We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a superb location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a very good hotel. The location is minutes from St Mark's Square and from the Allilaguna and Vaporetto stops. The hotel itself is a very tastefully modified palazzo, our room retained its full height and original ceiling by having a double bed on a mezzanine with a superb marble bathroom, with separate bath and shower beneath, plus a sofa downstairs and 2 flat screen TVs, one on each level!

Service from the staff at breakfast and the front desk is both friendly and unobtrusive. The breakfast provided a good choice and the evening meal we had in the restaurant was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aitch11Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

This is a lovely little hotel in an excellent location. It was easy to get to upon arrival (took the Alilaguna from the airport) and wonderfully central for all the major sights in San Marco and beyond. We arrived in the middle of afternoon, and were promptly shown to our room, which was on the first floor and easy to get to - they brought up our luggage for us. The moment we stepped in, we knew we made the right choice. The room seemed newly refurbished and was beautifully decorated, the bed had a headboard with a painted bucolic scene (very Italian!), there was a lovely Venetian glass chandelier (very Venetian!), and the bathroom had the best shower and bath tub I have seen in a hotel (and I travel a lot!). It wasn't a huge room but it offered plenty of space for what we needed and we loved returning to it after a day of wondering around Venice.

The service was friendly and very helpful - I had a couple of special requests, such as tracking down a great grappa we tasted at one of the osterias and the concierge went above and beyond trying to locate it. Another concierge was equally helpful, with plentiful recommendations for places to eat that were based on his own experience and were obviously local haunts. We felt welcome and looked after.

The only slight negative was a lack of decent internet connection - in order to connect one had to go to 1st floor to a specially designated area in a rather beautiful drawing room. The connection, when it happened, was very slow and couldn't handle my usual browsing habits. On the positive side, it is inexpensive at 3 euros for 3 hours. As I was on holidays, I wasn't too bothered but a wifi (or any internet connection) in the room would have made the hotel perfect for me.

All in all, we liked hotel Saturnia (and Venice) so much that we plan to return regularly, and will always try to stay here, if at all possible.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriana872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Just had the most wonderufl stay at the Hotel Saturnia. The location is fantastic - on the best shopping street in Venice, a few minutes walk from St Marks Square one way and the Accademia Bridge the other. Our room was very nice - although looking at the pictures on the website was definitely not the best one! Breakfast very fresh and filling. We had complimentary tea in the bar in the afternoon - very restful (only in Jan I think though). Has a fabulous restaurant attached although we didn't eat there - this time. The concierge was so knowledgeable and helpful - a real asset to the Hotel. We can't wait to re-visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was our third trip to Venice, but our first with our four children. Our expectations were exceeded by this magnificent hotel. The interconnecting rooms we requested actually ended up being an enormous two bedroom apartment - we felt like we were living in our very own Venetian palace! Warm and friendly staff, beautiful decor, spacious and clean rooms and superb location made this hotel exceptional. Dining at the hotel's superb Restaurant La Caravella was the icing on the cake, making our experience and memories of Venice perfect. Make sure you order their Tiramisu! We will definitely return and would never stay anywhere else in Venice. Grazie mille Saturnia!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BC-TD-LATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I booked our first trip to Venice as a surprise birthday treat for my husband & we stayed at the Hotel Saturnia. We were so impressed with the hotel - a beautiful, surprisingly large room, the service was personal yet professional and the restaurant La Caravella was outstanding. All attempts to speak Italian were gratefully received! It was the most wonderful experience and we shall never forget it. A big thank you to all the staff at this very special hotel and restaurant for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoyo1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We enjoyed very much our stay in the Saturnia Hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The atmosphere is great, and the location is superb. We shall come again in 2011.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skieroo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Overall a very nice service. Location is key and you won t be disappointed. Would recommend without any reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,468 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,299 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing