We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #199 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Hotel Alexander is a nice little hotel. It is located in a residential neighborhood of Mestre. I felt very safe walking to and from hotel late night. It is not fancy but it is clean. Breakfast was not that impressive. It is easy to get to from the either of Venice’s two train stations. The hotel staff is nice and helpful. I suggest staying here if you on a budget like I was. The bus stop is only 2 blocks away and the number 12 bus is only a 10 minute ride to Venice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    145
    86
    33
    12
See reviews for
63
152
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Good Points
- The hotel is located just off the main road to Venice.
- Bus stop 3 mins away.
- The bed was very firm.
Bad Points
- We were in our room 20 mins and the caretaker opened our door and just stared at me as if to say "what are you doing in there". He mumbled something so I waved at him and he left. Knocking before entering would be good.
-There was no shower curtain.
-The staff, especially the breakfast staff, didn't seem interested in working.
- I asked the waiter could he heat up my eggs and bacon as they were cold but he never came near my table again. To me this is rude as they were not busy at the time.
I would not class this hotel as 4 star.
- Selection of tinned fruit.
- Stale bread.
If its just a base you need then it is ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williejoeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Had a great short stay in this hotel, the first on a tour or Italy. We found the staff extremely polite and helpful and honest. Very comortable room, it is outside Venice, but we knew that and the trip in is very accessable, and the staff explain it well. It is worth noting there are good restaurants nearby which are affordable. All in all, would defintely stay here again and recommend it. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandMrsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is a great hotel just outside Venice - 15 minutes on the bus takes you straight into the Piazza Roma. We chose this hotel as we were travelling with our car and wanted a secure place to park along with easy access into Venice. The hotel is very 1980's in decor (lots of pink and grey) but it was very clean and the service from the front desk was excellent. The breakfast was buffet style with the usual eggs, bacon, cereal, cakes, fruit and yoghurt. The bus stop into Venice was 2 minutes walk from the hotel (the front desk will give you a map of where the bus stop is) - its worth noting that you need the 12 bus, very easy to use running day and night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twocatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

This was our second trip to Venice. Because we had our car this time, it was not convenient to stay right in the centre, so instead we stayed at Hotel Alexander in Mestre. Parking at the hotel was free, and the hotel itself was quite modern and clean, and with a bigger room than you would expect if you were staying in Venice itself. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were able to buy tickets for public transport directly from the front desk, and they directed us to the bus stop which is only a 5 min walk from the hotel. The buses to Piazzale Roma in Venice go past every 10 mins or so, and from P. Roma you can then just hop on a Vaporetto and you're on the Grand Canal! Mestre itself certainly does not have the same charm as Venice, but if you're looking to save money, or have a car with you, then this is a great choice and you're still only 15 mins from all the glory that is this remarkable city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Nice clean hotel just outside of Venice, very easy quick bus ride to Venice. Considering the very hefty price of Hotels in Venice this is a nice alternative. In the back street you can purchase bus tickets to Venice for about €1,00 at a tobacco shop, it is easy to find as you take only one bus #12 to Venice about a 12 min ride with only a few stops on the way, it strait down and simple even if you don't speak Italian.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriatic_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

I think this hotel constitutes very basic tourist fare. Basic room and bathroom with outdated and chintzy decor. There is nothing particularly awful about it save the meal they served our tour group and the fact that you are in Mestre and not in Venice itself. But it has several things going against it from a purely personal standpoint that I have not factored into my overall experience rating.

One: I had to share a room with a snorer.
Two: First night I was rested enough from transatlantic to critically judge the bed and being a rather typical motel bed, there was plenty to be critical of.
Three: To deal with the snoring, I chose to move the mattress and sheets out onto the odd, sunken balcony (top floor rooms only I think) for the night and was eaten alive by mosquitos.
Four: You probably won't have to eat it if you aren't on a tour, but that food really was awful, especially in light of some of the experiences we had later on in both Venice and the rest of Italy.

  • Liked — Leaving it to go to Venice
  • Disliked — Coming back from Venice to it
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GSSDaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Russott Hotel
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#151 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#108 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Flestariam
#241 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: Via Forte Marghera 193c, 30173 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#91 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern waterfront w/hand-painted pastel murals & marble fls - Adjacent to canal; 1/2 mi from Mestre Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing