We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but Lovely. Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #157 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple but Lovely. Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The amenities are basic but sufficient (unfortunately no coffee or Tea in the room). Staff are very helpful and attended to all requests with a smile.
This hotel is close to Rialto Bridge, San Marco Square and basically smack bang in the middle of everything you want to see and do in Venice. Trip to Burano is a must.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geekiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    357
    122
    60
    42
See reviews for
140
494
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was superb. 5 mins from the Rialto - check your map before you get off the vaporetto to prevent any (easily taken) wrong turns and 10 mins from st. marks square. We had a standard room which overlooked Santa marina square which was surprisingly quiet at night, but the room was small and lacked storage space so I would recommend an upgrade. Other than that we had a wonderful time here and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe and standard rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went to Venice in the Month of Dec.. Unfortunately it was snowing when we went there.It was great experiance finding this hotel on walk. Better take a private taxi or book it via hotel..so that you can avoid some time finding the hotel.

Detailed review about the hotel..

Cleaniness : Room Was clean, Pretty Big, and smellingf good.

Breakfast : Breakfast was american with lots of fruits,yorgut,etc.

Location: Located in middle of Venice, but even it is located in middle, u can easily get lost in venice.Almost every street looks smilar. But this hotel is very near to Rialto bridge.

Internet: Free Internet (Wifi) on request.

Rest Room: Rest room was clean and bigger.. Has got good shower in it.

AC/Heater: Majore Minus.., Heater was not working in my room, even after complaining, they couldn't fix it.. That was very unfotunate. But was able to compromise with the rug.

Budjet: In venice you wont get such quality hotel in this budjet..for sure ..

Service: The service was excellent. The receptionist was really helpful and everybody speaks english.

Additional Info: They give free coupons for Casio and free excursion to Maurono Glass factory..

Funny STory which happened to me.. i was having my breakfast, they said the boat is stating for teh glass factory trip and it free, "please join if you want".

I thought, we can join they gonna take us and return back us safely to hotel.. ONce i reached Glass factory, we visited it, we enjoyed it and we came out after 1 hour, we did't find the boat,which dropped us.. :P

Then i enqiured with a travller who came with us, he said it was a one way journey, and return we has to come by our own :P

They we came back to hotel giving 100 Euro's in private Taxi..( Venice most expensive thing is TAXI)..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmevenkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived at this hotel at 11:30 am and to our surprise we were told the room was prepared. We were taken to the room which was on the ground floor; the room was a decent size however extremely dark with a limited view out of the windows (with bars across) looking out onto a road above. We had previously sent an e-mail to the hotel requesting a high level room with a view and we had also paid a supplement for a hotel room in the main block. We asked the reception if it would be possible to change as we had requested a room on a high floor. The man on reception asked a blond woman who must be the manager/owner and she spoke abruptly in italian and we were told by the man that they would do their best but no guarantee. We thanked them and went off for a walk around Venice which we absolutely loved. Venice is the most amazing city we have ever visited and we are quite well travelled. We arrived back at the hotel at 2:00pm and were told they had allocated a nice large room with a view. They took us along a maze of stairs to the room and it was very nice. It had a separate seating area and bedroom; we were pleased. Once left in the room I entered the bathroom and found a towel on the floor which had dead ants on it. I didn't think much of it at first however I then noticed ants running along the bathroom and also in the bedroom. We informed another male receptionist who told us bluntly that it was the customers fault for eating pizza and food in the rooms. I informed him that we would not do that and could something be done. We asked about an upgrade and said we would be prepared to pay however at 80 Euro a night we felt this was too much. We were eventaully given a third room and this was tiny however at this point we were tired and fed up and just wanted to get settled. The room was a mustard colour and had twin beds - not exactly romantic. There were also water stains on the walls and stains on the carpets. The bed and bathroom seemed clean enough. We decided to have a sleep during the afternoon however there was a couple above us who rowed very loudly and stomped around the room so it was impossible to sleep - at this point we thought we were jinxed and to be honest it was a bit of a joke. We decided not to ask to be moved again as the reception staff were aloof and didn't seem bothered. We did let them know about the noise above but were told that it was an apartment above us and not linked to the hotel. I was surprised by their attitude as one of the reasons we booked the hotel was because we had read on tripadvisor that the staff were very friendly; this was not the case for us although the night porter was friendly and used to have a joke with us when we arrived at the hotel. We did manage to have a good nights sleep on Saturday however by monday morning we realised there was a loading bay outside the window that started work before 7:00 am so once again we were woken by noise. To be honest we very rarely complain about hotels and this is a first for us however we did not feel the hotel lived up to 4 star standards and the staff were rude at times. They never once said hello or how are you. Overall we loved Venice and the location of this hotel is good however we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a comfortable, friendly hotel with a good bar and excellent breakfast(as long as you like continental breakfast as the 3 items of hot food weren't). We arrived extremely wet after making a lot of wrong turns from Rialto Bridge to the hotel, and then found we were in the annexe. As my husband has heart failure, we were unable to climb all the stairs, so they swapped us to a downstairs room in the said annexe.(We had booked this hotel as there was a lift in the main hotel and we were not aware of the existence of the annexe let alone that we would be in it!).When we got back from our dinner, a note informed us that we were going to have to move as that room, 609, was liable to flooding, so we moved to 303 on the 3rd floor, main building. This was ok, a tad small - it is a bed-room - but the bathroom was SO small we couldn't get past the wash basin into the shower, you needed to be very small and thin to do that. Next morning, I asked if there was a communal shower in the hotel as we were unable to take advantage of the one in our en-suite, and we were moved to 105. This was a beautiful room, with a lovely bathroom on the 1st floor. All the staff bar one were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: see review...don't accept 303 in main hotel or 609 in annexe if the weather shows signs of rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely hotel, good location. However, the annex does not have a lift, rooms are very good size and well presented. Fair 4* description. The staff are very pleasant, cheerful and helpful - except one gentleman who works on reception who generally lets the side down. Breakfast is plentiful although it involves a lot of pastries!!

Room Tip: Some rooms in the main hotel are very very small. If staying in the annexe, it involves a walk outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theivesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews on trip advisor about this hotel we had some concerns but after checking in these concerns had been put to rest. This has to of been one of the best we have stayed at for this price range. The hotel could not be in a better location within easy reach of all of the main places of intrest. Our room one of the clasic range which was a great size, lovely decoration and our room which over looked the square was very quite and peaceful. The bathroom was very modern and very clean at all times. The staff could not be more helpful from the moment we arrived to the time we departed. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and as an ideal place to stay while in venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#133 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Cannaregio
Giorgione Hotel
Giorgione Hotel
#104 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#124 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#153 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Hotel
Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing