We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gigi”
Review of Hotel Antico Doge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Antico Doge
Ranked #62 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had to book an extra night in Venice before a cruise and the other hotel (Ca'Amadi) we had booked was full so they recommended Antico Doge. We had a very nice superior room, suite like, with a view on the little square over the little canal. Very nice spacious bathroom with quality amenities (shampoo, cream, etc.), very class dining area with good coffee and continental breskfast.
The reception was very accommodating as we arrived early and the room was not ready. We went next door to a very nice and friendly restaurant and when we returned, the room was ready and our luggage in the room. Service with a smile!
It was a bit of a letdown when we moved to the Ca'Amadi, wich was more expensive, for a suite wich was a bit run down. The furniture was a bit worn out; no reception after 19:00; located in a dark alley, passed a very noisy bar. The only plus was at breakfast: scrambled eggs! And, closer to the Rialto bridge, wich was nice with heavy luggage. So, next time in Venice it will be Antico Doge for sure!

Room Tip: If you like space, ask for a superior or suite; it's worth it! Eaven with 2 large windows on the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 594roygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Antico Doge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family of 4 booked this hotel after favourable reviews on this site.

The room is very well appointed and clean. Breakfast was included, which was a bonus. The hotel is convenient to lots of markets, nice restaurants and transport. Lots of great photo opportunities outside on the front bridge.

We were in room a superior deluxe room, 108. The room itself was great, but the proximity to the dining room meant that you could not sleep past 7.15am when the staff's shoes clicked on the wooden floors whilst they were getting breakfast ready. We could not hear the guests in the dining room, just the clicking of heels.

We caught the ALILAGUNA boat from Airport to Rialto and then had to walk the 10 minutes with luggage to the hotel. In hindsight I should have just booked the water taxi to get dropped at the front of the hotel.

We arrived late and the service checking in was poor. I think we had the night watchman.

Overall, this is a good hotel that is very clean and well located. I would stay here again, but ask for a room other than room 108 so that I could sleep in on my holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 954,562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I had booked into Hotel Antico Doge for a 3 night stay in a Superior Deluxe room however on arrival we were told that there was a problem with our room and we had to stay in a different hotel for the first night. We were taken to another hotel which was not to the same standard and the room was certainly not a superior deluxe. We then had to wait until 11am the following morning to be let into our room which was frustrating as given we were only there for a short time we were keen to get out and explore.

Overall the hotel is in a good location and the room when we got into it was very nice. What lets this hotel down is the poor customer service. At no point did anyone apologise to us for the inconvenience caused and although a €18 bottle of prosecco was sent to the room and a €30 refund given (which was taken back off of us for city tax anyway) I did not feel it compensated the €220 we were paying per night. There was also no option to speak to a Manager as that person is not there at the weekends (which we found extremely odd considering the busy time of year).

Nice hotel but the reception team could do with some training in customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room for our honeymoon. It was a little difficult to find initially but once we asked in tourist information we were able to get on the water bus and stop a ten minute walk away. It's quite an experience pulling your suitcase around such a busy place! The hotel was gorgeous, clean and a great location they even put a complimentary bottle of prosecco for us. Staff were friendly and I would love to go back again. Despite previous reviews we didnt find this hotel noisy at night, it's the perfect place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swilson3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a wonderful experience well above expectations. Our deluxe canal view room was immaculately kept and perfect, the same room as the last review (103) though we would rate it 5 not 3, having stayed in Venice 3 times before. The view was of a clock tower square and charming canal, the room in full period style and very clean. The breakfast was in a delightful period style room and very enjoyable. Then surprise we were upgraded to the master suite on day 2/3, which was like a bedroom scene from a stately home tour, except we were in it, a room for a princess and prince- it's featured on their website but better in reality, with a balcony over the square, view of the canal and clock tower, again immaculately clean in every respect, not a whisper of dust or a cobwebb, despite the 15ft high ceiling and carved woodwork above, and 8ft high perfectly unblemished mirror, and the spa bath quite fun too! The staff were delightully friendly and helpful, handling our postcards, queries, and including a trip to Murano in a water taxi as part of the booking, unknown when we booked. Truly unbeatable. The location is unbeatable too, a short walk to Rialto, a few more minutes to St Marcs, and central for everything, we were able to walk everywhere. Thanks to Antico Doge and all their staff!

Room Tip: This was a wonderful experience well above expectations. Our deluxe canal view room was immaculately...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Room with view on the water (103).

The room was much smaller then expected. It was okay, but I had the impression upon reservation that the room would be bigger.
The room was clean, but not perfectly cleaned.
We paid about 220 more for the view and that's totally not worth it.
We paid an average of 250/night and I had much better rooms for that. I know it is Venice, but the hotel I stayed previously was cheaper and the room was better.

Bathroom is small, bath is tiny. There was something wrong with the shower installation.

Hotel staff can work on their enthusiasm. They are polite, but nothing more. They don't smile, they don't greet spontaneously. You have to ask for the free wifi code. It's all in the small things and they have work to do with the small things.

Breakfast is small but very good.

The noise during the night is incredible. Even when you close the wooden screens. It's annoying. Drunk people screaming every night is not an exception. If it would be during the day, it wouldn't bother, I'm not there, but during the night I want to get some sleep and that is very difficult.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 103. The noise from the streets (2sides) is terrible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 in a very nice quiet room on the 1st floor. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the Rialto bridge. The staff were very helpfull and the hotel includes a very good breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are a reasonable size. This is a great budget friendly hotel for Venice and we would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room to avoid pedestrian noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
897 reviews
Cannaregio
UNA Hotel Venezia
UNA Hotel Venezia
#38 of 384 in Venice
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 384 in Venice
765 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Doge

Address: Cannaregio 5643 | Campo SS Apostoli, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $128 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antico Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover in the gothic walls of Palazzo del Doge Marin Falier, the magic atmosphere of old Venice, where art and history are the expression of an incantation. Facing Campo SS.Apostoli, reflected in the waters of a romantic canal, this is a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in layers of silk, brocades, damasks and gilt mirrors that echo a Serenissima of long ago, a city of travel and commerce with the entire Orient. The Palazzo del Doge Falier, situated close to Piazza S. Marco and the Rialto Bridge, has been restored with passion and attention to detail. The hotel rooms, fitted with every comfort and elegantly furnished with original antique pieces, some have jacuzzi, separate shower cubicles, hairdryers, satellite TV, a direct telephone line, Internet WI-FI, air conditioning with individual room control, a safe-deposit box, and there is a buffet breakfast. The rich treasures of Venice, together with the elegance, prestige and history of our hotel, will make your stay an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Antico Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Doge Venice
Antico Doge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing