We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Antico Doge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$438
$405
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$277
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$330
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$394
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
$294
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
$332
$303
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$494
$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
$360
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveler rating
620
437
55
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
437
55
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrialto bridgegreat locationwater taxiwall coveringsclock towersmall canalbreakfast roomlovely hotellovely roomantique furniturecanal viewvenetian stylesuperior roomhampastriesvaporetto stopchurch bells
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel, room was clean and the staff welcoming. Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate to set you up for a day sight seeing. The hotel website recommend you get off the vapporeto at st marks, which is about ten mins from the hotel, only problem is its easy to miss, as we did, as you approach it from behind. I recommend you get off a forta nova, which is a 5 min walk, straight ahead and then you can miss it! At this same stop you can also take the number 12 vapporeto to murano and burano which is worth a visit.

Overall would recommend this hotel for comfort, cleanliness, location and value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for several nights on a spring 2012 visit. An easy walk (even in the rain) from the Rialto Bridge after airport arrival. Nearly a year later two points are high in memory: a breakfast with many choices (although the breakfast room can be a bit crowded at times) and very helpful front desk staff who were excellent with reservations and directions if needed.

Our room opened to a view of an old building where renovations had once started and seemed no longer underway. Quaint and quiet except for the church bells that added their own bit of atmosphere. Agree with others who have suggested skipping a room on the canal... yes, it is a canal, but one of the smaller ones in the city with no special appeal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentHappyTravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in mid-December. It's very central, close to the Rialto Bridge and everything else you might want to see in Venice. The room and bathroom were cleaned every day and new towels were supplied. Even though our room was above a busy side street we couldn't hear a thing from outside when the window was closed (and in December in Venice, you want the window closed!) A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdabam1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked a spontaneous trip with the family for 2 nights to Venice. Given that it's low season, I got a super deal. The room accommodated 2 children in proper beds in a separate small room plus the adults in a comfortable queen sized bed. The breakfast (included) was fine. The reason that you go here is because of the excellent location. You are conveniently located near the Rialto bridge. Be aware that there is considerable pedestrian traffic in front of the hotel, even late at night. The staff at the Antico Doge is pleasant. Our room (203?) was are very clean and well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

terrific location, just north of Rialto and very easy to strike out to St Marks or indeed the Fundamente Nova for the ferry to Murano etc. We arrived direct by water taxi (worth the price imho, especially if there's a few of you). First room we were shown to was distinctly underwhelming - nothing like the triple we'd seen on the website. It also had a magnificent view of a blank stone wall about five feet away and nothing else. It was explained that that was a deluxe. Ours just a superior! Anyway, after a *little* bit of arsiness on my behalf - prompted by a porter who just really was not interested in whether I liked the room or not and a touch surly with it - we were shown to a lovely room on the second floor - real character, beamed ceiling, lots of room .. and a canal view (if you leant out of the window). But it was really nice. And as we'd done a late deal wirth last minute, I doubt the hotel was getting much from us. Breakfast was ok. Room lovely, most of the staff terrific and friendly, but again there was one surly madam who was looking a little jaded with life and didn't mind us knowing it.
Food at the breakfast was adequate to good ... not great, but for a three star buffet, it was really quite fine. Front desk staff were great. I took my two young kids, who can be a touch boisterous and they just smiled and played along with them. All in all, very happy, good hotel. Would have been a five star apart from the two surly staff but a four star rating is fair. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: 211 is a nice triple
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattjameskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews