We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #36 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice and a friend had recommended this hotel. We had a comfortable room which overlooked the canal. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a wonderful dinner, with excellent service, at the hotel's restaurant. On our last day we left our bags at the hotel and picked them up late in the day as we took the alilaguna water bus to the airport. Great location, close to St. Mark's Square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    604
    103
    24
    23
See reviews for
608
1,290
47
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the Saturnia for a few days on a rail tour to Paris, Milan and Venice returning by the Orient Express.
The hotel has a dark imposing interior. The male reception staff are quite professional. I stayed in room 108, a nice room with a satisfactory bed. A considerable intermittent noise came from the alley outside. I had made a request for a room between the third and sixth floor with the tour operators [Great Rail Journeys ], who said they had communicated this request to the hotel. The request was ignored.
On one day my room was not made up. I told the man at the reception about this. He courteously arranged to have the room made up. However I afterwards found out that a bottle of my eye drops had been removed from the fridge. Fortunately I had a spare bottle of drops. It would appear that the chambermaid , on not receiving a tip had failed to make up the room. Then on being obliged to do the work she was paid to do, had taken the bottle of drops. I make it a habit not to give in to the petty extortion known as tipping, and certainly will not let this incident alter my policy.
An evening meal at the hotel was quite good.

Room Tip: Room 108 is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thunderer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
two things I absolutely need to clarify.
We always take care and satisfy all clients' requests, so if we did not assign a room on higher floor it is not because we ignored your request but just because the travel agency never informed us about your special request ( I checked personally the rooming list and there was nothing reported near by your name ).

Then, the most important thing, I need to express my complete disappointment in reading that you consider that a person, in this case a chambermaid, could decide not to make up your room because she was not tipped and then once recalled by the front desk that she decides to trash your bottle of eye drops, just to tease you.

This is something completely far from our menthality. This is an hotel with professional staff working in the Hotellerie with care and diligence.
I wonder how you can imagine such a malicious plan.

Kindest regards
Greta - Zoe Serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great hotel and location and within walking distance to see all the attractions of Venice. The hotel has great charm and even some of the creaking floors add to this charm. Special mention must be made of Andrew on the Front Desk, the management has a winner in him, always with a smile and every helpful. The boat trip to Murano and Burano arranged by Andrew was greatly appreciated. The food in the restaurant and breakfast was of a high standard.

Room Tip: Next time we stay I would like a room with a balcony, but our room was very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Loved our room (203) but if the weather is nice, it's right above the garden (outdoor) part of the restaurant, which is quite noisy until late at night. Our room looked like it had been renovated, especially electrically, but the furniture was dated. The bed was comfortable but harder than I'm used to. The hotel location is great, and walking distance to lots of attractions. St. Mark's square is very close, but extremely crowded. Long lines for everything. The hotel staff was nice and very helpful.

The restaurant was excellent but a little pricy. The food was great. I had a beef filet with vegetables and potato's, and my wife had a sea bass dish that was "to die for". The free breakfast included in our package was very good with lots of choices. There are lots of eating choices throughout the area. If you don't want a large meal for lunch, there are many small walk-in "snack" bars that offer sandwiches, beer and wine, and gellato shops to take the edge off any appetites.

Have to put in a high five for Costco who booked our trip. We've used them several times and they always do a good job and recommend good places.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank augiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, easy walk to St. Mark's Plaza and shopping. The staff was friendly and made great suggestions. The hotel restaurant was very elegant (make sure you make reservations) and the garden patio was good as well.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relichuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our third week-long visit to this hotel in 15 years. Little has changed in that time. We like its central situation and friendly and very helpful staff on the front desk and in the restaurant, but it is old and rather dark. As this was a special anniversary we booked a 'junior suite', which turned out to be a very large single room (205) with wooden partitions screening off the bed area and a dressing area with open hanging space. There were two padded armless upright chairs behind a small table and one large armchair with broken springs. Although we had hoped the room would provide somewhere comfortable to sit in the late afternoon after returning from a walk, we still ended up sitting on the beds. The room was quite gloomy even with all the lights on and the shutters open, as the windows overlooked a narrow canal with another building immediately opposite. The air conditioning, although not noisy, struggled, even at full power, to reduce the temperature below 20°C. However, the twin beds were comfortable, the ensuite bathroom modern and well appointed, the minibar well stocked and the cleanliness could not be faulted. There was also free WiFi in the room.

Breakfast was generally satisfactory with hot and cold alternatives, but on some days there was the facility to squeeze fresh orange juice and on other days only an insipid squash as an alternative. Fruit salad was also inconsistently available. We dined once in La Caravella restaurant, and were not disappointed. The food was good and the service prompt.

The reception area has a small amount of seating but is really a wide corridor. There is an open lounge on the first floor but this is very dark and uninviting.

One cautionary note. During a previous visit, we took advantage of a 'free' taxi to Murano to visit a glass factory. All went well until we entered the showroom after the demonstration, at which point whenever we appeared to show any interest in an item on display, our escort's presence became oppressive. When we eventually found this unbearable and indicated that we wished to leave without purchasing, we were bundled unceremoniously out of the back door and told we must arrange our own transport back to the hotel. We subsequently purchased some expensive items from other outlets.

Room Tip: 'Junior suites' do not offer value for money. Unless you definitely want a decorated ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186378JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mr. M.

so very surprise to read your review as we thought you left the Hotel after a third nice-week passed at the Saturnia !
Room 205 ( not sure what you mean by saying " it turned out to be a very large single room " ) is a large junior suite of about 40 square meters plus the bathroom and it overlooks the small canal we have on the back which is generally really appreciated 'cause all gondolas passed by and our clients consider it very typical.

It is located on the first floor of the Hotel so of course is darker than a room on higher floors, but our guests always like it very much and no one ever before reported this peculiarity.

I must admit anyway you're right regarding the armachairs which I both tried a few minutes ago and need to be fix. In any case if you could have informed us during your stay we would have been very pleased to substitute them with a valid alternative.

Glad you've appreciated our service and front staff as well as our La Caravella restaurant.

We hope to welcome you for your fourth visit!!!

Kindest regards
Greta - Zoe Serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is within a reasonable walking distance from the water bus stop and St. Mark's Square. The good attributes end there. The hotel is outdated and noisy. I'm pretty sure the bathroom in our friend's room was still from 1970 (room 74). Our room overlooked the kitchen and we heard the clanking of dishes most of the night (room 77). Unfortunately, we were completely unpacked and tired from a day touring that it was too late at night to put in the effort to ask for a new room. The bed was awful! Hard pillows and no cushion--probably no box spring. There is wifi in different parts of the hotel but it did not work in our room (limited to common areas). The staff was ok but not friendly to the extent of the reviews we read online beforehand. They seemed to have an attitude of snootiness and it was not endearing. We took the free water taxi ride to Murano and while the ride itself was vey nice, we were limited to visiting one glass factory with a high price point compared to other places on the island. Given the price point, there are much better options in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwinterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,009 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,489 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Property: Hotel Saturnia & International
Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#25 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing