We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #39 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Since our last stay at the Saturnia with Princess Cruise Lines was so great, we decided to make our next stay an extended one. We've had nothing but a great experience with the management of the hotel! Greta-Zoe, Miriam, Ugo and all the others have confirmed year-out reservations and advised us about every transportation question we have come up with. We're really looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAPADUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear " Papaducks ",
just always feel absolutekly free to contact us for any further information you may need.
We do are pleased to assist you.
We look forward to welcome you again September next year !!!
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 2,508 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We are 29/f and 37/m on from New York

Our first trip to Venice and it started off crazy. Water Taxi took over an hour to get us to "San Marco" taxi stop and we were already a little lost. Got off the water taxi and knew that the hotel was near San Marco square but still walked around aimlessly for like 20 minutes until we found it!

Then we get there and we booked the wrong dates!!!!

Thank goodness for the amazing staff that told us not to worry and that they would take care of it. They got us another room ( thankfully they weren't sold out) and a nice bottle of Prosecco for our honeymoon. This was truly a sign of how a Family Run Hotel makes that big of a difference! The entire staff was amazing and they were able to answer all of our questions and we had a bunch and whatever else we needed they were more than happy to help!

We never ate at the restaurant, but we did have wine and cheese in the front sitting/bar area which was great.

The location of the hotel was great also, right near St Mark's square bit far away enough that it wasn't crazy all the time.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone that I know and we would most certainly go back. The friendly and helpful staff alone made our trip to Venice amazing! "Grazie Mille"

Our advice for first timers, know where the hotel is and have a plan (better than ours) on how to get there!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RobbJenn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear RobbJenn21,

well, while reading the beginning of your review I thought: oh my gosh it all went wrong, then suddenly your comment became extremely positive because of our service and I was very pleased to understand you've definitively enjoyed your stat at the Saturnia & International and the snack had at La Caravella.
As you were in honeymoon, may we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next wedding anniversaries ?
Yours truly
Greta - Zoe Serandrei
ps. tripadvisor community: ask for directions to reach our Hotel...we're centrally located and easy to find : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Because of great reviews here at trip advisor we decided to chose Hotell Saturnia in Venice, and we loved it. It was great service, spacious and beautiful room, awesome breakfast buffet! The location is superb!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear " Jacquelux ",
glad you've loved our Hotel and you've decided to share your opinion on the tripadvisor community. Pleased to know then you've enjoyed our breakfast, that we're even trying to improve. Till your next visit,
yours truly
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a week as part of a tour group with Smithsonian Journeys. The hotel was very clean, well located and the staff was friendly and could not do enough for you. My room was a decent size with a full tub and full separate shower and the heated towel racks in the bathroom were a nice treat. There was a variety of food offered at breakfast, as is typical of other European countries and you had only to ask for whatever you wanted and the staff would try to accommodate you. Do try the lovely british organic breakfast tea if you are a tea drinker, it is delightful. It is true the windows did not have screens as mentioned in other comments, but there were blinds and shutters you could close if needed to keep any mosquitos and outside noise out. (I heard no noise except for the occasional gondolier singing). Having traveled all over the world I found this hotel with its charming architectural nooks and crannies to be preferable to a more modern property. The service was excellent and I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mrs. Cathy,
I do thank you very much for the wondferul review you share on the tripadvisor community on our Hotel. Great you've appreciated our atmoshere as well as our room and the service provided during your stay. This make us very proud. Our Hotel is managed by my family since 1908 and our goal has always been guests' satisfaction.
Now you know the brand of our special english tea, I do hope you'll be able to buy some, in case you'll not, come and visit us again :) I will be pleased to drink a cup with you ! :)
Your truly
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a nice 3 night stay here for a family birthday. Our room had recently been renovated and had cool library print wallpaper behind the bed. It was a good size room and the bathroom was well equipped with a great shower. It also looked out over the water at the back of the hotel so we often heard guitars and singing from gondoliers as we got ready to go out for the day after breakfast.
The breakfast buffet was lovely with a good selection of hot and cold buffet items. The staff were very helpful at breakfast and at the reception desk. They arranged a trip by private water taxi to a glass factory in Murano for us one morning. It's ultimately a sales pitch by the factory but we got to go behind the scenes and see the glassware being made.
It is in a good location only 5 mins from San Marco Square in one direction and from Academia bridge in the other. We found good restaurants just 2 minutes away adjacent to the opera house, although our best meal was actually in the hotel restaurant. Not cheap but excellent quality. The hotel also arranged for private water taxis to collect and drop us off at the airport which was great, a treat if you can afford it.
We stayed in unseasonably warm October which was the only complaint with the hotel as the bedrooms were very warm and management said there was no air con. This meant we slept with the windows open and consequently attracted quite a few Mosquitos and therefore mozzie bites. I would advise taking a mosquito plug/repellant with you wherever you stay in Venice unless it's the dead of winter.
Other reviewers mentioned loud glass collection noises, which I was a bit concerned about as we were at the back of the hotel, however we only heard this on one morning and it was after 8am so it didn't bother us as we were getting up then anyway.
I would recommend this hotel if you want good customer service and to be centrally located close to the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbigailWood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest,

thanks for your very kind and long review and thanks for having decided to share your opinion with the community of tripadvisor. No need to tell you such a kind of reviews make us feel very proud of our efforts 'cause our goal is guest's satisfaction.

Glad you've appreciated our Hotel as well as our restaurant La Caravella where you've decided to have a meal.

We hope to welcome you again,
kindest regards
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I started our honeymoon off in Venice, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice to stay at this hotel! First off, the location is superb - very close walk from 2 vaparetto stations and a short jaunt to Piazza San Marco. From start to finish we received such outstanding service. The room was beyond our expectation, very large and beautiful and with windows that overlooked a rio with the occasional gondola tour that would go by! They were also gracious enough to have a bottle of Prosseco on ice delivered to our room as we were celebrating our honeymoon. We looked forward to the buffet breakfast every morning (especially the fresh squeezed orange juice) - which was included in the price of the room. We also appreciated having free wifi in our room, to help organize our trip. And we can't say enough about the front staff/concierge who were always so helpful with any of our questions or needs. We were well looked after and it was the perfect start to our honeymoon! Thank you Hotel Saturnia!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRobinson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Madam,

I am very pleased to hear we've been exceding your expecations and you've considered us the perfect start for your honeymoon.

Pleased you've enjoyed our hotel, location and service.
We wait to welcome you to celebrate your future wedding anniversaries !!!
Best wishes to the two of you,
kindest regards
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We got in after 11pm and there was someone to meet our water taxi and take our bags to our room. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful, and explained everything to us clearly. Our room was great! It was clean and comfy, and overlooked a canal. There was some noise from dishes in the restaurant across the canal, but we were able to close the windows and turn on the fan, then we slept fine. The breakfast buffet was awesome! So many items available, and hot coffee that was served to us by a waiter coming by. We also took the free water taxi, provided by the hotel, to Murano, and enjoyed the tour, the lack of pressure to buy, and the hour or so we had to walk around.

Warning: There is no air conditioning. It's easy enough to find reviews like this one on-line that state that fact. Yet, we saw a guy come to the desk and complain and get very upset because his room didn't have air conditioning! He went on and on, and I felt sorry for the desk guy who, even so, was very polite to this man. The charm of the hotel, the friendliness of the people that work there, the free trip to Murano, the comfortable beds....there is so much good about this hotel! There's a restaurant right in the hotel that's been there for years also. It's a 5-7 minute walk to Piazza San Marcos (St. Mark's Square), so it's in a wonderful location!

My husband and I plan to stay in this hotel again if we ever get back to Venice!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the canal, despite the noise from the restaurant across the canal. It was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missionminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

What can I say ?! Thank you very much for your kind review and ... support : )
We really hope you'll decide someday to come back to Venice and lodge again in our Hotel. In this case do not forget to check for the best rate on our website or contact me !!!
I would be pleased to assist you step by step.
From all of us a big THANK YOU
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,475 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,888 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,303 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $112 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing