We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel at all costs !!!”
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #161 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is located in a very central area of the city. All the major sightseeings can be reached by foot within 15-20 min. Now the bad part: first of all rooms, they are very small with an old decor. Elevator, forget about it, a tiny stare case with a bunch of signs saying "watch your head". The breakfast is not so good and very limited in variety. Staff is ok but barely speaks English and is not professional. My advice, save your money and stay elsewhere, preferably outside of the city of Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C8MAPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Santa Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 861 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

A great hotel to stay in Venice. Accessible by boat...one of the canals comes to right behind it and you can come from the airport by water taxi and unload right there... The rooms are spacious and very well put together. It has beautiful woodwork all around. Very easy to walk to every attraction in Venice. Very clean, and the staff is very friendly and efficient. Only stayed two nights but I would have stayed longer if the scheduled allowed...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenaro45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in the main hotel, having been to Venice previously we decided to take the ferry from the bus terminal to the Rialto Bridge and walk to the hotel. Big mistake!. We ended up blocks away, back at the Grande Canal, so ended up taking a water taxi to the hotel.

There is a convenient drop off point at the back of the hotel which is really handy.

Our room wasn't ready so we left out cases and went for a walk. When we were taken to our room we were very disappointed with the small size of the room and particularly the bathroom which was TINY. Only 5 inches of space between the sink and the showe entrance to squeeze in for a shower. This room should be reserved for children or matchstick men!

We asked for a change but were told there were no spare rooms, so had to suffer the tight squeeze every time we wanted to freshen up.

There is a single lift which takes three people and a couple of suitcases and WiFi is available, but only works downstairs and close to the reception area, this could really do with being updated as most people have smart phones etc nowadays and could do with access throughout the hotel. The speed of the connection is very slow, I gave up waiting for my emails to come in most try's.

The management and staff of the hotel are friendly and speak good English.

There are some good eateries not too far away, the choice is really good between 5 star opposite and 4,3 or 2 star not too far away.

Breakfast is really good as long as you don't expect a full English and a hot drinks machine serves coffee, chocolate or hot water if tea is your thing.

Overall, I'd agree this is more like a 3 star hotel due to the things I've mentioned, particularly the shower, that room should not be given to people staying more than 1 night and the Internet access, which needs updating to a faster and wider
coverage.

We took a water taxi to the cruise terminal which cost €90 from the hotel and told the driver to go slow as we were not in any hurry and wanted to take some photo's, which he did!

Would I stay here again, yes because it is really close to the main areas tourists go to, but only if we had a room with decent bathroom facilities!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank L16gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though most European hotels are tiny this one to my surprise was small but, not tiny. I had a wonderful time with my girlfriend. It is located in the middle of Venice. I must admit it was a bit out of the way from the train station in Venice but very clean and cute!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank revivit w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were booked in the hotel without our knowledge, due to an overbooking in a close-by hotel. Nice location that is quiet but close enough to walk to everything. There's a grocery store across the square which is very convenient for snacks and bottled water. The room (a nicely appointed 2 room suite walkup accessed by 2.5 very long flights of stairs) was in a building outside the main hotel, without a separate buzzer or even a phone to call the room outside. So if part of the family wanted to go up to the room and be followed by someone else later, there was no way to get into the building except to go back to the main building to get a porter to let you in or to call the room so someone could come down to open the door). The staff is reasonably friendly but a little overwhelmed, and a bit chilly in the way that many Italians seem to be. We had a major problem when leaving: anticipating our 6 am departure to the airport, the hotel told us to put our luggage outside the room before 11 pm so that the porter could collect it. At 5:30 am the next morning the luggage was still there. So we and our 2 kids had to lug the bags down 2 narrow flights of stairs and down to the main building so we could catch the water taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annex because it's inconvenient to get into
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclingknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

just come back from 3 nights in venice the hotel and position were great. room was nice with air con staff were very pleasant and helpfull. the hotel was in a little square which was nice and quiet.could not fault anything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 385 in Venice
586 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#140 of 385 in Venice
610 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#141 of 385 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Giorgione
Hotel Giorgione
#108 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#218 of 385 in Venice
893 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#119 of 385 in Venice
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $115 - $954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing