We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saturnia & International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

In a nutshell....yes it is really close to St. Marks, but that's not worth:

- waking up with bug bites every morning from sleeping in a 100 year old bed (gross)
- sleeping horily in an awful bed
- rude staff WORTHLESS in providing any guidence to a tourist
- old run down rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Madam,
what a bad surprise !!! Everyday we check tripadvisor to see if everything went right with our guests, if we were good enough to satisfy them or sometimes to see if there’s something we can do better or we can improve, but in your case we were attonished. Such a bad review was really not expected.

While you were here we felt like everything was right with you and that you were satisfied with your room.
In case you were not - altough it’s strange ‘cause we never had a single complaint on your room – you should have asked our reception staff to see another one and to be moved.

We have about 90 rooms in the Hotel all different one from the other ( a few very classic, a few Venetian style, a few modern etc… ) so I am sure we would have been able to satisfy your taste.

Regarding the rude staff then, again attonished, ‘cause I know all staff at the front desk is always very pleased to assist all our guests and infact we generally have always really good reviews on the service provided in our property.

Kindest regards
Greta – Zoe Serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    551
    98
    22
    22
See reviews for
556
1,193
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Saturnia and just loved the hotel. Our room, while small by american standards, was beautiful with classic venetian decor and a very comfortable bed.! The chandelier was gorgeous, the bathroom lovely and all very spotless. And our room, even though on the canal, was very quiet.
The staff was wonderful, providing assistance with our transport from train station to hotel as well as making restaurant reservations and just being helpful and friendly.Breakfast was a very nice selection of hot and cold choices well prepared and fresh.
While Venice overall is very expensive , the Saturnia was good value.They provide a complimentary round trip water taxi to Murano to have a private tour of the glass blowing factory .We found the tour very impressive and while there was a hope that we would buy a substantial piece, there was no real pressure.
The proximity to St. mark's made it an ideal location for a short stay and the hotel has a wonderful restaurant which we sampled our first night.
Would definitely return to this delightful gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely hotel, very helpful and friendly staff. Position excellent, located very close to St Marks sq.
Ate in the restaurant one night, and was very happy, breakfast very good also. Enjoyed drinks on the rooftop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

First visit to Italy an Venice was out first stop in our honeymoon. The best part of the hotel was the concierge, Andrea. He was so helpful and always greeted us with a smile and even on the last day when he was getting a cold, he was still very helpful. The room was very nice with a balcony overlooking a neighborhood and the top of a church in the distance (86). Breakfast was pretty good and the room was more than adequate. Bathroom was very nice and modern, but showering did get floors and nearby items quite wet. Although, this seems to be the standard with a few exceptions in Italy. Overall, great stay and will definitely stay again when we come back sometime!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drumma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here two nights and found it to be a lovely hotel in a convenient location. Our room was big by Italian standards, and the bathroom especially bright and spacious. The lovely bed did have a mattress that needed to be replaced, but it was not a disaster. Loved the breakfast room and the offerings. We had two fabulous dinners in Venice at other locations and at moderate prices; the restaurant here looked nice but the prices were scary high. If this place is in your budget, I'd endorse it. It felt lovely and old and fine, not tourist-y.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Adopye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your comments they help us a lot to better our services ; could you be so kind to let us know your room number to allow us to check the matress and take measures

We really hope to welcome you again to the Saturnia

Kind regards
Gianni Serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Don't even consider taking the public water bus, splash out on a water taxi which will take you down the Grand canal and straight to the water entrance of this hotel. It is a charming place, full of interesting old objects, odd furniture, rooms a little weary but quite fitting for Venice. We had a canal view from our small window and even though it entailed hanging out of the window, we had the sounds and smells of Venice on our doorstep. Excellent reception and concierge staff, good breakfast and an ideal location for sightseeing. Not inexpensive but it is Venice...

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George9693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The staff and assistance at the hotel made up for a rather drab room . Hotel is a bit worn and dowdy but the staff and the hospitality and location made of for the shortfalls of the stay.Fabulous location . the resturant was classic but a but expensive the breakfast buffet was very well done and laid out well.
Overall you would not go wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawchicago2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Property: Hotel Saturnia & International
Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing