We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to all its good reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #40 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. The room was lovely, quiet, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was a treat, with a good variety of cold and hot dishes available. Staff members were helpful, friendly and very courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room away from street for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a must when looking for exquisite dining in Venice. Claudio, our personal sommelier, paired outstanding wines with our four course dinner. We were surprised by the friendly staff, amazing service and all of the special extras provided during our wine tasting experience. Be prepared to spend several hours as you experience the award winning wines of Italy with a variety of culinary delights. I would absolutely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LauraBrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We made reservations for this hotel while we were in Rome. So I picked this hotel out last minute. I found it on TripAdvisor. So I love that I am now able to review the hotel for others to learn about it.

This hotel has a lot of charm. It is set very close to Piazza San Marco aka St. Mark's Square so it’s location was excellent. We were able to easily get from the train station to the hotel by taking a public ferry ( luggage and all). The public water boat was lovely as we were able to gaze at the gorgeous sites along the way to our hotel.

Once we landed at the doc at Piazza San Marco it was a few blocks to our hotel. The only caveat with a lot of luggage is going over 2 bridges that cross the canals. Another option of course is to hire a water taxi for about $80 Euros, but we found it more fun and exciting to lug our bags around and really get a feel of the city.

It had been 20 years since my last visit to Venice ( also with my mom). They say it hasn’t changed too much. It’s still just as gorgeous and dreamy.

The hotel was absolutely charming. Lots of dark wood, including hardwood floors in our bedrooms. We had 2 rooms on the street side. We overlooked some high end shopping near the square.

At night going to the square and enjoying the classical music on the plaza was a delight. And we loaded up on Gelato ice cream more than we should have.

One of the traditional canal tours with the gondola ( optional accordion player and singer) is only steps from this hotel as well.

Loved this hotel and would highly recommend it or something similar in this neighborhood.

Also, of note, the public boat that we came in on from the train station can take you just about anywhere in Venice and you can buy a pass that you can use for 24 or 48 hours. It's very easy to get around from this hotel. We even took a day trip to the beach.

I'll upload a few photos when I have time.

If you enjoyed this review please check that little box that says so, it just makes me feel good to know I'm not wasting my time doing all this typing.

Ciao!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank MelissaBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is an excellent choice for a stay in Venice. I found this hotel after trawling hotel price comparison sites, but ended up booking with the hotel directly as it was cheaper. The reviews on TA are not wrong. This hotel deserves its excellent reviews. The hotel is no more than 5 minutes walk from all of the attractions in and around st marks square. It is very easy to find on foot. Location is great, on a high class shopping street with top brand jewelers and fashion brands. The welcome was excellent and all the staff spoke very good English. I also heard guests being spoken to in French and German too. Our room 86 was excellent. We had a large (for Venice) room which was decorated beautifully, a queen bed and a lovely balcony with a table and two chairs that overlooked the rooftops and the courtyard below where you take the very good buffet breakfast. Breakfast has a selection of eggs, bacon, sausage plus lots of fruit, yogurts, meat, cheese, breads, pastries and croissants etc. Something for everyone. Hot drinks are served at your table by a waiter. The default only seems to be that you are offered one pot of coffee/tea. If you want more, you will have to ask, it won't just be offered. The hotel also has a excellent roof terrace with loungers, cabana, and showers, plus a great view. The hotel has a restaurant too that anyone can eat in, you don't have to be staying here. We had some fresh flowers and a bottle of Prosecco placed in our room too as I let them know in advance it was our anniversary. A very nice touch. The hotel can also be reached directly by water as they have a water door directly on to one of the little canals. Good wifi and AirCon too. I have absolutely no reservation in recommending this hotel to anyone and if we ever return to Venice, I would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 86 was great. It overlooked the courtyard. We were very happy with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Display_Name99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks for your nice review. We're very pleased to hear you've enjoyed our Hotel and the service provided. We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again.
warmest regards
Greta - Zoe Serandrei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our Mediterranean cruise and found the stay EXTREMELY pleasant. The hotel is located in an upscale shopping area (very safe for two females traveling alone) a very short walk to St. Mark's square and other major Venice attractions. It has a lot of "charm" to it being in a very old building. Given the age of the hotel (and general size of hotel rooms in Europe in general), I found the size of the rooms to be surprisingly huge! They also had a little kitchen with a stove-top and dining area which would have been great for a longer stay (given how $$$ Venice is in general!!). The bathroom, while not large, was modern and well-appointed. The beds, like many in Europe, were very firm and the linens were kind of old school (not my favorite). The wi-fi was extremely fast and FREE. The included breakfast, out in the courtyard-garden type area, was very pleasant and included a lot more than you would typically find in a free-hotel breakfast (i.e. some hot items as well!). The staff was also helpful in providing directions and suggestions. If I come back to Venice, I would absolutely stay here again. It was very charming and a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollyx113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Being 100 years old and a former residence, it has character and charm coupled with a GREAT location and friendly, helpful staff! Just 3 minutes to St Marks Square and maybe 10 minutes to the Rialto bridge, this place is a gem of a find. It is right on a main walking path with a Gucci store and art gallery right outside the front door. It is easy to get to by walking or by water taxi and very safe to walk around at night.

Breakfast is served in the courtyard and it was very nice, but typical "included" breakfast with breads, croissants, deli meat, cheese, eggs, and some sweet tarts/breads. Overall, very good and it was nice to sit outside in a city which appears to have no "yard" space.

The staff was super helpful. They even organized a trip to Murano Island to see a glass factory FREE OF CHARGE.....water taxi to/from included. They had great recommendations for dinner and the restaurant on-site looks fantastic, although I am sorry to say I did not try it but should have!

Lastly, the rooms...oh my! It is like stepping back in time with big, chunky wood hand-carved furniture with dressers, cabinets, desks, and chairs all literally 100 years old and very well maintained! Although the wood floor creaked at every step, the bathroom was modern and super clean with great toiletries, and the bed and pillows were super comfortable!

I would gladly recommend this hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you difficult to get the room during high season in venice, try this hotel. not in centre of rialto but is a great location to walk around too.Just walking distance to Basilica di San Marco and jaround 20 minutes walk to Rialto Bridge.Arrived from water taxi just behind the hotel and straight away to the reception, very convenient.As many other hotels in venice dont expect the big rooms, but this hotel the rooms were ok, not to big and not to small.Breakfast is in the garden or i the restaurants depend on the weather and the staff are friendly and helpful.And traveling with teens this hotel is lovely because you got wifi in the room and it is Free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arya_Swadharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#76 of 387 in Venice
1,963 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,959 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#27 of 387 in Venice
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $128 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing