We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay!”
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #162 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though most European hotels are tiny this one to my surprise was small but, not tiny. I had a wonderful time with my girlfriend. It is located in the middle of Venice. I must admit it was a bit out of the way from the train station in Venice but very clean and cute!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 893 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank revivit w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were booked in the hotel without our knowledge, due to an overbooking in a close-by hotel. Nice location that is quiet but close enough to walk to everything. There's a grocery store across the square which is very convenient for snacks and bottled water. The room (a nicely appointed 2 room suite walkup accessed by 2.5 very long flights of stairs) was in a building outside the main hotel, without a separate buzzer or even a phone to call the room outside. So if part of the family wanted to go up to the room and be followed by someone else later, there was no way to get into the building except to go back to the main building to get a porter to let you in or to call the room so someone could come down to open the door). The staff is reasonably friendly but a little overwhelmed, and a bit chilly in the way that many Italians seem to be. We had a major problem when leaving: anticipating our 6 am departure to the airport, the hotel told us to put our luggage outside the room before 11 pm so that the porter could collect it. At 5:30 am the next morning the luggage was still there. So we and our 2 kids had to lug the bags down 2 narrow flights of stairs and down to the main building so we could catch the water taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annex because it's inconvenient to get into
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclingknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

just come back from 3 nights in venice the hotel and position were great. room was nice with air con staff were very pleasant and helpfull. the hotel was in a little square which was nice and quiet.could not fault anything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a very nice location next to a canal. Note that as of August 2012 some renovations are happening in the building on the opposite side of the canal so there will be noise. The canal itself is also quite busy with deliveries etc so you'll have to put up with the sound of motor boats. The location is a nice quiet square which has a restaurant, cake shop and a coop. The coop is handy as I bought a six pack of water from there to last the day at only €1.39! The breakfast is the usual fare of hams, cheeses, croissants etc. I stuck to the fruit to save myself for all the culinary delights that Venice has to offer. The rooms are ok, bit small but who cares when you're out all day sightseeing anyway. All in all an good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uvarvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked a cruise before we booked the airlines and hotel, so were at the mercy of a travel agent when we needed a hotel for 2 days before our cruise, and 1 day afterward. She suggested the Santa Marina Hotel, based on an apparent good impression made when she was there. In terms of Venice, the Santa Marina Hotel has got to be one of the top hotels. Excellent, if not a bit formal, service at the counter. Because our booking was handled through our travel agent, we somehow managed to book a 150 euro room for the equivalant of $376/nite. But, we have to admit that the two-story room was cool, and we couldn't do anything about it otherwise, so wy fret. Given the difference in time zones, I was up at 5, so saw the hotel folks getting everything ready starting about 5:30am. Nice people. Exceptional presentation of the foods, although they are pretty basic. What I appreciated in getting up so early (and going to the lobby for the free wifi connection that couldn't be received any other place in the hotel) were the comfortable spaces. My iPad had great reception, and for the two mornings I was there, the guy responsible for opening up in the mornings, brought me a cup of steaming Italian coffee. What more can I say.

Room Tip: Room 611 is special. Two stories but a cool room, can take a bottle of wine around the corner and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed 29th June to 3rd July and can highly recommend this hotel. Definately get a water taxi from the stn or airport as it drops you off just outside the hotel so no long walks over bridges or laneways. Perfectly located as only a short walk to St Marco's sq and Rialto Bridge. The walk to your room could get you lost as lots of doors and rooms to go thru, but lots of fun to find. Breakfast was ok but not enough variety, but not a reason not to stay here. Bathroom is quite tight but can definately manage. The location is perfect and the rooms were great.

Room Tip: we had a suite which was worth it as the rooms would otherwise be a bit small, but the location is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaandToddfrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#134 of 387 in Venice
1,159 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#56 of 387 in Venice
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#119 of 387 in Venice
455 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#142 of 387 in Venice
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#157 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $110 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing