We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Only a hop and step away from St Marks Square, a great starting point for visitors. Given an upgrade when booking in with the bed in a mezzanine, which was good. Reception efficient, after my initial exploration of the area the girl remembered my name without looking it up when I asked for my keys.(Although I was not sure if that was a good or bad thing!)

Breakfast is excellent, and entertainment was provided by a 20 somethingish guest photographing the buffet from every conceivable angle and taking a vidio of the toast moving along through the grill. That said, from an English point of view, proper back rasher bacon rather than the usual streaky version you find on the continent, along with Harrogate tea rather than the wishy washy Lipton was a welcome surprise. Did not eat other meals here, noticed a sign saying soup at 42€ so didn't bother to read further.

The hotel is in an upmarket street with an interesting art shop opposite. Early in the morning you can see the street sellers as they stick Prada and Gucci logos onto plastic handbags.


On a general note, I found, as is often the case, that once you reach areas where people were actually speaking in Italian the restaurant food was considerably cheaper and probably a lot better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianandpasturesnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

My first trip to Venice was in 1959. I've been coming regularly since then and for the last 20 years, the only place I've stayed is the Hotel Saturnia. Returning there is like returning home. The staff is known and welcoming. I love walking into my room and seeing the fresh flowers and, upon occassions, a bottle of Proseco on ice! The garden is wonderful for breakfast in the Spring and Fall and the food is good and generous. I love their Cappuchinos and look forward to them starting my mornings. Their restaurant, La Caravella has excelleent foor and I've eaten there several times.
Since they've redone the bathrooms, it's heaven! Wonderful Euopean tubs and showers, and heated towel rods, not needed in summer but delicious in winter. All of the concierge staff are knowledgeable and helpful, but Andrea tops the list. He has been a great help with both small or unusual requests. I can't imgaine staying anywhere else in Venice!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmfiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a little jewel of a hotel in the San Moise district, in the fashion shopping area and ten minutes walk from San Marco. Over a hundred years old, the hotel exudes old world charm and our room was very elegant and spacious (for Venice). The staff here are very friendly indeed and helpful especially on the hotel desk. There is an excellent breakfast and the Hotel restaurant - La Caravella - is very popular with locals and rightly so. The cuisine and presentation are superb and again the staff are very friendly. if you stay here I do recommend an evening in La Caravella - prices are similar to London.
We stayed here on a Citybreak with Guardian Newspaper holidays and the package was operated by AA Getaways.
So for elegant surroundings, old world charm and a warm welcome this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here as a solo traveller looking for some peace and quiet in one of the few 'down' periods in the Venetian calendar. This hotel was a perfect choice. All staff were most courteous, the room I stayed in was glorious in its idiosyncratic furnishing and the generous dimensions of the room, the bathtub was a wonderful luxury, and the hotel had excellent and lavish public spaces for guests to enjoy. The concierge can help you with just about anything, and the hotel is very conveniently located within easy walking distance of San Marco, the Accademia, and Rialto. The only criticisms I have are the usual European lack of glassware in the room, and yes, the coffee at breakfast was disappointing. But otherwise a beautiful place for a holiday.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank theproseclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were taken straight to the back door in the motor taxi - so easy! This hotel is comfortable although I would not describe it as luxurious. Our room was big enough, with a dressing room/lobby and a wonderful huge very modern bathroom. The breakfast was good, but the coffee very disappointing, a small detail. The staff were charming and extremely helpful. However the location of the hotel is the biggest attraction as it is so close to everything, but also very quiet. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMMDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the decor is nice and new. I would recommend staying there. We stayed on the 30th of december and was about 250Euros which I thought was reasonable. We couldnt check in till about 3pm which was weird, but we managed to be sent to a bar to watch Chelsea play

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GregBunkall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in the world. First visited in 1971 and can't visit as often as I'd like, but if I'm in Venice, I'm there. We feel like returning family when we visit. The staff is cordial and there is just enough luxury to make you happy but not off-putting. I love this hotel!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $114 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing