We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saturnia & International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Saturnia is recommended for its service, central location and quality for value - those three things can be more difficult to find in a Venice hotel than one that shows up on a Conde Nast hot list. We just returned from our 13th trip to Venice, first time with our 18-month old son. While we usually don't stay in frenetic San Marco, this time we chose to stay at the Saturnia because we wanted to be able to walk our toddler to the piazza. Unless a Grand Canal view in San Marco is needed, it is tough to beat the location of the Saturnia, which is about halfway between Basilica San Marco and the Accademia bridge, close to sights and shops. Situated on one of the main, wide (for San Marco) upscale shopping streets, there is no getting lost in back alleys to find it. Inside, the reception, bar and restaurant are compact but charmingly maintained in an old world style, with lots of wood panelling and detail, and the decor extends to the common areas upstairs and to the rooms. Our junior suite was spacious, clean and had a comfortable king size bed (unusual for Venice). While the room looked as if furniture and fixtures have been added to and modified over the years, it was well maintained and didn't look incongruent, and one was reminded that this was a long-time family-run hotel, not taken over by a big chain hotel nor a shi-shi modern boutique. Thankfully, the lifts in the hotel are quite modern and responsive. With the lifts, step-free access to the hotel, good-sized cots, and high chairs in the breakfast room, the Saturnia is toddler-friendly. The service here can also be excellent. We had a problem with the water supply in the bathroom which was promptly fixed. Front desk staff are generally smiley and friendly, save one or two really seriously looking fellows, the housekeeping staff are eager, and the concierge Andrea Scarpa deserves special mention for being both engaging and helpful. When our water taxi company wanted us to go to a pick-up point more convenient for them than for us, he convinced them to show up at the hotel's private dock. A good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back canal are more atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I_love_Buenos_Aires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    551
    98
    22
    22
See reviews for
556
1,193
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberteifi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

An extremely comfortable hotel, well situated for exploring Venice. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant was cosy and the food excellent, but at a price which one would expect for the quality, (in fact, all Venetian prices are quite high). The buffet brakfasts were a good mixture of English/Continental and the hot chocolate drink, scrumptious, I thoroughly recommend this hotel to all discerning travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the thoroughfare are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daichopstixAberteifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We waited until the last minute to book our Venice hotel so we were limited in our choices since we wanted to stay in San Marco. The location was good for drop off (vaporetto from train station) and great for catching the vaporetto to the airport. We were also centrally located for seeing Venice and great shops in the immediate area. The staff was always friendly and helpful.
The rooms were very average. The bed creaked with every move and was not comfortable. Bathroom was very pink and outdated. The room was rather stuffy with no air conditioning, we did not open the windows due to the gnats and mosquitoes. The breakfast buffet was decent but super busy since the hotel accomodates cruise ship passengers. Free wifi was nice but only seemed to work in the lobby but at least it was free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onyxsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed here at the end of a Princess cruise.Having never been to Venice we did't know what to expect in terms getting from the hotel to the places we wanted to see.Wow, we were pleasently surprised. Arriving and departing from the rear door by water taxi was a breeze. The Front Desk and Princess Rep. were most helpful. The rooms are ALL different, so if you don't like the one you get, just ask for a change. They're as accomodating as possible. The room came with a Buffet breakfast which was sufficient. All in all we would gladly stay at the Saturnia again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAPADUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

This was the first hotel I have stayed where the concierge asked me to write a review so here goes!
This holiday was a present for my 60th birthday from my husband, we booked through AA Getaways, we had seen an offer in the Times newspaper; I read the reviews about the hotel and on the advice of one emailed the hotel telling the hotel that it was a 60th birthday and was it possible to have 'beautiful quiet room with a big bed and a fantastic bathroom'. This of course was only a request but can you imagine when we arrived we were given the tiniest room possible!! We asked if there was another bigger room as we were staying for a week, we were given a room overlooking a courtyard used for rubbish and deliveries. The bed creaked so badly we kept waking each other up at night and then in the morning we were woken by staff moving crates and rubble and rubbish and shouting at each other. Breakfast is very ordinary, scrambled eggs and greasy bacon everyday plus the usual cold meat and cheese not historic at all. Over our room there was constant banging we guessed renovation which explained the movement of rubble all day every day. Internet well that is funny, it is free but we had to go and get a different number everyday and one for each p.c., and find a place where it worked, please this should be free to all and in every room in this day and age. So my review is not brilliant, I was expecting the bottle of Prosecco and the Jacuzzi but we had a great week in Venice the sun shined everyday on the most beautiful city!

The hotel is in a great position, the staff are wonderful, helpful and funny too, Andrea the concierge is an absolute treasure, he should be running the hotel, always very knowledgeable and advised where to go and where not to go he also gave us tickets to La Fenise which was a great experience thank you Andrea.

Room Tip: If I were to go again I would ring and discuss my options with someone in the hotel rather than an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wisebirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandrei, Proprietario at Hotel Saturnia & International, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear guest,
in answer to your review please note that you wrote us only the same day of your arrival and besides you had not specified your arrival date and so we wrote you back asking for more booking details to be able to find your reservation ...
The room you booked through the travel agency was a 'standard' but when at the arrival you asked for a bigger one the receptionist was pleased to show you 3 'superior', two overlooking the small canal on the back and one overlooking an inside courtyard that's the one you chose and you were assigned without any supplement .
But it's true that during your stay we were renovating a room not far from yours (so sorry if you had some noise during the day!) and that the discarded building material (not rubbish) had been temporarily stocked in a courtyard's corner .
Regarding our breakfast our guests are always very happy but due to your review we'll check
again our buffet trying to better .
Thanks a lot for your positive review on our kind and helpful staff, I really hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again to the Saturnia .
Best regards
Gianni Serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed four nights. Our first night and room we were not pleased with the room. Within in a few moments at the front desk we were moved to a terrific room with a Jacuzzi and great few of the rooftops of Venice.

The breakfast were great

The concierge made dinner reservations at wonderful restaurants and the vaporetto took us directlybto the Hotel. What a perfect Venice experience

Can not wait to go back next year

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjtsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a two week trip from London to Venice, our neice was getting married in Venice and we added 3 days on to our trip to experience Venice.. this was a beautiful hotel, it has old world charm, one feels that one steps back into time, the concierge was very helpful, the breakfast was delicious, our room was beautiful, it had a sitting area where one could sit outside, that was just lovely, Venice was my least favorite city throught Europe but if one makes a stop in Venice, I HIGHLY recommend this very elegant hotel..should we go back we would love to try the restaurant, it was rated very highly and looked beautiful.. Our room over looked the street below and was a bit noisey till we closed the beautiful drapes, the wood floor was beautiful, I highly recommend this hote.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crusinKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Property: Hotel Saturnia & International
Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing