We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb. Exactly as advertised.”
Review of Hotel Antico Doge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antico Doge
Ranked #62 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful Venetian rooms. Good location. Breakfast ok (shame no toast) but ample and fresh.

For Venice great value and a genuine experience. I'd return here if I went back to Venice.

Recommend speedboat transfer back to airport. Great way to leave in style al la James Bond

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great little bijou hotel furnished throughout with antiques and high quality decoration. In reaaity it is more of a B&B as no lunch/dinner is offered, but all of Venice is outside so that is hardly an issue.
We took a private (shared) water taxi from the airport (return cost €100 for two) which took us directly to the doorstep. Be aware in Venice you have to drag your own suitcases from the water to your hotel, and we saw many harrassed looking couples lugging their cases througfh the rain and puddles and across bridges - with the Antico Doge you avoid that pain.
Our room at the rear of the hotel (115) was very quiet and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was continental and self serve, but more than adequate.
From the hotel to Piazza San Marco was only a 10 minute walk; the Rialto bridge is literally around the corner.
One to go back to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThatsMySunbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we stayed here for two nights and had an excellent room, on the superior deluxe tarriff the hotel staff were very helpful, showing us the local travel options and attractions, it was spotlessly clean, and above all it was the perfect location for the water bus, railto bridge and all the shops.

we would definately stay in this hotel again on our next trip.

Room Tip: we had a superior deluxe with balcony on to a side street it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I came back from venice yesterday, i never write reviews but have to write this one, this hotel is beautiful the rooms are exactly as they are in the pics. the staff is very professional and friendly it shoul be rated 5*, its clean every day and towels changed as well, a porter brings the bags up to your room when you arrive and breakfast is good.
The city is beautiful the hotel is located in the heart of the city definably recommend it :-)))))

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenficaCampeao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best i have been in. I spent five nights here in february and despite the horrid weather ( rain and snow) all the sights were a pleasent walk away. The room was clean and stylish.I loved the bathroom accesories-much better than the usual cheap shampoos and shower gel. Towels and bedsheets were changed daily. The breakfast offered the same meals every day, but with a huge selection of fresh sweets. I can imagine in high season it could get a little noisy but our room on the first floor was very quiet. will go back.

1  Thank Srebrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Everything about the hotel was good. It was in a good location with 10 to 20 mins walking from most attractions. The staff are helpful and friendly. the classical theme of the hotel is beautiful, though i think most of hotels there are themed like that. very clean and luxurious for its rates. The only outputting thing is that there was no wireless access for internet. The breakfast was simple and acceptable. it is also easy to get to from airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulkarim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel, room was clean and the staff welcoming. Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate to set you up for a day sight seeing. The hotel website recommend you get off the vapporeto at st marks, which is about ten mins from the hotel, only problem is its easy to miss, as we did, as you approach it from behind. I recommend you get off a forta nova, which is a 5 min walk, straight ahead and then you can miss it! At this same stop you can also take the number 12 vapporeto to murano and burano which is worth a visit.

Overall would recommend this hotel for comfort, cleanliness, location and value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#20 of 387 in Venice
792 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 387 in Venice
1,052 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#81 of 387 in Venice
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 387 in Venice
928 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#35 of 387 in Venice
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Doge

Address: Cannaregio 5643 | Campo SS Apostoli, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $113 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antico Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover in the gothic walls of Palazzo del Doge Marin Falier, the magic atmosphere of old Venice, where art and history are the expression of an incantation. Facing Campo SS.Apostoli, reflected in the waters of a romantic canal, this is a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in layers of silk, brocades, damasks and gilt mirrors that echo a Serenissima of long ago, a city of travel and commerce with the entire Orient. The Palazzo del Doge Falier, situated close to Piazza S. Marco and the Rialto Bridge, has been restored with passion and attention to detail. The hotel rooms, fitted with every comfort and elegantly furnished with original antique pieces, some have jacuzzi, separate shower cubicles, hairdryers, satellite TV, a direct telephone line, Internet WI-FI, air conditioning with individual room control, a safe-deposit box, and there is a buffet breakfast. The rich treasures of Venice, together with the elegance, prestige and history of our hotel, will make your stay an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Antico Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Doge Venice
Antico Doge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing