We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will visit again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #159 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will visit again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break in Venice with my teenage daughter and will definitely be returning.As this was the first time i had travelled abroad for many years without another adult, i was a little apprehensive. However, the hotel made us very welcome, reception staff were helpful and efficient and we were extremely happy with our accommodation. After consulting trip advisor when choosing our hotel, we were worried that the room was going to be cramped, however we were allocated an apartment next door to the hotel which was extremely spacious and well planned. It had a large bedroom and also a sitting area with 2 double settees, a chair and a desk . The decoration was typically Venice and although a little dark , was very smart and well maintained. The bathroom was spacious with a double power shower and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was varied and tasty and served over a 3 hour time slot so it was never busy and we didn't feel rushed. The location was amazing, just five minutes from Rialto bridge and ten to fifteen minutes form St Marks. Finding the hotel was easier than expected although we stopped to ask directions a few times. We used the water bus to transfer from the airport and walked from Rialto bridge saving 40 euros on a water taxi. Venice can be expensive, but can also be done on a budget There are lots of little restaurants in the area,some have a cover charge, some don't, some charge a % service charge and some don't, so it is worth asking when choosing where to eat as it can make a big difference to your bill. There is a supermarket diagonally opposite this hotel which is a bonus as supermarkets are few and far between but we found this handy for drinks and snacks etc. All in all, a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: We were allocated 612, spacious apartment over 2 floors, we loved it. No canal view but nice all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    359
    123
    61
    42
See reviews for
141
497
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a lovely 3 day stay in venice at this hotel. Our room was decorated in a traditionally Venetian way, this meant it was quite dark. We usually tend to stay in more modern hotels but this made a nice change. The rooms were really clean and comfortable. we also found the free Wifi worked in our room, and not just in the lobby as some other guests had said, this was a bonus! The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice, even for me as I am a vegetarian! The best thing about this hotel though is its location, we were a short walk from most of the main attractions in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshire_2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What we liked:
-Location: the hotel is far enough away from the hubbub of St. Mark's and Rialto to feel secluded, but is really no more than a 10-15 minute walk from both attractions. The hotel was also surrounded by restaurants that have yet to be discovered by too many tourists.
-Furnishings: the lobby was richly decorated and it was very nice to sit in the parlor at the end of a long day. The rooms were clean, even bordering on sterile (at least in the annex)
-Breakfast: a fine selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, and breads.

What we didn't like:
-The Annex: although it was only a 2 minute walk from the hotel, it was annoying to be in a separate building. We had to walk to the lobby of the main hotel every time we wanted to check our E-mail. The Annex was also hard on a member of our party who had limited mobility and needed to use a cane, as there was no elevator in this building.
-The Staff: really a mixed bag. One or two were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help us. The most, however, were stiff. Not rude, just incredibly stiff. Refused to give us two keys, which was a bit ridiculous. (On a side note, I have to admire the linguistic abilities of the staff: among them, they managed English, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese, Russian, and some Czech!)

Room Tip: Avoid the annex at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor we were did not know what to expect, but on arrival our welcome was warm, we were shown to our room (204) a little small yes, but clean and comfortable with a view over the Campo Santa Marina.
The great thing about this hotel is its position, a short walk (5 mins) through the alley's and your at the Rialto Bridge, a slightly longer walk (less than 10 mins) in the other direction you will find yourself in the hustle and bustle of St Marks Square.
The Castello area of Venice where the hotel is situated is worth exploring in its own right with numerous canals bridges and Campo's, getting lost here is all part of it's charm.
If you want to visit Venice (and you must!) the Hotel Santa Marina is a great base from which to do it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilT_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is made up if steep stairs and passage ways but when you learn that it was a old nunnery it seems to make sense. Our room was very small which got even smaller once our suitcases arrived but the room was lovely (and clean) with a real old world, venetian charm. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly at all times. The breakfast was good and the ladies that worked in the breakfast room were always so cheerful and friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent, its in a quiet square with a sweet little patisserie/coffee shop and quiet restaurant across the the square out of the hustle and bustle but you just have to walk up a little side street and turn a corner or two and you are in St. Marco's Square, go up a different passage, cross a bridge and you are standing in front of Giacomo Casanova's house, you are never far from the action or attractions!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I found little to recommend this hotel (we were bumped from the one we had reserved on lastminute.com). Forget the breakfast (instant coffee in Italy!)- better to go to a bar across the square. Rooms a bit stuffy and as another reviewer puts it old style Parisian. You really need a map to get around since it can be difficult to find your way back. It is more like 15 mins walk from st marks square

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vamp1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Location is spot on! If you have half a brain and a smart phone you will find it easily via any local drop off points.i I found it with half a brain (phone was out of charge) The interior to the hotel is traditional but has a french feel about it, maybe just me but reminds me of some Parisian hotels i've visited. Staff pleasant and welcoming, the room was a nice quality , luxury toilet and had a spare room with bed and safety deposit box (free!!). view of canal , not spectacular but i was impressed as this is where u view residental properties among local businesses, gives u a real insight to a city. If I visit Venice again , this is where I would book.

Room Tip: room at back , very big view onto canal, access via a side door at canal , has a separate adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPmikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#137 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Giorgione
Hotel Giorgione
#104 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#153 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#128 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#235 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#58 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Hotel
Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing