We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show me the money...!”
Review of Hotel Torino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torino
Ranked #209 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We knew Venice would be expensive, but were unprepared for just how much money we would need for 3 days! Wine is around $AU10 a glass and a basic main course is around $AU30 - however how often are you there, so suck it up. The first hit was the water taxi from the airport to the hotel - Hotel Torino has a small landing station almost outside, very convenient, for $110EUROS one way. Take the same water taxi from the hotel to the cruise terminal and you're up for another $90EUROS.... that's around $AU300 for transfers! The hotel is in a good position, near a canal and a short walk to St Mark's Square. The room we were given was in the annex (heaven knows how early you have to book to get into the main building) and very small, leading on to a shared terrace with no view. The second room was the same size but had a 4-poster bed (nice idea if one of the curtains hadn't fallen down frequently.) Very small ensuite. Clean, basic continental breakfast in the main building. Helpful bellhop - airconditioning did not work until he fiddled with it, thank God, as temp was over 100degrees the whole 3 days we were there. Hoping to win the lottery so I can stay somewhere else next time - you really need cash in this city!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building, and the largest room they have....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 632 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location and we stayed for 7 days. It is a small hotel and our room was not in the main hotel building, it was a short walk around the corner in another building. The room was small but very clean with an en-suite, air conditioning, a mini bar and a balcony. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with maps and advice.
Breakfast was included and the receptionist recommended that we come to the main hotel rather than have it in our room as the selection was better. This was good advice, the breakfast was extensive with a lot of choice, breads, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries etc. though no hot food. Perfect for setting you up for a day exploring.
This hotel was excellent value, we booked it well in advance and got a very good deal. The location and service made our holiday effortless. We loved our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Torino has what is important anywhere....location, location, location. Yes- the room was small-in fact tiny-but I was not there to spend the day in it! I was in Venice to see the sights, enjoy the vibe, eat the food and drink the wine so with that said-Torino was in a fantastic location to do all that-Easy acess by water taxi to/from airport and walking distance to everything on the bucket list from Rialto Bridge, St Marks Square, gondola rides and shops and resturants you are there for.
The breakfast was ok (and the olnly place where it goes till 10:30AM!) and staff not pretentious and in fact very helpful....from extra keys to getting bellman & resturant recomendations -The price is right since Venice can be very expensive

Room Tip: try not to get one with stairs leading to it- it will be small-its an old building and the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Torino for one night in end of June 2013. We are a family of 5 with children 18, 11 and 9. We stayed in the Ca Minotto Family Room - Annex. The best part of Torino is it's location. It was easy to get to from the airport. We took the Alilaguna water bus (1+ hour) and the hotel is few minutes walk from the S. Maria del Giglio stop. The hotel is in a great location to do sight seeing and it's only few minutes walk to San Macro square.

Room and bathroom were pretty tight for 5 people, but doable for us. Cleanliness was average; furniture in the rooms and fixtures in the bathrooms were dated. However, this is not a 5 star hotel. For us it offered good value for the location. Breakfast was included and it was decent, but the area was tight, so it got crowded quickly. Again, was short stays it works.

Raymondo at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. He provided good guidance of how to tour Venice in one-day, negotiating the price for the Gondola rides, etc. We were able to store our luggage on the side of the front desk during the day we were out sight seeing. There is a bathroom we were able to use before we picked up our luggage and headed to the airport. Raymondo told us of this bathroom when were checking out. That was nice.

Overall, for one-night stay, the location, a room to accommodate a family of 5 and the value for the money, Hotel Torino was a good place to stay. Under the same circumstances I would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ca Minotto Family Room - Annex is a room in the back of the hotel that you have to go around the blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMHChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The room they gave us had a 5'9" room. The was like a Barbie doll house experience. Would not recommend this place to anyone unless they wanted a terrible experience. The staff did not care about the problems with the room and would do nothing to fix it.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify they you will need a room for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elcid1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent one night at hotel Torino. This hotel is very well situated, close to most sights. The front desk staff have a great sense of humor, are helpful and funny. Very welcoming. However our room had very dirty wall-to-wall carpet and, most importantly mildew on the walls!! Also the fan in the bathroom was so dirty, it looked like it had things growing on it!!! The linens were clean and the room quiet. Our room (it is my understanding that not all rooms are like this) had a very low ceiling, beware if you are tall and get this room.
In conclusion, you really have to chose between a good location or a clean room.

Room Tip: If you are tall, mention you do not want a room with low ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In short; it was totally dreadful - the unfinished and un-cared-for nature of the apartment (which we felt the term “fur coat and no knickers” fitted perfectly), and the worst ‘customer service’ any of us had ever experienced anywhere lead us to strongly recommend that you DO NOT STAY HERE.

We couldn’t find many reviews for the apartment prior to booking and found the comments on the hotel itself quite mixed – and the management responses to these quite unapologetic and unhelpful. Nevertheless we decided to stay given the location appeared to be good, there were three bedrooms (as we were a female family group of three) and it looked spacious and newly fitted-out. We hoped this would be a treat and were very much looking forward to it as the last ‘leg’ of our brief tour of Italy. Sadly, we couldn’t have been more disappointed.

Spend five minutes in this apartment and you will find it has lots of problems. Dare to raise these with the hotel management – and you will be spoken to as if you were dog poo and treated as if you were a peasant. Totally dreadful experience 

In detail (and we feel compelled to write a long review here because we were so disappointed and upset);

After our trek across Venice (don’t be fooled thinking this is around the corner from the main hotel – it is a decent walk and over two bridges) on initial appearance the apartment appeared to be quite a spectacle; with a garish interior either gold, silver, mirrored, or with a sequin on it, Elton John would have felt right at home. However, quite quickly we found a number of things were wrong:

The apartment was really unclean and dusty, the towels were dirty, we only had cold water, it appeared unfinished (pipe-work was left exposed through large holes in the walls and the detritus of tradesmen was left out in the bedroom and filled most of the drawers throughout the apartment), the kitchen cupboards were littered with spilled food and left-overs’ from previous inhabitants, the balcony was utterly filthy – and the view from the balcony looked onto a rubbish dump below, there is a very large industrial fan attached to the top floor bedroom window that buzzes constantly, the tap fell off in the bathroom, the shower head didn’t work properly, there were only two drinking glasses, and there was no rubbish bin or tea towels in the kitchen.

We could have overlooked these cumulative yet relatively minor disappointments given the apartment is very spacious, it has a lovely coffee maker, two bathrooms and some obviously expensive furniture (though not to our taste). However we could not overlook the temperature in the top bedroom. The air conditioning was completely ineffective (hidden behind an unmoveable wardrobe in another room) and you could literally feel the temperature hit you as you climbed the stairs. At 11pm we decided to walk to the hotel to see if they possibly had a fan as the thermostat was still reading close to 30 degrees and the room was unusable.

The receptionist advised us that they didn’t have a fan in the hotel and there was nothing at all that he could do. He didn’t apologise. So we resigned to one of us sleeping on the sofa and asked if someone could visit the apartment to rectify the situation the following morning. He asked us to write this down for him, which we did also mentioning that there were no tea towels and not enough cups - and the fact that we felt that (at nearly 300 euros a night) it really wasn’t acceptable that one of us should have to doss on the sofa.

Nobody came the next day and nobody rang. So the next afternoon we popped into the hotel to find out if anything might be done. There we encountered the hotel manager; a fop with a mute sidekick and an arrogance and contempt that could turn milk sour. There was absolutely no chance of an apology and he was really quite horrible, not willing to listen or engage with us on any level. He had read our note, which he waved about whilst ranting at us about how he had spent thousands on getting that apartment ready (even though he said he himself hadn’t been to the apartment), how we are privileged to be staying there, and how dare we mention the price – the rooms in the hotel here were more expensive – and what did we expect?? (a bedroom we could sleep in would have been nice).

Further (whilst the mute side-kick looked on) he unhelpfully patronised us about how he had studied glass at Murano and didn’t recognise what we had called a ‘tumbler’, according to him water glasses all had a stem and therefore we were wrong about our request for more of these stem-less glasses. He tutted and shook his head in arrogant denial as we presented photographs of the thermostat, of my mother (63) bedding down in the living room, of holes in the walls, spanners, cans of paint, the broken tap, dirt, and rubbish.

He really could not have cared less about us. He was resolute everything was in order in the apartment (which he hadn’t visited himself and which clearly wasn’t being maintained) and that we were spouting nonsense. So we left, with one of us in tears. All we wanted was a fan and an apology. What an awful experience. Hence we wont be going back to the hotel or apartment, and we would advise anyone else considering as much, not to do so. It will not deliver and you will be very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missjfromstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#150 of 385 in Venice
568 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#201 of 385 in Venice
429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#199 of 385 in Venice
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
758 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#204 of 385 in Venice
1,120 reviews
San Marco
Alcyone Hotel
Alcyone Hotel
#289 of 385 in Venice
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torino

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2356 | Calle delle Ostreghe, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $72 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torino 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torino Hotel is a historic building in the heart of the ancient city of Venice, two minutes walk from St. Mark's Square and near the museum center of Dorsoduro (Accademia Gallery, Peggy Gugghenaim, Punta della Dogana, Ca 'Rezzonico, Palazzo Grassi) In the main shopping street of luxury we found a place where the best Italian brands (Prada, Gucci, Ferragamo, Moncler, Bottega Veneta, Versace c) and foreign (Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Diro, Balenciaga etc.) You can spend unforgettable days assisted by our staff that can provide useful information to better enjoy this wonderful and unique city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing