We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Torino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torino
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a great place to stay close to st marks and other atractions and close to all that you need in venice, a very warm welcome from reception and the staff are all very polite and helpfull, the dining room is cosy but adequate for breakfast with plenty of choice and the waiting staff working hard at keeping everything topped up, i will certainly use again when we return to venice, the negative reports are totally unfounded and not at all true i feel these people must live a very sad life and need to get out more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 626 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked this mini break as a surprise for my fiances 30th birthday.
We went for 3 days in July 2013 and I cannot say anymore than that it was fantastic.

The hotel is only a short distance from Piazza San Marco so is right in the centre of everything. The hotel only has a small door as an entrance though and it is easily missed but we asking someone for help and he knew straight away where it was. The hotel was very small, as would be expected in most eurpoean cities but it was lovely and so well placed that i made up for everything.

The Gondola ride was quite expensive. We paid about 90euro for a 30 minutes trip but we decided it would be worth it as it is one of the main things to do in Venice. We had a private Gondola and it was a lovely experience and present for my fiance. I would highly recommend doing this!

The food and drink is very expensive. We spent on average about 120 euro per day on food alone and only drank alcohol once as it was about 12euro for a rum and coke. The bellini was only about 6euro though!

We also spent an evening at the Balletto Opereto (wrong spelling?!). The tickets were very well priced and it was a really good show! I'm not sure we would be able to see anything like this else where!

I would say this is one of the few places where you go and feel like the city truely has it's own vibe. Without a doubt the best mini break I have had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem in the center of San Marcos. Easy to get to and very nice. The breakfast was very good. We had a wonderful stay. I can't say enough about how helpful the front desk was. Our room was clean and perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkdmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We knew Venice would be expensive, but were unprepared for just how much money we would need for 3 days! Wine is around $AU10 a glass and a basic main course is around $AU30 - however how often are you there, so suck it up. The first hit was the water taxi from the airport to the hotel - Hotel Torino has a small landing station almost outside, very convenient, for $110EUROS one way. Take the same water taxi from the hotel to the cruise terminal and you're up for another $90EUROS.... that's around $AU300 for transfers! The hotel is in a good position, near a canal and a short walk to St Mark's Square. The room we were given was in the annex (heaven knows how early you have to book to get into the main building) and very small, leading on to a shared terrace with no view. The second room was the same size but had a 4-poster bed (nice idea if one of the curtains hadn't fallen down frequently.) Very small ensuite. Clean, basic continental breakfast in the main building. Helpful bellhop - airconditioning did not work until he fiddled with it, thank God, as temp was over 100degrees the whole 3 days we were there. Hoping to win the lottery so I can stay somewhere else next time - you really need cash in this city!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building, and the largest room they have....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location and we stayed for 7 days. It is a small hotel and our room was not in the main hotel building, it was a short walk around the corner in another building. The room was small but very clean with an en-suite, air conditioning, a mini bar and a balcony. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with maps and advice.
Breakfast was included and the receptionist recommended that we come to the main hotel rather than have it in our room as the selection was better. This was good advice, the breakfast was extensive with a lot of choice, breads, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries etc. though no hot food. Perfect for setting you up for a day exploring.
This hotel was excellent value, we booked it well in advance and got a very good deal. The location and service made our holiday effortless. We loved our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Torino has what is important anywhere....location, location, location. Yes- the room was small-in fact tiny-but I was not there to spend the day in it! I was in Venice to see the sights, enjoy the vibe, eat the food and drink the wine so with that said-Torino was in a fantastic location to do all that-Easy acess by water taxi to/from airport and walking distance to everything on the bucket list from Rialto Bridge, St Marks Square, gondola rides and shops and resturants you are there for.
The breakfast was ok (and the olnly place where it goes till 10:30AM!) and staff not pretentious and in fact very helpful....from extra keys to getting bellman & resturant recomendations -The price is right since Venice can be very expensive

Room Tip: try not to get one with stairs leading to it- it will be small-its an old building and the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Torino for one night in end of June 2013. We are a family of 5 with children 18, 11 and 9. We stayed in the Ca Minotto Family Room - Annex. The best part of Torino is it's location. It was easy to get to from the airport. We took the Alilaguna water bus (1+ hour) and the hotel is few minutes walk from the S. Maria del Giglio stop. The hotel is in a great location to do sight seeing and it's only few minutes walk to San Macro square.

Room and bathroom were pretty tight for 5 people, but doable for us. Cleanliness was average; furniture in the rooms and fixtures in the bathrooms were dated. However, this is not a 5 star hotel. For us it offered good value for the location. Breakfast was included and it was decent, but the area was tight, so it got crowded quickly. Again, was short stays it works.

Raymondo at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. He provided good guidance of how to tour Venice in one-day, negotiating the price for the Gondola rides, etc. We were able to store our luggage on the side of the front desk during the day we were out sight seeing. There is a bathroom we were able to use before we picked up our luggage and headed to the airport. Raymondo told us of this bathroom when were checking out. That was nice.

Overall, for one-night stay, the location, a room to accommodate a family of 5 and the value for the money, Hotel Torino was a good place to stay. Under the same circumstances I would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ca Minotto Family Room - Annex is a room in the back of the hotel that you have to go around the blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMHChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#140 of 385 in Venice
564 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#200 of 385 in Venice
423 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#201 of 385 in Venice
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
749 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#175 of 385 in Venice
487 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torino

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2356 | Calle delle Ostreghe, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $72 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torino 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torino Hotel is a historic building in the heart of the ancient city of Venice, two minutes walk from St. Mark's Square and near the museum center of Dorsoduro (Accademia Gallery, Peggy Gugghenaim, Punta della Dogana, Ca 'Rezzonico, Palazzo Grassi) In the main shopping street of luxury we found a place where the best Italian brands (Prada, Gucci, Ferragamo, Moncler, Bottega Veneta, Versace c) and foreign (Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Diro, Balenciaga etc.) You can spend unforgettable days assisted by our staff that can provide useful information to better enjoy this wonderful and unique city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing