We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Venice!”
Review of Hotel Antico Doge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antico Doge
Ranked #62 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Location are the Best!!! The staff are very helpful! Rome is very clean and we love stylish! Breakfast are very good! Restaurant and supermarket are so near the hotel. I'm highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!! We must stay here again~~~

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATHY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

great location, awesome bathroom, very nice staff. We were able to walk to everything, and easy to get to from the train station. There are a few nice restaraunts just outside the front door, it feels like a true Venitian experience. Will definitely recommend!

Room Tip: our room was roomy for a European room and a superior bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Holley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel Antico Doge was a great location for our brief stay in Venice. A short walk to St. Mark's, a shorter walk to Rialto, good restaurants nearby. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was just what we both wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

It was my wife's birthday. We have been to Venice before and stayed in expensive hotels with small rooms (not surprising for Venice). Antico Doge was cheaper than many and the room we had was "roomy". It even had a chaise. The hotel is well located for everywhere in Venice. The staff are fantastic. I want to go back!! I will not stay anywhere else in Venice. I will not go to Venice unless the Antico Doge has a room.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103. Great view of a square and the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

When booking a hotel in Venice you are overwhelmed by the sheer number of hotels and their steep rates. To choose a good hotel for reasonable amount of money seems almost impossible.
After reading many many reviews on various sites we decided to go for the Doge hotel. It turned out to be a very good decision.
I was a bit concerned because the official rating of this hotel is only 3stars, but its standard is way above that. We spent two nights in the room 103 with a canal view. The windows insulated the outside noise really well. The furnishing is in theatrical antique style with a lot of gold and heavy fabric, but somehow it feels perfect for Venice. The room and the bathroom were both spotless clean and the bed was really comfortable.
The breakfast was perfectly adequate.
The location is absolutely perfect - very close to the Rialto bridge.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
When we arrived to Venice, upon parking our car we were hoping to use the water "bus" to reach the hotel, however the public transportation employees were on strike, so we had to take the water taxi. They insisted on 70eur per ride, which seemed too expensive. We called the hotel to double check what are the usual rates. And yes it is 70eur. Despite forking out this amount of money, we had a really cool experience of classy arrival to the hotel. Just in case you want to know a gondola ride is 80eur per 40 min.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We came back for a 4 night stay after our initial stay in 2008 and were not disappointed. Antico Doge has not lost its grace and style. It is still a hit as a Boutique hotel close to the Rialto & Ca D' Oro. Great care has been taken to expertly and exquisitely appoint its rooms and care for its upkeep and its cleanliness. Breakfast is delicious and the desk staff on all shifts are both helpful and attentive to all needs, helping to make our stay a most enjoyable one, without any problems. Our stay was one as wonderful as could be possible in a manner complimenting Venice and its magic.

Room Tip: Reserve a Canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here at the end of May 2014 for a 3 night stay at the end of a month long trip to Europe to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. As such we splashed out & stayed in the Falier Suite. The hotel is perfectly located, a comfortable 10 minute walk to Rialto or 20 minutes to St Marks & the room was huge & just like the photos. As a major walkway is straight outside the room it can be noisy, but never stopped us sleeping. The balcony is right over the canal & our friends could not believe the pictures we emailed to them. Staff were good, their local restaurant suggestions were spot on, breakfast was adequate & the room was very clean. As with some other reviews the shower is a slight problem, but the only problem. I feel the price we paid for the amenities was more than reasonable given the inflated prices of Venice accommodation generally. Would definetely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marts60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#20 of 387 in Venice
792 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 387 in Venice
1,052 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#81 of 387 in Venice
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 387 in Venice
928 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#35 of 387 in Venice
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Doge

Address: Cannaregio 5643 | Campo SS Apostoli, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $113 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antico Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover in the gothic walls of Palazzo del Doge Marin Falier, the magic atmosphere of old Venice, where art and history are the expression of an incantation. Facing Campo SS.Apostoli, reflected in the waters of a romantic canal, this is a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in layers of silk, brocades, damasks and gilt mirrors that echo a Serenissima of long ago, a city of travel and commerce with the entire Orient. The Palazzo del Doge Falier, situated close to Piazza S. Marco and the Rialto Bridge, has been restored with passion and attention to detail. The hotel rooms, fitted with every comfort and elegantly furnished with original antique pieces, some have jacuzzi, separate shower cubicles, hairdryers, satellite TV, a direct telephone line, Internet WI-FI, air conditioning with individual room control, a safe-deposit box, and there is a buffet breakfast. The rich treasures of Venice, together with the elegance, prestige and history of our hotel, will make your stay an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Antico Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Doge Venice
Antico Doge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing