We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of a trek with suitcases”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes
Ranked #196 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 20, 2014

good points: clean room, free wifi, air conditioning (hoorah !), great paintings and art displayed in the halls and the rooms
points for improvement: our initial reception desk person didn't speak very good english, breakfast could have done with a few english options. Main problem was very loud guests and being right next to the street it had loud passersby which meant we didn't sleep well. It was also a bit of a trek from the water bus with large suitcases and luggage. Probably only a 10-15 minute walk but over bridges with steps, cobbled streets and lots of small alleyways packed with people. If i was going to venice again I would try to get a hotel as near to the water bus stop as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StylusLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 658 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

While the room and quality of our stay was satisfactory the staff left much to be desired. We by error booked the same night twice, the second booking was made late in the night intending to be for the next day. The next morning when we went to check in again for what we thought we had booked a front desk staff alerted us that we had booked for the previous night again. I would imagine on realising that the same guest had made a double booking and had not come to check in again on the same day that one may enquire of the guest whether they were going to check in as we were told from desk that they waited on us to check in and kept the room (knowing we were already guests of the hotel ) hence they could not refund us our money . In my opinion I found it in poor taste and with a dishonest undertone in the way they responded to the situation . Eventually we were able to get back half of the money.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Chels J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is in the heart of Venice and next to the fantastic La Fenice Opera House. The rooms are clean and well equiped. There is a laundry service which will also just iron your clothes for you. The continental breakfast was really nice and lots of choice with some great Italian coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Unimo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora F, Proprietario at Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Unimo1,

thank you very much for the beautiful review and for taking the time to write about us.
We hope to see you soon here in Venice!.
Best regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We figure we have now been here 7 or 8 times. This hotel is stunning, historical, located wonderfully on a quiet piazza near everything, with a staff of folks who make you feel so welcomed. The rooms are cozy, fitted with whatever one needs, breakfast is wonderful and plentiful. Maria, my now dear friend, greets us. We met the manager, who is a great guy! My son-in-law, used to staying in fancy 5 star hotels, LOVED La Fenice! So did my daughter. We can't wait to return there again!

Room Tip: One room has small balcony, all red, sort of looks like a bordello!!! Charming! Second Floor 251. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank soncijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora F, Proprietario at Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Soncijo,

thank you very much for the nice words and for spending some time to write about us.
It is always a pleasure to have you here at the Hotel La Fenice.
Many regards from all the staff and from Maria!
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good central location off a quiet square next to the opera house. Many restaurants and bars close by with easy access to all major attractions.
Good room , 307, in south west corner of the third floor, two full height windows , pleasant out look across rooftops to the west, bit on the small side for two.
Friendly helpful staff, WiFi not working in the room, only available downstairs in the public areas.
Breakfast choices a bit limited.
Overall thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

There are different sizes of rooms in this hotel and we happened to get one of the bigger ones on the upper floor that included a huge balcony suitable for 15 people. The balcony overlooked the canal and we could watch the gondolas pass by below. The room was large with a high ceiling and exposed wood beams. We had lots of room to spread out. Bathroom was also large with a full sized bathtub. Room was clean and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect although its a little tricky to find. Even after a couple of nights we still had trouble finding it due to the nature of the maze like paths of Venice. Very close to St. Marks. The room had a fridge and nice size TV but I'm not sure that goes for all the rooms. There is a somewhat hidden grocery store thats just a quick stroll away. We liked all the different and sometimes odd pictures and paintings hanging on the walls throughout the hotel. Breakfast was very good. We really had no complaints about our stay at all. Would love to come back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the canal and some don't. Try to get a canal view. Just a hand full o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I am here right now and feel like the hotel is a great choice! I was a bit overwhelmed with the vast amount of hotel choices in Venice and picked this mostly based on tripadvisor reviews, and am glad I did. It's a great location - super close to everything but not as packed as the Rialto area. Today we walked EVERYWHERE and it was all so central to our hotel.
Our room is actually larger than I anticipated for a European hotel. Not fancy, but certainly comfortable with great windows overlooking the street. The bathroom is large and very clean.
It's nice to have breakfast included in the café, eases you into your day. And the attached restaurant is an excellent option for dinner - making it quite turnkey for your first night, when you arrive jetlagged and disoriented.
It was an easy walk from the Santo Angelo water bus stop - easy to find based on directions.
I feel like our hotel choice could have been hit or miss and this was a hit - I would come back again!

Room Tip: We're in room 101 and I like it. It's a corner room with windows looking out on the street f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#207 of 384 in Venice
380 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#141 of 384 in Venice
564 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#159 of 384 in Venice
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#201 of 384 in Venice
662 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 384 in Venice
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes

Address: Campiello Marinoni O de la Fenice San Marco 1936, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $112 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Venice near the famous La Fenice theatre, and for more than a century has been a preferred venue for artists and intellectuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing