We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3-Day stay Sept 2012”
Review of Locanda La Corte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda La Corte
Ranked #29 of 454 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harvest, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3-Day stay Sept 2012”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked this hotel after a search of Venice hotels. We kept coming back to it after looking at perhaps 30-40 places to stay. We are so glad we picked it. We were in a Jr. Suite, as were 2 other couples who travelled with us. The location was ideal, an easy walk to either Rialto or St. Mark's. A bonus, only up a short alley to Santi Giovanni e Paolo and it's piazza. What a fantastic church, with all the Doge's tombs. The room(s) were spotless, the breakfasts in the court yard excellent, with a good selections of food and beverages, and all the staff very helpful. A special thanks to Salley, Rossella, and Abel, who were most gracious. An extra thanks to Marco, who helped us 6 with luggage to the water taxi out front. The directions are great, but if taking a cruise, stay at F. Nove; vapporetto to Hospital stop; then no bridges to climb with luggage !!

Room Tip: Jr. Suites on canal had a slight bit of nighttime canal traffic, but not annoying. It actually add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    371
    71
    14
    8
See reviews for
210
551
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a truly charming hotel away from the crowds but easy walking distance to San Marco's Square and the Rialto Bridge. The rooms are traditional but very comfortable. Showers are a little on the tight side but the building is 500 years old after all. The courtyard is a huge bonus - we had a traditional breakfast out there in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. We were even joined by Tommy the cat. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard have quaint view but be warned that's where the smokers sit since the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadisonChickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

As everyone knows, Venice is one of the world's most visited cities and many of the hotels reflect that - yes some can be very professional and slick but there is usually an experience of being part of a sausage machine. This hotel is different. There is a friendliness and genuine delight in helping you that is absolutely charming.

Breakfast is ample and served in the little courtyard. The hotel also does a very decent prosecco for a fraction of the normal Venetian price. We had a room overlooking the canal - if you are the sort of person who needs their sleep then be warned that the canal can be surprisingly noisy first thing - if however you just love the thought of being woken up by boats and gondolas in one of the most beautiful places on earth then I'd recommend the canal view. Our room was on the first floor and, for Venice, was very spacious.

The location is also good, being tucked a bit away from the maelstrom that is San Marco but still within easy walking distance of all the must-see sights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick&Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed with two other couples in rooms 110, 111, 112 – through the courtyard and upstairs. We had 112 with a bath and a minibar with complimentary water; our friends had showers. We were all comfortable in terms of bed, bathroom, warmth and décor. The location was absolutely fine and, though we took a few twists and turns to find the place on our way into Venice, we soon found it an ideal spot for exploring for four days.

Breakfast was served indoors (though in summer it would have been lovely in the courtyard) and though the room was often full, the relaxed ambience of the hotel and the affability of staff and guests meant everyone managed fine. The fresh croissants, cheese and ham were plentiful. Coffee, tea, toast and juice were available as were cereals. The choice wasn’t enormous but it was absolutely fine because we wanted to be out and away and exploring the city as soon as possible. We didn’t feel rushed and lingered over many cups of coffee before venturing out into the wonders of Venice.

During our time there we had a couple of experiences of the Acqua Alta (the seasonal high tides) and on the last day we had to get to the airport at a time when a high tide was expected. The receptionist (Carlo?) helped us by accompanying us to a water taxi stop that could be accessed (since the hotel canal was inaccessible) and let us borrow six pairs of hotel wellies which he then carried back when the taxi arrived. A very gentlemanly service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I find it tricky to decide on the overall rating to give this hotel because it was a bit of a curate's egg - good in parts. Location was great with both St Mark's and Rialto within easy walking distance and areas like Academia and San Polo also walkable for the reasonably fit. We took a water taxi from the airport (Euro 110 flat rate so no need to negotiate). Not cheap but very convenient as it literally takes you to the doorstep and is a great way to arrive in Venice. Like many places in this city, the hotel might best be described as higgledy-piggledy. There are doors to rooms in unexpected places. Our room (105) was on the ground floor, directly off the lovely little courtyard. It sounds idyllic but the only natural light was from the door and, as the room was vast and on two levels, the light didn't penetrate to the upper level. There was a window in the good sized bathroom (bath with hand held shower attachment) so we tended to keep the bathroom door open in daylight hours. We raised the issue with Abel on the front desk and this is one area where I struggle to decide on overall rating; we had been upgraded as he thought that this room would be more suitable for us than the one we had booked. He showed us the other room which was much smaller and brighter but in the attic up numerous flights of stairs and he was quite right - the room they gave us was far better suited to our needs. How do you fault that?

Breakfast was served in the courtyard and was standard continental style buffet but with no fresh fruit. (An advantage to the location of our room was being able to nip into the breakfast room in the morning to make a pot of tea to take back to bed). Phone reception was non-existent in the room but fine in the courtyard and we had perfectly acceptable wireless internet in the room.

We found the staff very helpful and Abel was charming. Venice is an expensive city and you get what you pay for. I probably won't stay here again - when I return with my husband we'll go back to Pensione Academia if we can get in - but for a girls' weekend where we spent very little time in the hotel, enjoyed being able to just open the door to sit in the courtyard when we were there, and were well looked after by Abel and his staff, Locanda La Corte was just what we needed. Hence the four star review despite my reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowendips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

you can take a water taxi here but very expensive or take the ferry and then walk but it's a bit hard to find and lots of steps. The day clerk is less than helpful but the night clerk is very friendly and helpful. Our room was very tiny and the internet did not work well in the room. Worked better in the nice courtyard sometimes. Even the internet on their computer in the lobby did not work well. Breakfast was average at best. Also stayed here due to R. Steve's recommendation but the location was probably the best feature. Nothing horrible but would look elsewhere in the future for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeppinoMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

In contrast to most reviewers we were not wowed by Locanda la Corte. Our room was very small, facing a wall. It was quiet and price was reasonable for Venice which is very expensive. No fruit at breakfast. Our host seemed to find our questions annoying. Location was good for getting about. We bought boat passes for our Venice stay and used them well to get everywhere. Major sights were accessible on foot, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cts_ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#96 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#142 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#94 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#22 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Castello
Locanda al Leon
Locanda al Leon
#45 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Corte

Property: Locanda La Corte
Address: Calle Bressana 6317, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda La Corte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Locanda La Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Corte Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing