We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice and calm place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ovidius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Ovidius
Ranked #203 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    171
    63
    31
    24
See reviews for
36
240
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location, very near the Rialto Bridge; directions for finding it could have been better; With window open the bedroom was somewhat noisy-- from nearby restaurant. Breakfast room overlooks the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was worried about our booking here because many of the reviews were less than favourable, but we have just returned from our wonderful weekend in Venice having had a really lovely time at this hotel. We booked a superior room and when we arrived the hotel manager said that we had been upgraded so we went to room 202, which is gorgeous and very large with a beautiful view over the Grand Canal. The hotel is very central with a view of the Rialto Bridge, not far from St. Marks Square, and close to the Vaparetto. We loved sitting in our window watching the different boats, gondolas & taxis pass underneath. In the morning we saw the delivery boats coming and going, the emergency boats - a very fast ambulance boat, the police, the fire boat - which was fascinating, every part of Venetian life passes along the Canal. The help-yourself buffet breakfast was great, lovely coffee, cold meat and lots of cakes, and everything was very clean and tidy. The waitress kept topping up so you can have as much as you like. The bathroom was clean and the water hot. We were very comfortable here and I would certainly return and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooom 202 or 201, with a view over the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Advertised photos not related to what you get. Was suppose to stay there for 3 nights (Sept 26-28, 2012). Refused to stay because of deplorable conditions. Was willing to pay for the first night but owner kept 3 nights fee ($851.28 cdn). Lobby run down, blood and dirt on stairs, filthy stained carpet throughout. Dark dingy room looked out on to alley. Minimal furniture and musty smell, Owner unscrupulous. I wouldn't stay there rent free. An embarassement to Venice. You can see the bridge without getting ripped off. We found excellent accommodations with outstanding services for less money

Room Tip: Avoid this low class dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Rome
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On the advice of a Tripadvisor reviewer, I booked a superior room for a view of the Grand Canal. When we got there we were shown to a room with a view of a back alley. I said I'd paid for a superior room with a view and he said it was a superior room but views cost extra. So I paid an extra 50 euros a night, totalling 200 euros a night and we were there for three nights.
Yes we had a great view out onto the canal but the room was really shabby. The bedroom wall was mouldy and damp with paint peeling all the way up (we were on the first floor and there was a court yard underneath so I don't know why it was damp.) The bathroom sink was cracked. You wouldn't have the shower cubicle in a house in England. There was masking tape holding one of the bed side lamps together. It was well over priced and I don't think now that we should have paid it, as there is a balcony for guests to use which looks out onto the canal.

Room Tip: If you want a Canal view, specify it. Don't presume that a "superior " room means a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleannesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed for couple of nights .. most likely will not stay there again
Pros: Great location, great view of the canal , very close to Rialto bridge and can walk to all the major attractions, restaurants, shops etc.
Negatives: Rooms are too small and dingy. The amenities that they claim comes with the room did not work.No internet access in room (had to go to dining room to use), TV did not work, phone did not work,broken shower head. Beds and room not very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel Ovidius is worth it for the location and view. Its conviently located near the Rialto Bridge, and has a balcony that overlooks the grand canal. It was nice to sit on the balcony at night or in the morning and just watch life in Venice. The rooms are very basic (agree some renovations are needed), but clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#180 of 387 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#91 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#319 of 387 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
San Marco
No photo provided
Gorizia a la Valigia
#156 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Leon Bianco
Locanda Leon Bianco
#199 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ovidius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ovidius

Property: Locanda Ovidius
Address: Calle del Sturion 677/A | Rialto, San Paolo, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ovidius 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Ovidius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ovidius Venice
Locanda Ovidius Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing