We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very RUDE staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #156 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very RUDE staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Except for the late night staff and the house keeping the rest of the staff is very rude!!
Hotel is located at a very busy square so it's better to get a room facing the back. Shower is too small and leaks everywhere. Make sure you don't get room 114, it is no bigger than a full size bed and not more than 18 inches around. Bed is too hard and pillows harder!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    330
    108
    54
    41
See reviews for
128
451
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived at Marco Polo Airport Oct 12, 2012 around 5pm and stayed 3 nights. We opted for a private water taxi to take us to the hotel (70 euro if you book thru hotel). We didn't take a Vaporetto because we had a lot of luggage and didn't want to wait and stop at everyone else's hotel - it would take twice as long. We were delighted to find the hotel so charming and inviting. Our room was spacious and very clean, and the bathroom was large and immaculate. Our room overlooked a lovely courtyard away from the hustle and bustle. We were within close proximity to everything on the island. Breakfast was fine - everything was fresh, and it's a typical european style breakfast with a nice ambience. We found the concierge to be quite helpful and friendly. We'd stay here again. However, if you are taking a train to Venice, this hotel is about a 40 minute walk from the station, so you should either stay in a hotel near the station because there are no taxis or buses, and walking in Venice on cobblestone along with lots of steps and bridges makes it almost impossible to wheel your luggage, or take a private water taxi which you can get right outside the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We checked the reviews on trip advisor before booking. The hotel was more than our expectations. We went for 1 night and we truly loved our rooms they were in French furniture and very modern bathrooms with clean amenities.
The location was close to both Rialto bridge and San Marco square. The staff was okay and some of them were helpful. Definitely recommended for other visitors and the price was great too. Less than 100$ a night.
The rooms were spacious compared to other hotels and European style.

Room Tip: We booked 634 and 633 both of them were new and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Santa Marina hotel in Venice for three nights beginning 20th October 2012. The hotel is conveniently located and the stay was pleasant enough.
However, this is not a 4 star hotel. The rooms were nice enough, no complaints, the pictures are accurate - but as space comes at a premium, they were a bit pokey and the bathrooms were shower only.They don't provide you with tea/coffee in your rooms (which we would have considered a basic service of even a 3 star hotel), there were no iron facilities within the rooms and when asked whether we could arrange for this, we were told it would have to be ordered the day before - there were no price lists so we had no idea how much this would cost. When we called for further details, the receptionist was evasive. In general the staff are civil but not overly welcoming or friendly. Overall, as we spent the majority of our time out - this was no great shakes, it served its purpose and was part of a decent value deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allaboutitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

All employees are respectful and very kind. We were welcomed by a receptionist who made a brief account of the main attractions.
Comfortable room with a view and an independent access if you want privacy. The street might get noise at times but it didn't bother that much.
Prices at the bar are reasonable (3 euro a coffee)
When booking ask for a room in the main building, follow my advice.
Good location, in the middle of Rialto and Piazza San Marco.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson_Pirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently returned from 2 weeks in Italy. The start of our vacation was Venice and this was our hotel selection. I nearly cried thinking this was going to be how all our hotels in Italy would turn out. To start with, the hotel is not near the boat station and it's very difficult to find, so we were lugging our suitcases through the narrow streets and were lost for about an hour. Then, the people at the front desk were incredibly rude the entire duration of the stay. Last, we got to our hotel room and I literally thought it was a joke or some kind of mistake. We were in "501", which I now see previous people have complained about, but I was of the belief "it won't happen to me..". Well it did and it was terrible. You pay for a normal room and then you get stuck here. The room is right past the kitchen and you hear them clanging plates 24 hours a day. There's not a normal shower and your bedroom window looks out onto the courtyard where guests are eating breakfast, so you can never open the curtains. Further, there must be dust mites or something in the room as I developed severe allergies which made the vacation unpleasant. And the armoire in the room smelled absolutely terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - terrible value and incredibly disappointing for a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and although maybe from outside it doesn't look great (perhpas like the majority of buildings in Venice!) the inside is beautiful. The staff were very friendly and proved competent [when we complained of noise of our neighbours (over us) and solved the problem in 2 minutes]. The rooms were very modern and the bathrooms excellent and beds very comfy.
The situation is also a plus being 6 minutes walk from Rialto bridge - if you don't get lost!
Breakfast was fabulous: hot and cold and no shortage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Conti
Ca' dei Conti
#151 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Cannaregio
Giorgione Hotel
Giorgione Hotel
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#196 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#62 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#133 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Hotel
Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing