We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antico Doge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Antico Doge
Ranked #61 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Hotel, superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were looking for a good quality hotel, with a luxury interior and good location for our honeymoon. This hotel was exactly what we wanted. Staff were extremely friendly, superb location with everything within 10 mins walk. The room was very well equiped, bit querky with quality fittings. The breakfast was fine, not brillant but set us up for the day. 10/10
We had a 'Superior DeLuxe' room which was split level.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms at the front are noisy with people always walking past into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    396
    54
    9
    3
See reviews for
235
588
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Well located property,beautifully decorated and comfortable.We had a large room with a balcony facing Campo SS Apostoli and could watch gondolas beneath us and people streaming over the quaint bridge adjacent to the hotel.A short walk to Rialto bridge and St Marks. Plenty of small eateries and good shopping in nearby alleys which were great to explore.If there was a downside it was the breakfast which was not very appetising. Selected staff were very helpful and you soon worked out who to go to for help. Made our stay in Venice very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The large room over the canal with the balcony was great but there was a degree of noise at night as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob & Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

At first it is very easy to find it ,very close to San Marco and all the major attractions in Venice.The vaporeto station is less than 5 minitues walk from it.Very helpful staff,the room is big considering that most of the hotel there have very small rooms,the bathroom was also super,the furnitures were all antiques,we felt like we were living in the Venice of the 18 century,a very warm hotel with great breakfast in a fantastic room.There was no elevator but it was no problem as the whole atmosphear of the hotel was amazing.If I'll visit Venice again I'll definately choose to stay to Antico Dodge.
As for the price it was a little more than other hotels in other countries but I believe in Venice all the hotels more or less are a little more expensive,it surely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThessalonikiMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Recently stayed for three nights. Very clean rooms with tasteful decor. Staff were professional and friendly - we arrived very late in the evening and were still made to feel welcome and it wasn't a problem. Staff always helped us with our directions, questions etc. Rooms were quiet. For us the hotel was well located and everything we needed for a very pleasant trip to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hotel is located inside beautyful medieval palace and is maintained well. Hotel interiors are just magnificent. You feel yourself like a doge in his palace. Breakfasts are tasty and quite varied. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel location is well balanced between being close to San Marco Sq. and Rialto and being far from the crowds. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Vaporetto stop is few minutes far. The only disadvantage is that the hotel is slightly overpriced which is common in Venice however.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabaki2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Great hotel with loads of Venetian charm! The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a lovely homely feel. The room was incredibly clean and tidy and very comfortable.
Staff were polite and helpful. As soon as we arrived we were taken to our room and when we left we were able to leave our belongings at the hotel while we continued to explore the city.
The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. There is a canal directly outside the hotel with gondolas and the works right outside in a lovely setting. There are some restaurants and shops very nearby.
The breakfast is basic - cereal, croissants, breads and meat etc, juice and teas and coffees - but to be honest, it is plenty good enough!
All in all, this hotel is in a perfect location to explore the city - you could not ask for a better location really!
The only reason we did not score this a 5 out of 5 was due to two little random things that may not happen to anyone else. Firstly when we went down to breakfast, there were no tables and we had to wait until someone else left which left us feeling a little awkward hanging around! In fairness, as soon as a table became available the lady working in the breakfast room could not have been more helpful in clearing the table and making us feel at home. Secondly, the first night the TV randomly turned on at 5am! We turned it off and it turned itself back on a little while later (just as we were nodding off to sleep again!). Problem solved by pulling TV plug out of the socket to ensure it didn't happen again, but nonetheless annoying.
Despite these little things, this was one of the best trips ever. Lovely hotel, excellent location in a beautiful city with loads to explore!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 - it was a lovely room! Really nicely decorated with plenty of space. Comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigAndSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel was my favorite out of all the places we stayed in Europe. Great location, clean rooms and first class service. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#72 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#93 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Doge

Property: Hotel Antico Doge
Address: Cannaregio 5643 | Campo SS Apostoli, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antico Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover in the gothic walls of Palazzo del Doge Marin Falier, the magic atmosphere of old Venice, where art and history are the expression of an incantation. Facing Campo SS.Apostoli, reflected in the waters of a romantic canal, this is a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in layers of silk, brocades, damasks and gilt mirrors that echo a Serenissima of long ago, a city of travel and commerce with the entire Orient. The Palazzo del Doge Falier, situated close to Piazza S. Marco and the Rialto Bridge, has been restored with passion and attention to detail. The hotel rooms, fitted with every comfort and elegantly furnished with original antique pieces, some have jacuzzi, separate shower cubicles, hairdryers, satellite TV, a direct telephone line, Internet WI-FI, air conditioning with individual room control, a safe-deposit box, and there is a buffet breakfast. The rich treasures of Venice, together with the elegance, prestige and history of our hotel, will make your stay an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antico Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Doge Venice
Antico Doge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing