We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position!”
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #160 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a good hotel perfectly placed to see all the major sights of Venice and for venturing a bit further afield towards Arsenale and Ghetto. The annex had a bit of a smell to lower floors but we were in the attic and it was fine there once we had climbed 60 steps! We would go back there. Breakfast was fine and the staff very helpful

Room Tip: The annex was cheaper and fine! Quiet always too. The hotel rooms seemed to be larger though.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shankliniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Santa Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 861 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just returned from a long weekend with 9 friends at this hotel where we had an excellent stay.
The size of the rooms varied widely between the main hotel and the annex buildings but the standard appeared to be equally high. The staff were very helpful and coped admirably with our large party. The Hotel arrival advice said to travel take a boat to Fondamenta Nova but the walk from Rialto on the grande canal was only around 10 minutes and to Piazza San Marco around 15 minutes. Thanks for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAN_HUGHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Nicely situated between Rialto and st Marc's, rooms where comfortable and clean, no air con but a nice breeze with windows open at night (beware of Mosquitos ) can hear the church bells. ! We got a boat from the airport to Rialto bridge , then it was an easy 10 minute walk !

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gee0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Used Avios to stay here for 3 nights 12-15 Feb.
We used the express bus from Marco Polo to P. Roma and then the water bus to Rialto and easy to walk to from there.
1st room we got allocated was 203 - tiny, faced onto the noisy square, bathroom was a joke - impossible to get in to the shower past the sink and no A/C so uncomfortably warm.
Valentines Day morning brought a flood in our bathroom from the ceiling so we were moved. We had to pack our cases, go to reception and explain in stronger terms that I would normally think necessary at reception that we needed another room immediately to shower in for the day and that we could not wait until 12 o'clock for this (check out time) Given 501 to shower in - would not recommend anyone stay in that room either - dark and dismal and windows onto the area used for breakfast - horrible shower. Not a bath to be found in this hotel! Eventually got 103 which was a nice room - renovated and a lot more spacious for our last night in town.
Wouldn't rush back to this hotel - definitely not deserving of 4 stars.

Room Tip: 103 is a decent room - avoid 203 or 501 at all costs!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELEANOR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and everything was up to value. Great location, nice breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, internet availability is great (wi-fi or via a PC, all free), 5 minutes from Rialto Bridge and St Mark`s square.
Lovely clean, large rooms, excellent atmosphere.
The only downside we experienced was the lack of good sleep (our room was downstairs by reception and the breakfast room... Cutlery noise, people chatting etc, room 412).
We would definitely return!!!

I have read reviews of others prior to our trip and I must say:
- as for breakfast: if you cannot satisfy yourself with the breakfast, then you are very fussy. :)
- beds: are comfy
- Bathrooms: perfectly clean and lovely hot showers we had.
- tourist tax: it occurs everywhere I have ever stayed before (Spain, Hungary, Malta etc...), and yes, it is stated clearly on the hotel website. :)

Have a great stay, people! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Orsolya-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. The room is clean & cosy. Lovely bathroom, flat screen TV, comfortable bed and great heating, what more can you aşk for. The breakfast very good and plenty of it !!!. The staff are very friendly and helpful, this hotel is good value and close to San Marco square, has free wifi and some very good little cafe's close buy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreenwithPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a welcoming place, well situated, clean and good. Second time here. Rooms are comfortable if a litel small. This hotel is also good value ane close to San Marco square, has free wifi and serves a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 384 in Venice
588 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#136 of 384 in Venice
612 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#139 of 384 in Venice
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#217 of 384 in Venice
897 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Giorgione
Hotel Giorgione
#108 of 384 in Venice
1,916 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#120 of 384 in Venice
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#157 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $112 - $958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing