasonal produce.

Even more stunning - and truly a unique experience, Marika's family invited us to visit their glass factory on Murano island. That's been one of these very rare and unforgettable experiences, seeing real glassblowers working on a huge chandelier. I wish I'd live in a palazzo because then I'd definitely get one!

You are into culinary and cultural experiences?
Then 'Acquolina' is the place to go - I am sure I'll go back once more...!

Thank you, Marika, for making my trips to the laguna special by adding real 'flavour' to my travels!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    4
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome! Awesome! Awesome Week!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Ines for a week while in Venice and did four wonderful sessions with Chef Marika. There's not much more to add that hasn't been said in all the previous reviews, other than Marika knows her stuff... she's fun, entertaining, and highly personable... and if you enjoy good food and the creativity/pleasure in making good food, then Acquolina is a definite must do while in Venice!

Marika and Stefano... thank you for making our stay in Venice outright awesome!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JVtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Day in Venice”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family of five including three teenage boys had a wonderful day with Marika. We were joined by four other wonderful people.

We began by touring the Rialto Market and gathering food for meal. Marika pointed out many interesting pieces of information that we will take home with us. We then visited two wine bars and tasted some delicious food and wine. We even went back to one of them the next day it was so delicious.

After our tastings we enjoyed a water taxi ride over to Lido and to Marika's to begin cooking and eating. Marika got everyone involved and our boys had a great time. The food was excellent and we enjoyed chatting with everyone.

Thank you Marika for a wonderful day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank theburgh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Acquolina Cooking Class with Marika Seguso”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I took the Venetian Vegetables and Homemade Pasta class with Chef Marika Seguso on June 17, 2013. There were 9 of us in the class that day. The planned recipes were: Verdurine Fritte, Tagliatelle con Datterini Caramellati e Basilico, Fondi di Carciofo Brasati al Timo, and Tiramisu al Cioccolato. We were all given aprons to put on, and we were assigned certain tasks. The table was already set, so we were immediately put to work in the kitchen. The spacious kitchen area was a whirlwind of culinary activity with all of the students, plus Marika and her assistant. Marika kept us on track as we moved swiftly from one project to another, all the while giving instructions, encouragement, and culinary tips as we went along. Fresh basil was plucked from the pot where it grew on the kitchen counter; Marika's assistant snipped herbs from the Villa Ines' garden (lemon thyme, thyme, curly parsley, and flat parsley). The home-made pasta was the most challenging part of the class and we all enjoyed trying our hand at it. We were all kept so busy and we were having such a wonderful time that is seemed impossible that three hours of "prep" time had flown by. But now we were able to sample all the delicious food we'd prepared. After toasting our fabulous chef and her assistant, the students spent the 4th and final hour of the class critiquing and sampling each dish and hoping that we would be able to reproduce the recipes at home. But to truly appreciate the experiences of preparing and tasting these Italian specialties, I strongly recommend taking one of Marika's classes yourself! She is not only an expert chef, but also has the special gift of making each student feel that he or she could achieve the same culinary "special effects" at home as she demonstrated in her state-of-the-art kitchen at the Villa-Ines in Lido, Venezia. (For more details on this class, find my complete review at thebaynetdotcom under "fun" and "dining spotlight".)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellynne Brice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Day!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had the best day with Marika, and it was one of our favourite highlights from our 4 week holiday.
Delicious food, and super friendly and informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HT7485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acquolina Cooking School also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Acquolina Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing